We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - great beachfront location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - great beachfront location.”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The place must be relatively new. Stayed for a business trip. I didn't get an oceanfront room, but the rooms are cozy and nice. The bar was pretty packed with other business travelers in the evening. The pool also looked pretty relaxing, though November wasn't exactly pool weather! Another great Hilton property!

Room Tip: Spend the money for the Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate2004rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear katz2004rock,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Hilton Resort Carlsbad. Yes, we are a new property, having opened in late June of 2012. I am glad to see you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and the lively atmosphere at our signature restaurant Chandlers. We do hope to welcome you back as our guest again soon.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    305
    109
    42
    19
See reviews for
537
383
30
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santee, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in the top floor with ocean-view. The view was incredible. We woke up and opened the sliding glass door and spent the morning listening to the waves crash. we live locally in San Diego and usually tell family coming in from out of town to stay near the downtown area... not anymore. This hotel is wonderful. Highly recommend. Lots of great restaurants and shopping near by. Jacuzzi, fireplaces, and pool area area very nice as well.

Room Tip: Top floor and ocean-view you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d3smon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear d3smon,

Thank you for your recent stay at the new Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort and Spa. It's great to see that you had a nice, relaxing time, while taking in the beautiful scenery Carlsbad has to offer. With year round sunshine, there isn't a bad time to plan a trip to the Hilton Resort Carlsbad. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Finally a Hilton property worthy of the Hilton name. As a Diamond member, I expect certain things, and this hotel met my expectations. Upon check in, upgraded to an ocean view room, a gift bag with 2 bottles of water, a free "light bite" and breakfast coupon; a great start. Went to the bar,very nice wine selection by the glass, and my free coupon got me a very nice personal pizza that sufficed for dinner; very tasty and quickly served. Nice looking restaurant with a very good, hustling bar staff. Clean room, comfy bed, killer LG flat screen TV, quiet, and overall at $209 including tax was worth it, coming from someone who stays over 100 nights per year in hotels, 95% of the time at Hilton properties. Not really oceanfront to tell the truth, but great views nonetheless, and a very cool outside area with a fire pit. Would definitely stay here again without question.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Gunzee,

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay at the new Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort and Spa. I am glad to see we delivered on our promise to value our most frequent Hilton Honors guests. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Carlsbad area.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the hotel so much. The staff was friendly and helpful. Once in our room, we immediately opened all the windows to take in the amazing ocean view! We stepped out onto the balcony and just listened to the waves crash. Pure bliss. We had a king size bed, which did leave plenty of area in the room for us to put bags down and walk around. The room is not overcrowded. The bathroom was large with a close-up mirror for the ladies, and among the amenities of the usual toiletries they included aloe vera, which I thought was a nice touch for this beach front hotel. The towels were big enough to really wrap around yourself, and give you a cozy feeling after a nice shower. The bed was very comfortable. I loved the pillows. This was one of our best nights sleep. We did use the jacuzzi, and that was very relaxing. The decor of the pool area was really impressive with large seated areas around the fireplaces and and it just had a nice community vibe to it. The hotel was beautifully done, and in an excellent location for an amazing view. We will absolutely look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Top floor, corner suites are more private. You get an incredible view, and are far from the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Jennifer E,

Thank you for your recent stay at the new Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort and Spa. I agree, our corner suites are well worth the splurge! With their spacious floor plans to spread out, and stellar views of the pacific, how could you go wrong?

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was one of the best hotels I've stayed in, super clean and very luxurious. The pool is huge and reminds me of a vegas kind of atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I will surely be back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontesG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear MontesG,

Thank you for your recent stay and the great review of the new Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort and Spa! I am glad to see you enjoyed your trip and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I just spent an amazing 3 days at this resort. Everything was wonderful and the people taking care of you there REALLY DO TAKE CARE OF YOU!! We felt so pampered and loved being there. We want to thank all of the staff ~ you were all incredibly helpful and made our stay so relaxing and memorable. The complimentary coffee and tea bar was very special ~ the food is so delicious. We had 3 breakfasts and one dinner and loved it all. The fire pits at night were especially nice. You definitely feel like you are on vacation here. We plan to return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony that overlooked the pool and ocean. It was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greencafeonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear greencafeonline,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Hilton Carlsbad Resort! The staff truly does go out of their way to take care of our guests and we thank you for your compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

When you enter this boutique hotel, you already know you're going to enjoy your stay. Love the lobby area, TV, free wifi everywhere, and decor. Chandler's Restaurant is amazing. Absolutely everything on the menu is wonderful. It's actually unexpected on how amazing the food is. Sit outside, watch the sunset. It's warm with the firepits and heating lamps. The gym is clean and all brand new equipment. Love the no resort fee. Spa is nice, just small. Love the eucalyptus steam room. Rooms are spacious and they all come with a microwave, mini frig, iPod dock, and coffee machine. However, they offer free coffee and tea daily in the lobby. There is no stocked mini-bar purposely, which totally makes sense. You don't eat or drink that stuff anyway. Another nice touch are the thick plush robes.
Another plus.. staff is super nice, accommodating, and ultra friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islanddiva7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Islanddiva7,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hilton Carlsbad Resort. I am glad to see you had the opportunity to enjoy many of the resort's amenities. We look forward to your return.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
4.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
4.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Property: Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4620 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing