We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice new place with some hiccups”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Washington State
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice new place with some hiccups”
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We were excited to book 4 nights in this new hotel and for the most part it was good. Lobby is very nice, staff was warm and welcoming. A little surprising to have to pay for self-parking, but I realize it's one of those things hotels do for extra revenue. On the plus side, free Internet!

Our king room with hide-a-bed was a good size for our family with two young kids, but we were surprised that for a place that had so many families the bathrooms have showers and not tubs (nice shower, though). Our 3 year old wasn't impressed.

Possible growing pains- our room wasn't cleaned until late afternoon (5ish) most days, and one day we had to go without because we needed to be in the room at the time ( but had been gone between 8am and 4pm).

Really poor experience the one time we went to the restaurant. We wanted to order off the menu instead of paying for the overpriced breakfast buffet, but no one came to our table to greet us for over 10 minutes. Unfortunately for the manager, she was the first one to approach us, so we kind of lit into her. She tried hard, but the whole experience was underwhelming.

The beach across the freeway is fine... A little rocky but the girls had a great time building sand castles.

The pool is spectacular. We could have spent all day there. Good service poolside. Girls loved the shallow areas for playing.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank brownnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    296
    95
    35
    19
See reviews for
510
362
28
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. Arrived on Saturday at 9 pm. and found out they over booked and we were going to need to move. Lucky they could not accomdate our family at other hotel so we took the last room at this hotel. The manager was very accomodating so we did not have to move. I would advise you to call ahead if you are coming on a weekend to secure your room. We loved the buffet with fresh blueberries, raspberries, blackberries and the breakfast breads were very good. The view was great. We love the access to the beach. My husband ran every day and enjoyed the view. We like being in this location away from the busy town. Not a vacation if we are in a busy area due to us living in Vegas. We will be back. Thx

Room Tip: Book a ocean view near pool. Great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stayed here with my wife and daughter and we had a great time! The pool area is top notch! It has drink service, food service, multiple fire pits, hot tub, great ocean views and I love the saltwater pool! You can stay there the whole day! The staff is awesome! Always friendly and willing to lend a helping hand. The artwork is stunning! It will not disappoint you. We had breakfast at the restaurant there, Chandler's. It was delicious!
If you want to head to the beach, it is right accross the street. Very convenient.
The room we had was awesome. Beautiful decor, big screen TVs, comfortable beds and an awesome ocean view!
I would highly recommend this hotel/resort to anyone looking to stay in the Carlsbad area!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dkruse58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel, not really a resort, is very new and clean. The location of the hotel is kind of strange. There is nothing that you can walk to except for the beach. They now do have a walkway carved out through the campground directly to the stairs to go down to the beach, so that is convienent.
We were there on a weekend, so the pool and(small) hot tub were very crowded during the day and at night. I like the hotel because it is new and looks very nice. However, there was a 15-20 min wait for breakfast on the weekend. The tables were empty, but the kitchen was backed up so they couldn't see any more people until the kitchen caught up. They need more help in the kitchen. Overall, it was a nice stay, but don't think that you will be able to walk to any restaurants, shops or anything except for the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and had a great time. It is brand new and the entire property is very tastefully furnished and decorated. The pool is one of the biggest I have ever seen at a hotel. Although not very deep it was never crowded and the pool service was wonderful. The rooms had comfortable beds and the bathroom was nicely appointed with a large walk in shower. I am not sure if they have rooms with tubs which would be more convenient for those with small children. The staff was friendly and helpful. They tried very hard. The only wrinkles were that they forgot to replensih some toiletries including toilet paper but when asked they quickly remedied the situation. Also the floor tended to shake a little when the air conditionaing came on. As with any new place I think there they are still sorting some things out. I would highly recommend this property and if we had the opportunity would most certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The pool has an ocean view so save your money and don't get a room with one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rectifierman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a very nice accommodation - brand new. The only thing is that because it is a start up there are still some things that they need to iron out - restaurant billing, hotel billing. Other than that the service was excellent and the hotel and amenities are top notch. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2012CarmeN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This new Hilton is a beautiful property with a great view of the Pacific Ocean. The front desk staff is very pleasant and accommodating. However, some of the improvements that could be made are as follows: two days in a row, we had to call the front desk to have our room made up as it hadn't been cleaned before 3 pm on either day. Also, cleaning supplies had been left in the room both days and one day one of the trash cans hadn't been emptied. The bath towels are the best I've ever seen in a hotel. Very soft and "bath-sheet" sized. The restaurant is just ok. The staff still seems to be a little confused as to which section they are responsible for. The menu is rather limited and a bit on the pricey side. The staff was pleasant but the pacing was a bit over aggressive. They wanted to clear dishes too hastily. Overall, this hotel has great potential. The valet parking attendants are top notch and welcome you warmly and pleasantly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crescendo012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
2.8 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
1.1 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#1 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Property: Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4620 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing