We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveler rating
357
49
20
5
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
49
20
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews park hyatt kids club golf course bath products bedroom villa full kitchen daily maid service washer dryer master bathroom poolside service concierge staff north of san diego dining table beautiful property main lobby pool staff video games
Filter
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 441 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

As always, this resort is immaculately maintained. We had a few service issues but they were taken care of immediately. Rooms are very comfortable and the surroundings are gorgeous. Would highly recommend as a great family vacation spot.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Yes, the hotel is a good haul from San Diego airport, but the location is quiet and relaxing. The villas are nestled around a lovely lagoon with fantastic bird watching and an impressive golf course. Tennis, yoga, the pools, and a few scheduled activities will keep adults or families happy. In addition, the hotel within the complex- now a Park Hyatt instead of a Four Seasons -- has excellent restaurants and a large spa. You'll definitely need a car while there since the ocean is nearby as are a vast array of attractions.

The villas themselves are comfortable and large with fully equipped kitchens and excellent daily housekeeping. I can't say I was impressed with the recent "updating" of the décor in each unit since it feels as the decorator got confused about what he or she was aiming for. If you book the full villa, you'll have more bathrooms and space than many city dwellers have in their condos. If you book the smaller part, you'll have a lovely space and huge bath that locks off and has no noise coming through from the larger part. We love to book the full villa and have friends and family stay in the smaller unit. It offers everyone privacy yet a chance to spend plenty of time together around the fireplace, in the kitchen, or on one of the patios.

Room Tip: Both the Summits and Meadows have pools so you can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roxieontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

True to the Four Seasons standards this facility is amazing! From the friendliness of the front desk staff to the housekeeping crew. The location is a bit remote which we actually liked in the hills away from the San Diego bustle. Didnt get a chance to use the pool but the gym was very nice, they even had events going in during the evenings, such as teen family night with popcorn, etc. About 30 min to San Diego depending in traffic. There is only 1 king bed plus a pull out couch which is obviously not as comfortable but serves its purpose. Having a little kitchenette in the room is great especially with my 2 kids. The food at the hotel is reasonably priced not more than you would pay at an outside restaurant and was very good. Note that there is no elevator since they are residence/villas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Upas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceClubAviara, General Manager at Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca., responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent family experience at Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara. Your acknowledgement about the friendliness of the resort staff was greatly appreciated. It will mean so much to the team that they made a difference in your stay.

We are located in the Pacific Coastal community of Aviara, about six minutes from the beaches of Carlsbad. Although you stayed in a studio, we do offer one and two bedroom villas that can sleep as many as eight guests and offer full kitchens.

I am sopleased that your family enjoyed movie night by the pool. We are a very family friendly resort and have a wonderful program called the Seven Days of Wonder offering different activities for families and adults during each day of the week. This program changes periodically throughout the calendar year.

Thank you again for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Aviara in the very near future. Until then, all the best.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Sure it's remote but it gives you an excuse to get in your car and explore. The customer service is top notch. I've travelled a lot and they know how to treat a tourist. My daughters love it. Get facilities for early teens and safe enough for them to explore themselves

Rooms are cozy and spacious. We love it!!!

Room Tip: We like the Summit. At little out of the way but quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamBlanchardnogluten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice property, but the location is so remote if you are a tourist trying to see San Diego area. 35 minutes from San Diego downtown minimum. Perched way up on a hill. It has no nearby beach at all and Carlsbad town is ten minutes away even. Just not what we were looking for in a California vacation spot. But the grounds and property are lovely and the amenities are nice. Villas have pool/workout/kids club. Hotel on property is five star, but hardly anyone was there. And it's confusing as the hotel is run by Park Hyatt but villas are Four Seasons. Guests can use either property as they are located side by side. I hope the hotel makes it, it was almost vacant in late August. It is really beautiful, but the lobby areas have an overpowering air freshener smell.Villas are a timeshare concept, so that is what it feels like - like you are in a residential area. Again, nice property just would far prefer to have been closer to town and beaches and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 670lisaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews