We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

The front desk staff Mr. Archie went extra miles to find us two connecting rooms. He did not even charge us extra since one of the room has Jacuzzi. It turned out the motor of the Jacuzzi did not work, but it did not matter since having the connecting rooms was what we need so kids could roam between rooms. The Jacuzzi and swimming pool were very accessible to us anyway. My daughter still remembered Hyatt's pool as being the coldest pool in the world (her world anyway), and was hesitant to get in the pool. After she finally jumped in, she was so happy with the water temperature and we had a hard time getting her out.
I got the AAA deal for under $80 per room plus free breakfast. I was totally surprised when I saw the breakfast. This is definitely way better than the free continental breakfast that I have seen anywhere else. Besides the regular cereal, yogurt, toast, they also had fresh fruit, waffle, hot food (sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs) and made to order omelettes.
There were issues such as the next door neighbors partied until 2AM, but I am not sure what a hotel can do about it. We stayed close to an entrance, and the late arrivals sometimes slammde the door.
All in all, I feel I have got my money worth. If I am able to get the same deal again, I will no doubt stay in this place again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jiangchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    104
    42
    10
    6
See reviews for
123
30
14
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, CA
Level Contributor
247 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

We definitely would stay here again. We have stayed at the Sheraton Carlsbad (the one with the private entrance to Legoland) and we have stayed here. I would definitely stay here again for the money. The shuttle from the hotel took us to Legoland and picked us up- only a 5 minute wait going and the shuttle was waiting for us to take us back (after we called the hotel). The hotel was clean and a good value. The front desk clerk actually asked me my preference of rooms when I checked in..imagine that. Our 4 year old was asleep by the time we pulled up to check in so the front desk clerk was very accomodating (making sure we had a room close to parking access to get our son in the room comfortably without waking him). All the staff were very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. It was a great stay! By the way my husband played golf at The Crossings- loved it. It is about a block away from the hotel. Only recommendation is that my google directions stated to turn left onto Owens it is actually a RIGHT. The hotel also has a little trail "Bud Lewis" that is behind the pool area and leads to a little park with benches- great for a picnic if good weather.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

The hotel was clean and safe and meets all the basic requirements for business travel. There's no wi-fi (or if there was, it didn't reach to my room) and I didn't partake of the $11.95 breakfast buffet, but there was a nice bowl of apples at the front desk and a small shop to buy food items. Check-in was fast, and the staff was pleasant. All in all, a fine experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sims722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton,NJ
Level Contributor
173 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

Just stayed one night due to a water problem at my daughters' place. Room was clean and it had water. I was so tired I would have slept in a chair in the lobby. Seemed like a nice place. Can't rate the amenities as I didn't use them.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABFine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

A decent place to stay - a bit nicer than what I expected - service was good. Breakfasts had plenty of choices - quiet, nice pool

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedregosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

I highly recommend this location as the service and staff are top notch. They make you feel like family. Always looking to make sure your comfortable. The manager made sure to ask me if all was satisfactory. The staff in the restaurant was very professional and the service was excellent. KUDOS to the whole team

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabricguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.George , Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

It was just a room...nothing special. No breakfast. Nothing to write home about. It was close to the beach..maybe 10 min. close to shopping..5 mins. close to Legoland. 5 mins. It was easy to get to. All of that info is great. But the room itself was just that a room. Hot tub was ok. pool was ok. I would recommend this if you are going to legoland, the beach etc. because of it closeness. If you are looking for a weekend getaway with a girlfriend/boyfriend or romantic getaway...probably not the spot.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dazoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
2.9 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
#23 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport

Property: Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport
Address: 5835 Owens Ave, Carlsbad, CA 92008-6562 (Formerly Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#19 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Carlsbad hotel is located just 3 miles from the Pacific Ocean and Carlsbad beach, blocks from LEGOLAND® California and Carlsbad Premium Outlets, near the Carlsbad and Vista business parks 15 minutes from Camp Pendleton and close to the McClellan-Palomar Airport. When travel takes you to Carlsbad for a California hotel room, the Marriott offers all the comforts and quality you have come to expect from a Courtyard by Marriott hotel. This hotel near LEGOLAND® California offers guests easy access to the sprawling park and nearby outlet malls and more. Business travelers attending meetings and conferences in the Carlsbad area enjoy a large work desk with an ergonomic chair, high speed Internet access and relaxing atmosphere to unwind at the end of the day. Nearby area Carlsbad businesses include McClellan-Palomar Airport (CLD), United States Marine Camp Pendleton Marine Base, Cal State San Marcos, Callaway Golf, Invitrogen, Western Flight and many more Carlsbad and Vista Business Park companies. Both leisure and business travelers will appreciate the warm welcome by our friendly north San Diego hotel staff as you join us in Carlsbad, California at our Marriott hotel.Attractions Near Our Carlsbad CA Marriott hotel Include:• Carlsbad Beaches• Carlsbad Premium Outlets• Carlsbad Village• Del Mar Race Track• Del Mar Fairgrounds• Flower Fields at Carlsbad Ranch• LEGOLAND® California Theme Park• LEGOLAND® California Waterpark• Leo Carrillo Ranch Historic Park• Museum of Making Music• Safari Park Other points of interest to our north San Diego Carlsbad area hotel include all the attractions of San Diego such as Sea World California, the San Diego Zoo, Downtown San Diego, Old Town and much more. Other nearby points of interest include the Sealife Aquarium, Gemological Institute of America, San Clemente and much more. The courteous friendly staff of the Courtyard by Marriott® Carlsbad Hotel guarantees your stay with us will exceed your expectations! Amenities of the Courtyard by Marriott Carlsbad Hotel include: • Ample & Complimentary Parking• Business Center with Media Pods• New Redesigned Courtyard Lobby• GoBoard Technology Center®• Boarding Pass Station• Carlsbad Area Meeting Rooms (1,200 square feet)• High Speed Internet Access (Complimentary)• Indoor Fitness Center• Outdoor Heated Pool & Deck Area• Luxury Marriott Bedding and Pillows• The Bistro featuring Starbucks Coffee (open breakfast and dinner)• Whirlpool Suites Available• The Market 24-Hour Café ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Courtyard Carlsbad
Carlsbad Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing