We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel in good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad Seapointe Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bethlehem, PA, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We rented a two-bedroom, two-bath, three-TV condo, which worked well for our family. We had a balcony and could see the ocean and get its breezes. The condo was well furnished, although the furniture looked a little old. Bathrooms and kitchen were well equipped. Pool, hot tub and workout room at the resort were great. A small beach was across the highway with more rocks than sand. A larger beach was within a short car ride. Parking at the resort was good, but not at the larger beach. A number of restaurants were nearby so we didn't miss a restaurant. It was a relaxing time and we definitely plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with balcony and an ocean view that is not near the kiddie pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smfBethlehem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gprmweigel, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time here at Carlsbad Seapointe. Looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    156
    54
    29
    17
See reviews for
410
256
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Seapointe Resort was the last available timeshare we could find in S.Cal last year when we booked oir vacation. We just got back last weekend after a full week there. The resort itself is really nice. Very friendly employee's too. The location is horrible though. There is no place to eat for miles. You have to drive everywhere and there are very few places that serve breakfast. We had to drive miles north and south to gets some eats. The beach access is a challenge too. You need to cross two big ditches and a highway to get to what they call a beach. Not sure if rocks classify as a beach, see photo. The traffic in the front and the constant trains going by in the back makes this place fell like you're in NYC. Like I said....the resort it self if great, just a really bad location. Oh.. Don't even think of staying here and driving north to LA for Disneylnad and other sites, you'll be in traffic for hours and hours...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AZGT350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gprmweigel, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the accommidations here at the resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This resort was GREAT!!!!!
The room was like a mini condo, it had everything!!!
Stove, oven, sink, dishwasher, blender, frig, pots and pans, etc....
They had two pools, adult and childrens!!
It was the best weekend I've had!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gprmweigel, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
It’s wonderful to hear that you had such a great time during your stay! We really strive to make each guest experience at Seapointe a memorable one, and from your positive comments we appear to have hit our mark. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our family just came back from a 7 day state at Carlsbad Seapointe. As always I make decisions based on Trip Advisor reviews so I always offer a full review of a resort.

Pros. 1. Excellent location (Carlsbad is the place to be)
2. Directly across from the beach (not on the beach)
3. Full condos (1 and 2 bedroom) with full kitchen, room was spacious
4. Activities Galore (volleyball, tennis, basketball, full day activities planned everyday)
5. Great for young kids (Boat ship playground, kid's pool, kid's splash park)

Cons: 1. They only clean rooms twice a week
2. You have to cross a busy intersection to get to the beach but small price to pay for this opportunity.
3. NO RESTAURANT on the premises. (we were fine with that since there is a lot to do but YOU must have a CAR).
4. NO gift shop on the premises.

Tips: 1. Pick up your groceries at the Whole Food Stores (ask receptionist how to get there)

Value: Incredible. Entire night was $ 200- hard to beat when you consider the location and the condo and the amenities. A hidden gem.

Room Tip: For little kids ask for room near play area. Any room in the 120 should be fine. We were in room 123...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kedmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

A spur of the moment night away is what we needed...so called Seapointe and they had a room for us, even though we aren't owners there.
We had a lovely corner room and the weather was warm in Carlsbad so we decided to sit out on the patio to enjoy the view. Some of the staff walked by and they were so warm and friendly towards my husband and I.
Thank you to the friendly staff and inviting atmostphere, we will definitely find our way back to this resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

On a whim, we booked one night at this time-share resort. I wish we had made more time because the condo complex is a very relaxing and fun place to stay for a summer break with the kids. There is a separate kid's pool, complete with one of those water spray towers with different water jets for the kids to run around in. There is also a jacuzzi that allows kids...and a separate adult pool and jacuzzi at the other end of the property (so you don't have to hear the kids if you don't want to). The condos are very light and nicely designed and most have ocean views (the resort is just across the highway from the ocean). You can check-out boogie boards and other beach stuff from the activity desk. There is a game room, a gym, arts and crafts every day and other activities arranged by the staff. There are grassy areas with tables and chairs and barbeques so you can have a nice summer meal outdoors. Check it out!!

The only real con here is that the resort is right next to the train tracks and trains go by frequently. I thought it would keep us awake but we didn't hear the trains.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor (for the views and so people aren't walking past your unit all the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rfamilyLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I've checked into a lot of hotels and condos but this was the first time I was offered a glass of champagne on check-in. It was an introduction to a very hospitable resort with an excellent staff very interested in making my wife and my stay very pleasant. I think this is a very comfortable resort with great rooms, well kept grounds and a great location. I enjoyed the adult pool which was great for lap swimming. Interesting activity options including surf and steel drum lessons. Great welcoming breakfast with introduction to staff, resort, and the area. Our room was in the back where the railroad track is very close but the minimal noise from that did not bother us. The beach is across a major highway and is not a good one....apparently washed out by storms a few years ago. No matter because there is a great beach a mile or two south and plenty of others north and south. I've visited California a lot and I think this is a idea location for a family trip because it is a reasonable drive to attractions in both San Diego and the LA area. Interesting how many of the owners of this resort live only a hour or two away and therefore know the So. Cal coast and have chosen this as there beach-getaway place. A car is obviously a must here and they have an efficent and safe parking structure Great restaurants in Carlsbad.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rscotUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.0 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
1.7 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 865 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#4 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#27 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad Seapointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Seapointe Resort

Property: Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Address: 6400 Surfside Ln, Carlsbad, CA 92011-3207
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#19 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Seapointe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort offers an unbelievable location for visitors visiting San Diego. These vacation condos sit along some of the most beautiful beaches in Southern California, and are within easy driving distance of LEGOLAND California, SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo and the Wild Animal Park. After a day of sightseeing or enjoying the sand and surf, relax in your own one or two bedroom designer-decorated condo. With an average of 800 square feet of space, beautiful balcony views, and a romantic fireplace, you can rest and unwind while listening to the sound of the ocean nearby. Guests can enjoy on-site amenities including swimming pools, a spa, fitness room, activity center, basketball, volleyball and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Carlsbad Seapointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Seapointe Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing