We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets a lot of the important stuff right, but falls down on some important details”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gets a lot of the important stuff right, but falls down on some important details”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our family of 4 (a 3 year old and 6 year old along with my wife) stayed in a 2 bedroom suite on the second floor over spring break.

The good:
Clean, spacious room. Has a (mostly) functional, quite large kitchen, which is hard to find in this area, so that's the main reason we picked this place. I was able to make full breakfasts every morning, which is important to our family. View of the ocean is great, too.

Lots of amenities and activities: workout facility, lots of beach toys, pool table, foosball, ping pong, and more. S'mores, nail-painting, and many other fun crafts and activities. Many free, the rest very reasonably priced.

The bad:
The most frustrating thing has been the incredibly slow wifi. It is frequently slower than .5Mbps - to put that in perspective, most home internet is at least 10Mbps these days. It's downright painful.

Two lights were out and towels were missing from one bathroom. A quick call resolved these issues. Buttons on microwave didn't work - I was able to work around this, so I haven't reported it yet. Several doors creak when opened and closed, and the bathroom ventilation fans are incredibly loud.

The pools are not laid out well: the distance between the family pool and hot tub is a good 40 foot walk with locked gates between them. The pool isn't quite warm enough in March and the most shallow point is 3.5 feet, which is pretty darn high - my 45" tall boy can't stand in it.

The ugly:
The front desk staff have been fine, but the main woman working the concierge desk, which, in theory, should help you buy tickets to places like Legoland, has just been horrendous. Basically, she was incredibly nice to me until she realized that I wasn't going to attend one of her timeshare presentations. After that, she became downright rude and actively avoided assisting me with buying tickets. After 15 minutes of trying to buy tickets, I gave up in frustration and bought them directly - it ended up being cheaper anyway!

Here's the worst part of the trip: the first night that we got here, we all fell asleep exhausted around 9pm. At midnight we heard an alarm clock going off. We waiting for a while to see if it would turn off, and finally realized it was coming from the other bedroom in our suite. I went in to unplug it and took a while to fall back asleep, just as I was almost out, I heard a strangers voice from INSIDE our room calling out. Terrified, I ran out yelling "Get out of here!" - it was a security guard who was checking on the alarm. Apparently he had been told that no one was in the room, so he came right in. It took me forever to get back to sleep after that.

Summary:
The place is nice enough, but I would not stay here again, and if internet speed or getting the little touches right is important to you, I would suggest you avoid this place like the plague.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JakesterPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Humberstone, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi JackesterPDX,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort. We hope you and your family had a great time participating in the activities we provide our guests. However, we are sorry to hear of the concerns you experienced during your stay as well. We expect our guests to be treated with excellent service and a friendly smile at all times and apologize if this was not the case. We also extend our apologies to the mishap regarding the alarm going off and a member of our security team walking in unwelcomed. We will certainly pass this information on to our management team to look further into.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    181
    60
    30
    18
See reviews for
486
302
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ossian, Indiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I so enjoyed our stay at Seapointe Resort in Carlsbad CA. It was our first visit to California and I'm hoping it won't be our last. The condo was perfect for our needs and the grounds were beautiful. The staff was ever attentive to our needs - always there to suggest a trip idea or a great place to eat (even providing maps to any suggested destination). Everyone on staff was friendly and welcomed us with a smile. Thanks for making our vacation a memorable one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbigd53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Humberstone, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
mrsbigd53 - "Great staff - great resort"
My husband and I so enjoyed our stay at Seapointe Resort in Carlsbad CA. It was our first visit to California and I'm hoping it won't be our last. The condo was perfect for our needs and the grounds were beautiful. The staff was ever attentive to our needs - always there to suggest a trip idea or a great place to eat (even providing maps to any suggested destination). Everyone on staff was friendly and welcomed us with a smile. Thanks for making our vacation a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Seapointe Resort at Carlsbad is a wonderful place to stay while you take in all the sights, activities, and beaches that surround this beautiful area. It is cozy , well managed, and has a staff like no other! Their attentiveness and eagerness to help in every situation adds to the charm. Hats off and our thanks to everyone on staff!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArleneAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINEAPPLE_WAY, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
ArleneAmy - "Fabulous!"
The Seapointe Resort at Carlsbad is a wonderful place to stay while you take in all the sights, activities, and beaches that surround this beautiful area. It is cozy , well managed, and has a staff like no other! Their attentiveness and eagerness to help in every situation adds to the charm. Hats off and our thanks to everyone on staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This resort is top notch. The grounds are immaculate, rooms recently renovated, directly across from the beach, beautiful views and the staff is fantastic. The customer service is great, they are "johnny on the spot" for anything you may need. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Great amenities; beach chairs, towels, boogie boards, wagons, activities, separate adult pool & spa; family pool and spa. Nice gas BBQs throughout the grounds. Clean workout facility with updated equipment. Wi-Fi is weak but staff advised they are in the process of upgrading. Enjoyed our stay wish is was longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINEAPPLE_WAY, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Eileen956 - "Carlsbad Seapointe Beautiful Resort & Great Location, Five Star Staff"
This resort is top notch. The grounds are immaculate, rooms recently renovated, directly across from the beach, beautiful views and the staff is fantastic. The customer service is great, they are "johnny on the spot" for anything you may need. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Great amenities; beach chairs, towels, boogie boards, wagons, activities, separate adult pool & spa; family pool and spa. Nice gas BBQs throughout the grounds. Clean workout facility with updated equipment. Wi-Fi is weak but staff advised they are in the process of upgrading. Enjoyed our stay wish is was longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at the Carlsbad Seapointe Resort in late January. We found the decor in our ground floor, one-bedroom suite rather dated. The configuration of the suite was odd, with the door to the bedroom from the hallway opening into the bathroom opening. Minimal closet space. The bedroom itself was extremely small. The mattress was too soft - I was very glad to get out of bed in the morning.
On the plus side, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Really outstanding. On the first evening we were tired and didn't want a fancy restaurant, just someplace to relax. The concierge recommended a restaurant, then gave us a coupon for a free appetizer to go along with it. Very nice.
The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed to do some simple cooking. We appreciated the gas fireplace since the weather was chilly at the beginning of the week.
The beach is just across the street from the resort and we enjoyed a beach walk each day of our stay. Unfortunately, from the ground floor rooms, there is no view. Request a second or third floor room. We also enjoyed the hot tub each evening and had it to ourselves most of the time. Everything was clean and well-maintained. I think they are working on renovating all of the suites.
The drive to San Diego took about 30 minutes and we enjoyed visiting Balboa Park, La Jolla Caves, and Old Town San Diego during our visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second or third floor if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINEAPPLE_WAY, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi Lorrie O,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Seapointe Resort. We appreciate your feedback and always enjoy hearing from our guests regarding their stay. We're glad you made use of the hot tub each evening and hope you had a great time visiting San Diego. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Recent spent a few days at the Carlsbad Seapointe Resort in Carlsbad, CA and were very happy with the staff and the great location. We discovered that Oceanside has a street fair on Thursday nights with food booths,and various other booths with stuff to buy, etc. We had a great few days for my husbands birthday and can't wait to go back in June!!

Room Tip: We usually get an ocean view room but we didn't this time but we still enjoyed out time at the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINEAPPLE_WAY, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi Connie H,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Seapointe Resort. We want to wish your husband a very happy birthday! Oceanside's street fair is great and always has delicious food and tons of fun activities for everyone. We are looking forward to your return in June!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Overall, the resort is well maintained and attractively furnished and landscaped. Front desk staff on check in were extremely pleasant. Our biggest issue was with the poor WiFi signal. Although, we reported it and maintenance were sent to reboot the nearest signal, we continued to experience pitiful to no wifi service during our stay. The resort charges over $15.00 per day for many amenities which include parking and wifi but these 2 were the only amenities we used. So, in reality, we paid $15/day parking with no wifi. This seems to be a common trend with resorts now so I am not being over critical of this resort but do wish they would ensure that when they advertise that they have Wifi, that it is, in fact, available in all of the units.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyDora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINEAPPLE_WAY, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi DaisyDora,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Seapointe Resort. We hope you had a great time and are sorry to hear of the inconvenience with the Wi-Fi. We will certainly pass along this feedback to our maintenance team for check up. We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.1 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.7 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
661 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad Seapointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Seapointe Resort

Property: Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Address: 6400 Surfside Ln, Carlsbad, CA 92011-3207
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#19 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Seapointe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort offers an unbelievable location for visitors visiting San Diego. These vacation condos sit along some of the most beautiful beaches in Southern California, and are within easy driving distance of LEGOLAND California, SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo and the Wild Animal Park. After a day of sightseeing or enjoying the sand and surf, relax in your own one or two bedroom designer-decorated condo. With an average of 800 square feet of space, beautiful balcony views, and a romantic fireplace, you can rest and unwind while listening to the sound of the ocean nearby. Guests can enjoy on-site amenities including swimming pools, a spa, fitness room, activity center, basketball, volleyball and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Carlsbad Seapointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Seapointe Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing