We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good all round hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“a good all round hotel”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

i have been at hyatt now for over 2months and it has been great, the rooms are nice the service is particularly good especially tom the driver who goes the extra mile and rudy at the front desk is a great help as its my first time in california
its very family friendly and has a great pool, hot tub, the wifi is free and fast and the food is good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jordan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to send us your survey.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.



Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    147
    56
    44
    31
See reviews for
353
60
20
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, California
2 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2014

convenient location. Which is close to the beaches, restaurants, shopping. This is great place to stay. Hotel have Kitchen, full cooking stone, refrigidaire, have breakfast, Internet, parking free.
We will come back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quitter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiemNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to send us your survey. We are glad you and your family enjoyed the suites.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

John Saunders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I hesitate to give 5 stars to a non-luxury hotel, but truly, there was almost nothing to complain about! Free wi-fi, free parking, free breakfast with a good selection, and free (family friendly!) happy hour with snacks and sodas, as well as a glass of wine for this momma!. All for a competitive price, ie, they didn't sneak those fees into justifying a higher room rate.

The one bedroom suite had two beds, two flat screen tvs, a kitchen (single stove top and 3/4 fridge, but otherwise fully appointed). Two computers with printers are available for use and were easily accessible (no checking out a key, or getting a passcode, etc), perfect for printing boarding passes and e-tickets to legoland. We did not use it, but we saw the shuttle available, and saw it a couple of times while we were at legoland, and wondered if maybe we should have! It was centrally located and easy access to Oceanside, Carlsbad Village, legoland, etc.

For those who might be interested, the bedroom layout had the sink outside the commode/shower room. Also, the tvs did not have pay per view movies, but had a large selection of cable channels. The beach is about a 1/4 mile away, easily walked to for older children and adults, or those with strollers. I took my morning run along the beach one morning. The pool was heated - though still too cold for adults, the kids loved it. A hot tub was available and large enough for about 10 people.

The nearby train did not bother me, and I did not notice it, others might. We were on the first floor and there appeared to be a kid above us that ran a lot, but not the hotel's fault and we did not complain about it so do not know how they would have remedied it. Request a higher floor if it is a concern. Finally, everyone, from the buffet servers, to the housecleaning was helpful and cheerful and appeared to be working hard.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and there appeared to be a kid above us that ran a lot, but not the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawyermom3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to send us your survey. We are glad to hear your enjoyed your recent trip.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Thank you again for your time.
John Saunders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, California
Level 6 Contributor
547 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This location right off the freeway. so make sure you ask for room away from hyway. rooms are large and have full refridges, and cooking stove. great for kids and families. close to beaches and legoland- train also runs near by and can be annoying to some, but fun for others, it is quick and funny- front desk is good and attentive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srimanone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404.

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The level of service here is GREAT! Sherine and James, always ensure that I have a comfortable stay each visit for work. If you do not mind the train near by, this is a great place to stay, which is close to the beaches, shopping outlets and restaurants!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blaquerob06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404.

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

1 bedroom suite with adequate kitchen and full size refrigerator - new decor, clean with flat screen TVs in bedroom and living room area. Complimentary breakfast better than most. Right off of freeway and ideal location for families for Legoland

Room Tip: Top floor best if you aren't traveling with children. Infrequent train horn not an issue at sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devnprt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.


Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Let me start out with the positive. The housekeeping is fantastic. The person who took care of my room was Lorena. She was very thorough and made the room look awesome!

Now for theses reason(s). The rooms are close to the train tracks and the Highway. No way around that really. If you are a light sleep like me you will need to be tired. The main reason is that I specifically called John, the Manager, before I booked and after I was there for over a week to give me some good rates because I wanted to move to a bigger room since my family will be here visiting during the holidays and he told me he would take care of me. I told him that I will stay at the hotel for at least 6 to 8 weeks. When the time came he basically offered me the same rates as the online rates! Really John? How is that any different from what I was doing??

In addition, the breakfast was pretty bad with baked eggs and the same things morning after morning. For dinner it was basically appetizers with very small plates. The meal staff in the morning was fantastic where the dinner staff was less desirable and stayed more in the back so they didn't have to fill up drinks. It was terrible in that sense. If the food were good then maybe you can stay in the back but since the best thing during the "dinner" social was the drinks then you better be out in the front and be seen. Mind you I only drank Sierra Mist!

I went to Homewood Suites because of the service even though I am paying more. For what I have seen including the waffle maker in the morning, they are hands down a better place. In fact I got the same rate I originally booked a week ago when I added more days with a one day notice. The online rate was $30 more but this Manager gave me the same rates I had originally booked for. When I was staying at the Hyatt House I asked to see if I could stay an additional 5 days on the same rate I was there for and he said no since the hotel was almost full for the holidays. Hmm, I was already there for 2 weeks and still no. Got it, done, I am here!

Room Tip: Get rooms away from the train traffics since the Highway noise on the other side is not as bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pohahawai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear valued guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.9 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
659 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad

Property: HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Address: 5010 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4371 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad )
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the coast of beautiful Carlsbad, California and conveniently situated only 2 1/2 blocks from the beach, Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad is surrounded by the area's many great attractions and restaurants. Enjoy a five-minute shuttle ride to Legoland or GIA or travel a short 35 miles to the San Diego Convention Center, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, San Diego Wild Animal Park, Old Town or the San Diego airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Hotel Of America Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing