We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Supurb for the Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Supurb for the Family”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have 2 kids (4 and 7) and came over from Australia, and took a bit of a gamble and booked this hotel before it opened - and so glad we did. The staff here were superb - really friendly, helpful, polite, happy, nothing was an issue ...everything that you want from hotel staff. The hotel is only a few weeks old, and looks lovely. The rooms are a good size. We had 2 double beds in our room which were very comfortable. Our room was towards the back of the hotel, and next time I'd ask for an ocean front room if available - just for the view. We ate at the hotels restaurant (Chandlers) every (3) night . The food was absolutely lovely, and with two kids the really friendly staff made us welcome. There was a wide range of customers there from couples, to couples with toddlers, as well as us (couples with kids between 4-7), and the atmosphere was great.

We drove down from Los Angeles, and the trip was really easy (even easier through renting a North American map for 30 days for our NavMan for less than $25!! ... heaps better than paying $14 per day). We chose the self-park option which was literally at the back of the hotel or just across the road, so was no hassle at all. At the time there was no cost for self parking, and there was an ample amount of car spaces.

We initially chose this hotel as it was close to LEGOLAND - and we would definitely stay here again if we ever came back. The hotel offered their complimentary drop-off/pick-up service to drop us off at LEGOLAND and we simply called and they came to pick us up.

Overall... it was the best Hotel we stayed at so far, and we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    300
    99
    37
    18
See reviews for
517
370
30
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I was fortunate enough to be upgraded to an oceanfront room with balcony overlooking the Pacific. There is also a campground directly across the street from the hotel that sits between you on the balcony and the water. This did not interfere much with the view, however. The pool desk is lovely and even has areas with fire pits. The pool itself seems too small for the hotel and was quite crowded with kids. The room was pleasant-not luxurious. The food in the hotel restaurant was better than mediocre, but now world class. I was offered service in the restaurant so many times it started to get ridiculous. But everyone was happy and helpful.

Room Tip: If you are a Hilton Honors member don't forget to check to see if there are any upgrades availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suze1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West Az
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I give a very good rating to this hotel because of the ocean view and nicely appointed rooms and great breakfast buffet. I think the hotel feels very modern but stark by the pool area only because the plants aren't mature yet. The things that keep it from excellent are no concierge lounge or evening food and drink amenities for elite members and the shower doesn't have a good place to put shampoo and razors only soap. Also the dinner menu and appetizers don't have enough selection for the average palate. We did order dinner and drinks one night poolside and enjoyed the cool ocean breeze.
It's nice and quiet and away from the hub bub of downtown Carlsbad which is nice and close to the Outlets, Lego Land and The Crossing Golf Course.
Thanks to the staff for their wonderful service.

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony and ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scwretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes, AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel opened two weeks ago and they really had their act together. We had a beautiful oceanfront room, enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The entire staff was amazing. Ernie, in maintenance, was a wealth of information about the area, etc. What an incredible person!
Everyone smiled, was helpful and made us feel like our visit there was the most important thing in their lives. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner in Chandlers restaurant. We were never disappointed. They have a breakfast buffet, you can dine inside or out on the patio. They have a light fare pool menu as well. The beet salad was incredible.
We were visiting friends in Escondido and they thought we'd enjoy staying in Carlsbad near the ocean. We were very lucky that the Hilton opened there!!! We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Since we live in AZ and there are no oceans there, it was very important for us to have an oceanfron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a great two night stay at Hilton Oceanfront. I loved the walk -in pool for my 4 year old. It was perfect since she is still learning to swim. We order several items off the pool side menu and my kids loved the gourmet mac n cheese. I was hooked on the sweet potato fries with the pomagranate/ ketchup. Yummy !The staff was very accommodating and the rooms were lovely.
I wish I was by the pool right now!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimlovelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had such an outstanding time during our stay this brand new hotel. The staff was friendly and catered to our every need. The pool was relaxing...with fire pits...and great food and drinks poolside. The rooms are super clean with extremely comfortable beds. Loved the restaurant "Chandlers": We will definitely be planning a return trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

this is a beautiful hotel. we would like to give the hotel staff and the customer service we received an outstanding A+. the rooms are well appointed and have all the amenities you would expect from a luxury hotel. the pool area was very modern and was very peaceful. we ordered drinks and food poolside. the food and drinks were delicious and the service was outstanding. dining at CHANDLERS is a must with it's modern california cuisine and excellent wine list , you won't be disappointed. we will be back. thank you again to all the HILTON STAFF for making our stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: ask for an upper ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monica r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
4.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#6 of 36 in Carlsbad
943 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Property: Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4620 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing