We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really lacking in customer service!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Carlsbad - Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Carlsbad - Village
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Really lacking in customer service!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

What can I say....it's Motel 6
Pros: very close to Carlsbad Village, clean enough room
Cons: I am shocked at their level of customer service (they must pay their help minimum wage), noisy, sketchy, super depressing room, charge extra for wi-fi and it isn't very fast wi-fi, thin walls, etc (all the things you expect in a Motel 6)
My first and last stay at this motel (mostly because the level of customer service left me cold)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whynotroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    20
    13
    7
See reviews for
20
28
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

although we have had other people stay here.. over the last two years it has increasingly been known more for the transient crowd then vacationers.. I would not ever recommend this to families or single women...
Not to be funny but I have seen a few more truckers stay here lately.. I would assume they are a bit more worldly..
Like all Motels the rooms are usually adequate but it is the atmosphere that is the biggest concern. You are across the street from the locals dive bar and then Dennys in the parking lot.. makes for the happening place anytime after 11...
Carlsbad does have some other inexpensive options.. dont let this be one of them...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kendall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night passing thru on a budget and really liked it! Our room was very clean and the property was nicer than some of the other in the chain that I've stayed at. The location was also perfect, with walking distance to some great shops and restaurants! Would recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rknrljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have stayed at this property at a previous time and all was well between myself and management when I had checked out. A few days ago I had made a reservation to stay here again for another week. It took me most of the day to get to Carlsbad from Los Angeles on Metrolink. When I finally arrived at dusk at the aforementioned property, I was told that I was on a "NO RENT LIST". VERY SUSPICIOUS!!! Did they have a convention suddenly arrive and bump me from my room? (So unprofessional, were that the case.) Maybe it is the single female factor..."she can't protest, she's already so unimportant she's staying at a Motel 6!" How very powerfully amusing for them. Well me too! I'm reporting them on trip advisor. I hope that they are also STUNNED!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahDevalued H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I'm self-employed and travel frequently, so I'm often in need of a cheap room. More often than not, that means staying at a Motel 6. Their quality can vary from location to location, however, and I'm always a little hesitant when I'm staying at one for the first time. Some are not in the safest locations, and some are in pretty serious disrepair.

I'm happy to report that this is one of the good ones. In fact, I've stayed at just about every Motel 6 from San Diego to Los Angeles, and the Carlsbad location is certainly in my top 3.

First of all, the location is perfect. Right next to a freeway, but only a few blocks from the ocean, and a beautiful little coastal town. There are plenty of food options around, including a Denny's and a Carl's Jr. practically in the parking lot. But, you are missing out if you don't travel a couple of blocks to little hole-in-the-wall simply called NY Pizza. As a former New Yorker, I can attest that this is the real deal, some of the best Italian food I've had on the West Coast. But I digress.

I found the room clean and comfortable, but it was the staff that really stood out. They were very friendly and attentive, even knocking on my door at one point to see if I would like some fresh towels. I was also allowed to check in a couple of hours before their stated check-in time, which is a rarity.

All in all, I can't recommend this location highly enough. A clean room at a great price in a wonderful little town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Dirty room 104. Hair on the pillows, kinda yellowish stain on sheet, urine smell, i dont think it was cleanrd but that was the last room so we took it.

So we hat tospemd the night with traces of some darkhaired female befote us in the same bed lol... nasty experience. Will not stay in future.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinceLombard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week in June 2012. The motel is clean, simple and basic. No frills. We paid $55.99 a night online. It is 4 blocks from the beach and loads of shopping, restaurants and bars within walking distance. It is right off highway 5. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee2518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
#35 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#26 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland
0.6 mi away
Pelican Cove Inn
Pelican Cove Inn
#1 of 2 in Carlsbad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Carlsbad - Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Carlsbad - Village

Property: Motel 6 Carlsbad - Village
Address: 1006 Carlsbad Village Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Carlsbad - Village 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Carlsbad Beach is only 3 miles to Carlsbad State Beach. Dining and shops are within 2 miles. Oceanside Pier and Harbor are within 10 miles. Enjoy our modern rooms and outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Motel-6, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Carlsbad - Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Carlsbad Downtown Hotel Carlsbad
Motel Six Carlsbad
Carlsbad Motel 6
Carlsbad Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing