We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Chocolate and Wine? Go here!”

Carlsbad Chocolate Bar
Ranked #3 of 19 Dessert in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Love Chocolate and Wine? Go here!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a tiny little store front on State Street. They upgraded and moved to the corner and expanded. This place has wonderful selections on gourmet chocolates - and unique wines. They also serve lattes and the like. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank pipermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    30
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stop in for a treat”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Very cute place for a coffee break. Enjoyed the atmosphere and my kids loved picking their own mix of candy. My chocolate covered pretzel was mediocre, I should have tried something else. Prizes are high.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenniferMor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Chocolate Ecstasy”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Carlsbad Chocolate Bar was an unexpected discovery on our trip to downtown Carlsbad. It is the perfect spot for dessert and has a large selection of chocolates to delight the palate. We savored the Dark Chocolate Raspberry Cake along with the house blend coffee and tea.

Be sure to sample the variety of chocolate truffles, chocolate covered pretzels, milk chocolate sea salt caramels, nonpareils, dark or light chocolate peanut butter cups, etc. Each provides a true chocolate ecstasy.

The location on State Street is easy to access and close to nearby restaurants, making it the perfect after dinner dessert spot. The venue is comfortable and spacious with adequate seating.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PassportOfficio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“week in Carlsbad”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Chocolate bar had lots of choices in candy both individual and in boxes and bags. They also serve coffee. As usual the prices were a bit high so we only got a small bag of selected items but what we got was very good. Cute little place to sit and have a muffin and coffer if you like.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank packy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Cute name and good chocolate”
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

This has a good spin on the two best things in life, but really they are merely a nice chocolate shop combined with some wine. We are from the east coast where there are plenty of good confectioners like this establishment, so it was the name that pulled us in. However the offerings are fairly standard, albeit tasty. One unique candy they had was the Pepperidge Farm Milani cookie and also an Oreo cookie, dipped in different chocolates. We weren't overly impressed with the wine portion, but again, it is a cute schtick with the wine, chocolate and pastry and coffee drinks.

Helpful?
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlsbad Chocolate Bar also viewed

 

Been to Carlsbad Chocolate Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing