We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, clean, updated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great rooms, clean, updated”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I was leary to book here because it is so close to Legoland I feared kids would be swarming the halls, but was pleasantly surprised it was not the case. Great location for other things to do; easy drive/park to watch surfers or to the beach. A few nice restaurants nearby. We attended a wedding nearby at a resort property and this was a great alternative from hotels listed by the bride once we saw them and their busy and hectic locations. Carlsbad has a nice little downtown area. The room itself has a great bathroom setup with bath sink separate from toilet/tub. Awesome magnifier mirror at sink. Nice touch. Didn't need the full size kitchen but can see using it if we stayed longer so make meals. Nice bar w/stools to eat at (replaces a table which takes up too much room anyway); nice entry way table to drop stuff at. Nice breakfast help if needed, very pleasant (manager?) folks running it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njm0058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    147
    60
    47
    32
See reviews for
361
60
20
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed 7 nights and loved the property, staff and value of this hotel. Upon arrival on Aug. 13th, we were greeted with a friendly staff that got us on our way promptly to our room after we got checked in. From the moment we stepped into our room, which was a "King Studio" , we were very happy with our stay. It was a very comfortable room with all the amenities that we needed for a relaxing visit to Carlsbad.The full kitchen was equipped with everything you need to prepare pretty much any meal, whether you are there on business or for pleasure.Fortunately, we were there for pleasure and to visit family.
It was a clean, quiet and relaxing room that we said we would definitely love to stay in again when we come back to Carlsbad, without hesitation.
The breakfast buffet was nice and had everything you need to get the day started. One word of advice to guests that want to avoid a busy, busy dining area for breakfast..go before all the "cute little kids" are down there. One day , we didn't make it down to the breakfast area until about 9am (big mistake) and it was swarming with families and youngsters that were running on high energy before they fueled up and headed to Legoland. Other than that, it was a nice, relaxing experience especially when you have your breakfast out on the patio, very nice environment.
Only thing negative that I have about our stay was when the power went out shortly after 3am on morning(thanks to a driver that couldn't keep his car on the road and hit a transformer)and stayed off for 12 hrs. The hotel needs to get up to code on the emergency lighting as there were dark long hallways and stairwells that were pitch black even during the daytime. Thank goodness that there was no fire or other emergency that would require to leave the building quickly as this could have had a very tragic result. The backup batteries in the emergency lighting evidently died after a few hours and no lighting existed after that.
Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.
Hopefully we will be back there soon !!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisB612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Power went out at 4 a.m. - that happens, not their fault (I think a transformer blew) - I woke up and checked the hallway - was reassured the reserve lights and exit signs were illuminated, went back to bed. Next a.m. at 8, still no power in the room, and now the entire LONG hallway is pitch black, and no exit signs were visible. I mean PITCH black! Couldn't call to the front desk because their phone is electric, even from my cell. SO, what if we had a medical or other emergency? Can't call out, can't get out. Unbelievable. Luckily I had a little charge left on my weakly lit cell phone, so could creep down the hall and down the (also dark) stairwell - good thing I or my young child didn't fall! When we left, I complained to the front desk but the 2 people said not one word - they looked shell shocked. C'mon people, get some flashlights, hand them out, put lanterns in the hallways. Unbelievable. Hopefully no one got seriously hurt or freaked out in this fiasco. have to say, before this, I would have given the hotel a positive review, but if you can't keep your customers safe, forget it. Also, hot tub was closed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, CA
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Who knew you could love a hotel. As a family of five where the 3 kids are now teenagers and can't all fit in one bed, getting two rooms would always be TOO expensive. At this Hyatt though, the one room was perfect. NONE of us was unhappy. There were two queen size comfortable beds and pillows AND a fold out QUEEN size sofa. Whether you folded it out or not, two people could sleep on it, because it was L-Shaped. AND it was great having room to walk between the bed and the sofa. The kitchen was AMAZING! Small but had EVERYTHING: full fridge/freezer, dishwasher, microwave/conventional oven, dishes, glasses, silverware... The pool was truly heated! Even on a cloudy day, it was warm. The gym is equipped with brand new up to date computerized equipment, and even a disposable earphone set, water and towels. Towels are always also by the pool. And now, for the piece de resistance: EVERY morning, a wonderful hot and cold buffet breakfast COMPLIMENTARY. There was food to suit each one of us. 3 hot dishes (eggs, sausages, potatoes, pancakes, omlets.), yogurt, fruit, 5 different cereals, 3 different juices, quality tea choices, muffins, English muffins, toast, bagels...... AND if you thought that was all, during the wee (but alas not during the weekend, big disappointment) they had what the called a "SOCIAL". This was 5-7 and they would have free sodas, beers and hot appetizers as well as fancy salads. This was such a treat and frankly, cut down on our eating out expense. Oh p.s., for those that have laundry, there is a laundry room and it is REASONABLE: $1.25 per wash and $1.25 per dry. We didn't need it as we were there for just 4 nights. And oh yes, free shuttle to Legoland and they'll take you and pick you up WHENEVER you like. How great are they!!! Housekeeping was also very responsive. Everyone friendly. LOVED YOU GUYS. From now one, we will always look for Hyatt Summerfield for our family trips. Irena, West Hills, California

Room Tip: Oh yes, there is a train, but the only time we heard it was having breakfast or social on the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We (family with 2 kids) recently stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and had booked a deluxe studio, which according to the info on the web page comes with a king size bed and a queen sleeper.

However, we got a room (very small/cramped by the way) with a queen bed. Apparently, 3 of the studios at the hotel comes with a queen size bed and not the king size it was advertised with.

We were not informed about this and received no compensation what so ever after complaining - i.e. we had to pay full price for a room that did not meet the standards described on the hotels own webpage. I mentioned this in my critique of the hotel and was contacted by the manager afterwards that wanted a chance to make it right. I wrote back with my suggestions (not paying full price), but so far hasn't heard anything back.

Staff was nice and hotel was ok, but overpriced for what you get.

Be aware of the following before booking a room:
- Ask about bed size when checking in
- Interstate is right to the one side of the hotel and the railroad is on the other side, i.e. you have to like noise to sleep there
- Beach access is further away than map indicates as a residential area blocks the beach closest to the hotel
- Kitchen is not capable of handling large crowds, breakfast and food in the afternoon is scarce, when there's a lot of people.

If I was to do it all over again, I would pick a hotel in the Marriott chain closer to San Diego and save at least 50 USD a day. I'm not got going back.

Room Tip: Avoid the 3 rooms with Queen sized beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGK22101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in August, and had a room with two queen beds. Normally, we stay in a one or two bedroom suite, so the studio room was a bit too small for us. However, the hotel is VERY clean. It looks brand new. The beds were extremely comfortable, and as always, it was nice to have a full size fridge and kitchen. The kitchen was a bit small for us - it was immediately as you walked into the hotel room, and very narrow. It might have been a problem if we had been staying longer, but it didn't bother us much on our short visit.
Each morning and evening, food is provided. The hotel was sold out while we were there, and although the food was good, they were constantly running out of everything. They had a difficult time keeping the platters full, and there was a lot of waiting. Despite this, everyone we encountered who worked there was very, very nice and friendly.
The hotel was over run with children. They were everywhere. I did not see anyone without kids, so beware of this if you do not want a noisy breakfast or pool, etc. We fit right in with our kids, and they loved having so many other kids around to play with.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. I would definitely stay here again, and I would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband and I were excited to take our sons to Legoland for a long weekend and booked this hotel because it was nearby and had good reviews. We specifically booked a room with two queens because there were 4 of us. We knew we'd be exhausted after long fun-filled days.

We were so disappointed to arrive to find that this hotel had overbooked guests, and had bumped us to a room with only one bed. The manager wasn't around so we slept one night with the four of us cramped in one bed with lots of rolling around and kicks to the face.

The next morning the manager volunteered to move us to a comparable nearby hotel with two beds. But of course, no nearby hotels were available (this is why we booked IN ADVANCE).

She moved us to a hotel 15 minutes away, which was cheaper and a significant downgrade from this place that had one bed + a sleeper sofa that was so uncomfortable we all ended up in the bed anyway -- without any compensation for our trouble or additional costs incurred.

This was a poorly managed situation. If you choose to stay here, call in advance to confirm that they have not bumped your reservation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jeamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.9 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
661 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad

Property: HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Address: 5010 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4371 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad )
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the coast of beautiful Carlsbad, California and conveniently situated only 2 1/2 blocks from the beach, Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad is surrounded by the area's many great attractions and restaurants. Enjoy a five-minute shuttle ride to Legoland or GIA or travel a short 35 miles to the San Diego Convention Center, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, San Diego Wild Animal Park, Old Town or the San Diego airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Hotel Of America Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing