We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Southern California!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Moreno Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Southern California!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here in August for the first time and can't say enough about how great it is!!! They pool is gorgeous - especially in the evening. Being close to the ocean is a bonus! The room was great and had every amenity necessary for a comfortable stay. I loved the bed and got a terrific night's rest. What makes this resort the best though, is its staff. Everyone is friendly and very well-trained. I asked for extra coffee when I checked in and it was in my room almost immediately. In other hotels, I usually have to wait and/or call again. I HIGHLY recommend this resort for business and/or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Cathy D,

On behalf of the whole Hilton Carlsbad team, thank you for the rave review! Our goal is to provide the finest service around and we are proud to see that we delivered. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest again soon.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    293
    94
    35
    19
See reviews for
501
358
28
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosamond, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This place is amazing!! Property is brand new and absolutely beautiful!! The staff was superb and very, very attentive. The views are breath taking! I wholeheartedly recommend this resort to everyone!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are the best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Sirell L,

Thank you for your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort and Spa. I am happy to see that you enjoyed our new property and had a great stay. Until next time, take care.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I agree with the positive reviews here, and Hilton has done what it can with the amount of land it had along the coast. So get an ocean-view balcony room for the full effect...but to call it a resort is a bit of a stretch. Our summer weekend stay was wonderful: night swimming at the small heated pool, good breakfast at the beautiful Chandlers, and we drove to nearby South Ponto beach with our body boards and beach gear. You'll appreciate being away from the outlet mall, or the busy Carlsbad Village Drive. They do have a free shuttle service if you wish to explore. The two-bed room is average sized, and appointed with an iPad charger/hookup to the HDTV, a microwave, and a refrigerator.

You can also walk to the beach. But the beach across the coastal road is down a bluff, and requires you to go thru a gate and a state campground, then down some stairs. That gate might be locked at times, so check with the front desk for other beach options.

Room Tip: Even numbered 3rd floor non-suite rooms 3002-3022 have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank former_RX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear former_RX,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the new Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort and Spa. We appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us. The beach access gate opens daily at 7am and closes at sunset. Just so you know, we also offer beach rentals at the concierge desk so you can make the most out of your day at the beach.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Spent Labor Day weekend here. Ocean view king balcony room on the 3rd floor was gorgeous although took a day to stop noticing the public campground directly across the street with the RVs, tents, and hanging towels, lol. The city needs to plant more fast growing, tall bushes along the fence to help block that eyesore. Main highway runs right in front of the hotel. Late at night, you could actually hear the ocean but not during the day when traffic was heavy. Watching the sunsets from the balcony was awesome albeit HOT since the sun is shining directly on you. Food at Chandlers was varied and very very good. The breakfast buffet was the best although expensive. Definitely a family hotel with tons of young kids around. Would have been perfect if my husband and I were travelling with our grandkids, but this was a trip just for the 2 of us. Spent all day Sat at the pool but way too noisy so Sunday we spent it at Carlsbad Beach, which is several milesl north. The hotel is actually located at South Carlsbad public beach so quite aways from the center of town but close to Legoland and the outlet mall. No restaurants or stores within walking distance but free shuttle could probaby drop you off at the Ralphs on Poinsettia and the freeway. Would definitely return with the grandkids or during the week if just the two of us. But if only the 2 of us, never again during a busy holiday weeekend. It is definitely a gorgeous place and much nicer than the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad further north.

Room Tip: Do not get one of the recessed balcony rooms because the balconies on either side of you will interf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZ_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear AZ_mom,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort and Spa. I am glad you enjoyed the beauty of our new property and dining in Chandler's. We hope to welcome you back as our guest the next time you are in Carlsbad.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel has only been up and running for about 2 months. They are doing a fantastic job.
They have a wonderful pastry chef that makes outstanding sticky buns for part of there breakfast buffet. The entire crew bends over backwards for you. There is a beach across the street from this hotel. We had a view of the ocean andpool,our bed was extreamly comfortable. The pool area is open until 11pm they have fire pits around the pool as well as the bar and restaurant section. We met alot of very nice guest while we sat out there and enjoyed a cocktail or an ice cream after dinner. When we walked to the beach,
My husband asked for chairs and an umbrella they charged us a total of ten dollars for the entire 4 days. Nice deal. It was no big deal for us to carry this stuff to the beach, as we figured we could burn off some of the calories we took in at breakfast. We look forward to returning to this out standing resort. If you need a book to take down to the beach they have a selection for you to look through.

Room Tip: 2030 was a very nice room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazzlepv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear dazzlepv,

Thank you for your recent stay and the great review! The Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort and Spa has been open since June 21st and we are thrilled to receive your accolades. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I really stumbled into the location by searching on the website. We were making the trip down from L.A. to Legoland and planned on staying at the Hilton Garden Inn north of here. The hotel just opened in June and still has that “new car” feel. I was staying on points.
I was nicely greeted and my Hilton Honors status was acknowledged (much appreciated). We got a nice upgrade to an ocean view room on the top floor, the normal breakfast vouchers PLUS “small bite” vouchers for dinner (three of each for each day we were staying). Additionally, my five year old son got a stuffed pelican with the Hilton logo on the wing (very Four Seasons of them, I have to say).
The room was squeaky clean and nicely laid out (although a little small). The bathroom had a nice modern design, but I kept feeling that the tile must have gotten downgraded from the original design – the shower especially had a very institutional feel. But the design would have looked great with nicer tile like glass.
The hotel is directly across the road from the beach . Actually it’s a state park, so there are campers and RVs between the road and the steps leading down to the beach. Because of the cliff, you can’t see the camp area from the beach (or the road or the hotel for that matter). It’s a clean, soft sanded beautiful beach. The unusually warm weather in SoCal lately made the water really nice – this from an east coast guy that feels like the Pacific is never warm on the west coast of the U.S. It wasn’t too crowded, but we managed to chat with a few tourists here and there. We were familiar with (and liked) the area as we considered buying one of the cute beach houses just north of the Hilton property a few years ago. Some may not like the “across the road” set up or the camper situation. We didn’t mind it at all.

The restaurant is beautiful look and feel – modern and warm at the same time. The food was excellent, but the service needs a few kinks worked out. Each time we were there, no one greeted us for what seemed forever. Then after we were greeted and order taken 3-4 people would stop by each time to see if we were taken care of . . . .a service feast or famine. The server the first night had no idea what the small bites vouchers were for – initially telling us they were for breakfast (clearly not). We ended up being told we could order any appetizer we wanted (range was $7 – around $12). And they really weren’t that small. With three of them and a few sides, we had more than enough dinner for me, my wife and small son. The best was the shrimp and lobster tacos – the worst was the artichoke appetizer – not bad, but a little too “high concept” for its own good. We also had billing issues – wine not on the bill (my wife is more honest than me), and charged $11 for a $7 appetizer at the same dinner (that was actually a coding problem in the terminal that took our server a long time to fix. The following night we had the same server – so we avoided reinventing the wheel , but also had issued of stuff not on the bill at the same time over charges for other things. We sort of called it a wash the last night and just paid the bill as is rather than redo it again. My son was fussing that he was tired. Interestingly, we weren’t charged the up charge for the full breakfast the last morning – we tipped well and decided I wasn’t really interested in running the restaurant on a full time basis. The quality and quantity of the food was great. I especially liked the large quantity and good quality of the berries on the breakfast buffet. The granola and oatmeal toppings were also very good (golden raisins, dried cranberry , as well as a nice variety of seeds and nuts).
The gym seemed pretty extensive (didn’t work out despite my best plans), the business center is out in the open in the lobby and looked great with nice Apple desktops. Fortunately, I avoided any semblance of business on this trip. The pool had lots of lounges and was nice and warm. Great for kids with a “beach” entry and a kiddie pool for the really small ones. You could also grab towels and head out to the beach from the pool gate, which was convenient.
Parking was ample at the two story garage across the street behind the hotel (really the front, but you will get it once you see it). I recall it was like $12 – seems steep given the space they have. No one ever checked – I guess they are on the honor system that you have a car. There is also sort of hidden parking in the south east corner of the hotel right next to the building at the back door, that was very convenient to our room. If you comfortable leaving your car on the street, you can get away with street parking south of the hotel. I didn’t’ feel like taking that risk, but would be interested in hearing if anyone does. There is no security that I would tell on the lots, so maybe it’s the same risk (but maybe there’s hidden cameras or something on the hotel lots – probably not very helpful to keep your car from getting broken into). I don’t think it’s a high crime area or anything . . . ..

All-in-all a great find and a great use of points.

Room Tip: Even number rooms seem to face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TransCon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear TransCon1,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort and Spa. You touched on many of the small details that make this resort special. I have forwarded your comments about your experience in Chandler's to the appropriate parties so any issues like these will be avoided moving forward. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had the perfect getaway weekend. Wonderful ocean view room with balcony. Room was clean and new. Staff was very friendly.

Chandler's restaurant (in the resort) was excellent for both breakfast and dinner.

The pool area was very pleasant. We had very enjoyable walks on the beach. The ocean water was surprisingly warm.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Bob V,

Yes, that does sound like the perfect weekend getaway! Let's do it again sometime soon.

Best,

Scott Wall
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
2.8 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
1.1 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Property: Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4620 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing