We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of reservation policy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlsbad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seashore on the Sand
arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beware of reservation policy”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We reserved and paid in full six months prior for a one bedroom, second floor, remodeled condo checking in early July 2012 for a week at Seashore on the Sand. One week prior to our arrival we received a phone call from management indicating that another person wanted "our" unit for two weeks and asked us to move out of the unit that we paid for and were "sold on" six months prior and move into another unit. We were being asked to move into another unit that was not remodeled. Of course, we were being asked to move out, as they would be getting double the money for two weeks in that specific unit. Management was very unprofessional on the phone, and made us feel like we were the ones doing something wrong, not them (this was obvious guilt for doing bad business in our minds). Management also tried to make the the other non-remodeled unit sound so much better this time, not the first time, as they were making more money when we originally agreed on the remodeled unit when we booked it. We decided that we did not want to stay at a place that has such bad business practices one week prior to arrival, therefore cancelled our reservation and found another place. Beware!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank deanared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    1
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here with our two children ( aged 3y and 4y ) - excellent base right on the beach and just 5 mins walk into town.

Really cannot fault our stay at all - free off street covered parking , amazing views , modern kitchen , huge TV , good sized bedrooms , two bathrooms , free children's beach toys + internet access.

Family run - very helpful + daily cleaning.

To me this was a faultless visit - and hopefully not our last

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and has amazing views - saw whales and dolphins whilst we sat on the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattm1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Had a great time for my two days here! Norrine and Kurt were extremely nice and helpful. I had a single bachelor type room with a queen bed. Perfect for either a single, or for a couple. The room was right on the beach and having the ocean right there was so refreshing and just what I needed. Everything clean and well kept. Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank NBF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This was our 2nd trip to Seashore on the Sand. We try to go to the beach every year and this is the only time I've wanted to return to the exact same place. We stayed again in the 2 bed 2 bath- which is perfect for our family of 5. The whole property is very nicely kept, very quiet and super convenient to everything. The best part is the view! We love Carlsbad and staying at this property. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank videomom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed here last year at the end of April. We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit on the corner. Very clean with a wonderful balcony. We absolutely loved the area, it's perfect for a family and there are so many places to eat and shop very close by. I don't think we moved our car once. Having a kitchen to prepare meals was great. We stayed with our 3 boys so having the 2 bedrooms and bathrooms was very convenient. The closets were huge so we didn't feel like we were tripping over all of our stuff. The kitchens and bathrooms are a little old but for the price this is an EXCELLENT value. The whole property is very well maintained. You are are literally steps down to the stand. No boardwalk to cross, and beach chairs, toys and umbrellas were conveniently provided as well as a shower to rinse off. I have been dreaming of coming back- we love Carlsbad and hope to stay here again this spring!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank videomom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This was our best vacation ever! We arrived later in the evening after a long car drive with two little kids. Norine was so accomodating and had our condo all ready. She didn't even ask for payment or credit or anything--how nice in today's world. The condo was perfect--clean, everything one needs in it, and the best ocean view! She called daily to see if we needed anything---what hospitality! She was even sick when we left and just asked us to leave check for her, so we did not get sick! What trust! What hospitality! What a gem of a place! We WILL be back. Heaven on earth. Thanks for the best trip ever!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Rented a studio for a romantic weekend. This place is probably great for families with kids and it's right on the beach within walking distance of restaurants and shopping. All of that was great, so it at least gets two stars. But the room was not private at all (the shared balcony was the walkway into the hotel for all guests) and wasn't that clean or nice. The hair dryer was shoved under the sink with two plungers (Ewww...) Wi-Fi was spotty too and the room smelled musty. The first day we debated whether to find something else, but decided it was a hassle and we'd just deal with it. But I had hoped for a nicer room. If you're a family with kids, this is probably great. It sounds like the larger rooms are nicer. If you're a couple looking for a romantic weekend, I would stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't get the studio downstairs-People who stayed in the upper rooms seemed happy with theirs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GreenValleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.0 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
944 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashore on the Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashore on the Sand

Property: Seashore on the Sand
Address: 2805 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2993
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Beachfront Hotel is located on the pristine beach of Carlsbad, California. Relax, refresh, and rejuvenate in one of our luxurious studios, one bedroom, two bedroom, and three bedroom oceanfront condo rentals.All units have full kitchens with dishwasher, microwave and refrigerator, dining rooms, living rooms with a sofa sleeper, gas fireplaces (in some units) and an array of lifestyle amenities like complimentary wireless high-speed Internet, cable TV, Flat screen TV's and DVD players.Seashore is much more than an ordinary Beachfront hotel, it's a home on the beach. Only three steps to the sand, with no streets or boardwalks to cross. You will enjoy spacious glass balconies, with unobstructed views of the sand, crashing waves and the great Pacific ocean. The perfect setting for your San Diego, California vacation getaway. Especially if you want to relax and soak in the sun while enjoying the Southern California world-famous surf. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing