We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is amazing! The rooms were very spacious. Great insulation. Love the full kitchen! The staff was very helpful and friendly for the entire stay! Their free breakfast had lots to choose from. On weekday night they have a social hour with free appetizers, drinks, and cocktails. We took full advantage of their free shuttle. The shuttle drivers were all very friendly and gave us a mini tour on the drives to our destinations. Only time we had to drive all week was to the Zoo because it was kinda far away. The longest we ever had to wait for the shuttle was 10 minutes. All other times it was closer to 2 minutes. The shuttle took us to Legoland, dinners, shopping, and the beach. Which kept sand out of our car :-) If we go back to Carlsbad in the future we will definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnEasyGoing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete a trip advisor response. We hope you enjoyed your visit with us.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing a trip advisor response and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404.

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    147
    60
    47
    32
See reviews for
361
60
20
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london`
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I booked my son into the Hyatt last October, as he was beginning studies at the renowned GIA.I thought that he might only stay till he found some room-mates to move in elsewhere.
Come last December he said that he really didn't want to leave

I know it might seem expensive, but they provide breakfast an evening social most nights.BBQ,wi-fi and important for a non-driver a free shuttle service to classes and town as well.

My wife and I have just returned from a visit.The staff are kind and attentive.The manger John Saunders cares about his guests.Thank you brenda for posting my t-shirt to my brother it arrived.My son is doing well at the GIA and I'm glad that the hotel has made this important time stressless.I would say a very pleasant atmosphere all round

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hotel is located in a business district, so evening travel on the roads surrounding the hotel is limited, so the hotel is very quiet. It is located about 1/2 mile from a wonderful, scenic stretch of ocean with biking, running, and walking paths. Plenty of surfers to be seen as well. I would recommend this hotel to the business traveler in this area, and I plan on visiting this hotel again later this week.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete a Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future; please let me or any of the Staff members know if we can be any further assistance.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404.

Sincerely,
John Saunders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Would like to thank the staff by name, (I'm here all week, every week on business).

Thank you; John, Lynn, Tom, Brenda, Rudy, Sherine, Miguel, Bridget, Lauren, James, Lisa, German, Brenda G., Rosalie, Erik, ken, and Shane!. Since i have been here every week for the last year, I've come to know you all by first name. You all make me feel at home. the Hotel is well kept, perfect location, Clean rooms and amenities, looking forward to future stays!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie3640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Mr. Eddie,
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to send us a survey regarding your recent stay.

On behalf of the Staff, we truly appreciate you staying with us. Please let us know if we can be any further assistance in the future. We do hope next time you’re in the Carlsbad area you will be sure and stay with Hyatt House.

I will be sure and reach out to each Staff member and thank them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

A large group of coworkers and I have been staying at this hotel for the past year, and let me tell you it is like a home away from home. The hotel itself is quaint and homey. Located just blocks from the ocean side, the hotel gives a sense of relaxation that will take a hold of you. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful, especially Lynn, German Benitez and Rosalie Mccullor. They ensure that our stay is very pleasant. A great place to stay for vacation and even a longer period of time. What other hotel offers breakfast and an evening social? Not many...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Mr. Dias,
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to send us a survey regarding your recent stay.

On behalf of the Staff here at Hyatt House Carlsbad we appreciate you staying with us and will be sure each and every stay is an awesome one.

I will be sure and reach out to each Staff member and thank them. You're always welcome here.

Take care,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We are a large construction firm with many managers, executives and craft employees staying at this facility since December of 2012. The facilities are very clean and well maintained. The staff is OUTSTANDING. They are friendly, courteous and helpful. Especially the assistant Manager, Lynn, who has gone above and beyond the norm to ensure that our people are taken care of and comfortable in this "away from home" environment. She has maintained an enjoyable atmosphere for our people throughout our stays by being extremely attentive to minor details that enhance our experience. Special thanks and recognition are sent to other members of the staff, Arman, Rose, Brenda and Ken for your past assistance and courtesies. They are fun and all make us feel welcome. We'll be here for a while longer because we like the facilities and appreciate the efforts of the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to send us a survey regarding your recent stay.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon.
From the Staff of Hyatt House Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Great home away from home type hotel. I travel with two kids (2 and 4) so I'm always looking to make sure that "family-friendly" is at the top of the list when I stay at hotels. Sure the train tracks are right there, but my kids love to see it so it doesn't bother us. Staff is friendly and the mood is relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Go H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us how your recent experience was at the Hyatt House Carlsbad. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you again soon. We appreciate the feedback and always strive to be the best. Thank you again, enjoy the rest of your week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.9 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
661 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad

Property: HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Address: 5010 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4371 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad )
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the coast of beautiful Carlsbad, California and conveniently situated only 2 1/2 blocks from the beach, Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad is surrounded by the area's many great attractions and restaurants. Enjoy a five-minute shuttle ride to Legoland or GIA or travel a short 35 miles to the San Diego Convention Center, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, San Diego Wild Animal Park, Old Town or the San Diego airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Hotel Of America Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing