We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We own 6 timeshares and have visited over 40 timeshares around the world. Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara is by far the finest we have ever visited. Staff is attentive, accommodations luxurious, plenty of nearby golfing, sights and restaurants. Enjoyed daily maid service that we don't usually receive at a timeshare. Used the fireplace daily. My husband and I enjoyed staying in the 1 bedroom and we would definitely consider a studio for us next time.

Room Tip: Enjoyed being at Summit, which is away from lobby. A pool, exercise facility, coffee shop, and inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arrowhead5m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    35
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
139
77
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had an amazing stay at the Four Seasons resort. We are not timeshare owners but were able to book rooms directly through the Four Season website at a nightly rate. The resort itself is amazing and exactly what you would expect from a Four Seasons property. Although it is not a full service hotel, the staff is very available and you feel like you are at a 5 star property.

The rooms are large and recently redone. The grounds are immaculate and we witnessed nearly non stop pruning and upkeep.

The pools are very nice with poolside service and full locker rooms including steam rooms.

Make sure and take advantage of the adjoining hotel's amenities, Park Hyatt Aviara, which you have full access to as a guest of the resort.

The City of Carlsbad is about 30 minutes from downtown San Diego but the community and surrounding areas are very upscale and beautiful. Lots of shopping, restaurants and conveniences very near the resort.

Room Tip: Request a room in the Summit or Osprey areas for easy access to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phgraves42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The resort is in an excellent location in close proximity to great golf, the local beach, restaurants, etc., The residences themselves are first rate and roomy with lots of subtle amenities. The one bedroom with a full kitchen was very comfortable, clean and upscale. The PS3 and DVR were great additional touches that made it seem like "home away from home". The grounds were beautiful and the Park Hyatt was wand easy walk. We enjoyed our stay there and would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazuomaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This review is written for timeshare owners/traders trying to figure out if they want to trade into here.

First, let me start with the excellent pre-check-in service. We traded a timeshare for a studio unit. They called and asked the names and ages of our children and when we arrived, they had three little stuffed animal bunnies waiting on the bed for them and my kids names spelled out with bath toys in the bathrooms. It was darling and my kids loved it. They also had a pack & play and high chair ready for my infant. At the pool, the towel, food and drink service is amazing and you never get anything comparable at other timeshares except for maybe at a Westin. The service truly is great.

That being said, we usually trade into 1 or 2 Brm units at other resorts and we were willing to take an efficiency here just to try out a Four Seasons and although it was nice, I think I'd rather have more space and also a place that had a bit more for kids to do. The pools were rather small and didn't have a view of anything (so we could have been at an average pool anywhere). There were no extra resort type features (like waterslides, lazy rivers, kids play area) and we had to go up to the hotel to use the gameroom. Also, as others noted, since the hotel is part of Hyatt they don't have the same kids club so not only do you have to pay (which you don't normally need to at Four Seasons) but it wasn't really open. I would have been willing to pay for a day camp but they were only running it on weekends which was a bummer and not when I needed it. All in all a beautiful place but I wouldn't rush to return with my family again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DenverMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in the one bedroom suite. The place was spotless. Housekeeping was excellent. The gas fireplace was a great touch. The lunch by the pool was very good.

The workout room is small but better than most hotels. The locker room was beyond clean and had a great steam room.

The pools are nice, I just don't understand the ugly striped rust color lounge cushions that highlight the roofs of the complex while masking the colorful flowers around the pool! A rare design mistake for an otherwise beautiful complex.

The self parking is great. If you want more, take the shuttle up the hill and eat or drink at the Park Hyatt which is very nice also.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nucleoplasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Every so often it's great to not get on a plane and just drive for a get away. The Four Seasons Aviara in Carlsbad is perfect. Tennis, golf, art and exercise classes are all available. You can either get a full two bedroom condo, a one bedroom with full kitchen, living room and dining room, or just a one bedroom. As mentioned in some other reviews, it shares the property with the Park Hyatt where there are restaurants and a bar. Great shopping and restaurants are nearby as is La Costa resort. I didn't encounter the housekeeping problems mentioned by another reviewer. We just called when we wanted the room done and they came. And they're dog friendly so our little Ellie was happy too!

Room Tip: A room at the Summit has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

2 Bdrm suites are lovely, a true Four Seasons residence experience. Very large with 2 and 3/4 bath and fireplace in living room. 3 separate patios. Cleaning service was sporadic and always arrived when we were in the unit. We were gone most of the day. While they were only doing their jobs, II felt like we were tripping over them. One morning they came early at 9 AM. Two other days, they did not clean until 4 PM just when we had arrived home to relax. Not relaxing. Seems a management problem there. We were delighted to find a brand new clubhouse for Summits only to learn it would be closed for 3-4 days for some private meeting event. That is not right when the clubhouse is for the use of all owners. They said clubhouse in area below was open but that is not adequate for a complex of this size. Pool area, hot tub and small restaurant area outside clubhouse was very nicely maintained and staff very helpful. S'Mores were a nice touch and staff was very hospitable. Workout room OK but very small. This residence club has no restaurant - the original Four Seasons' Hotel is now owned by Hyatt. Overall a nice experience but not the complete Four Seasons' delight we have come to rely on.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devilinthedetails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.1 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.9 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#1 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
2.5 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
5.9 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara

Property: Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
Address: 7210 Blue Heron Pl, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing