We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
187 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly staff”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Everything you would expect from a Marriott. Pool and hot tub were relaxing. Lots of outdoor seating in sun and shade. Hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. Nothing within walking distance, but lots nearby.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LHPUSAviaOki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
LHPUSAviaOki,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that we met your expectations and that you were able to enjoy our great Carlsbad weather! Our outdoor seating definitely provides some great options to relax and recharge. It is true that most restaurants and shopping are just a short drive, but that also contributes to our tranquil environment. Thank you for pointing that out!

Most of all, thank you for the kind words about our staff. They truly are very friendly and we appreciate you pointing that out.

Safe travels!

Respectfully,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    106
    45
    11
    6
See reviews for
126
30
14
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Love the location of this hotel, very quiet and professional. Nice clean lobby, excellent rooms. Extremely friendly and professional customer service. My experience was phenomenal!

Oh and the free cookies.. (:

Definitely recommend staying at this fine establishment to anyone out there.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cody G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Cody G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay!I am pleased that you enjoyed the location, lobby, and rooms. The cookies are delicious treats. We are glad that you liked them!

Most of all, thank you for pointing out the friendly and professional service. Having a phenomenal experience and recommending us to others is a great compliment. I will definitely share your comments with our staff. Thank you for that!

Safe Travels,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Courtyard overnight when visiting Carlsbad for a job interview. On the outside, the hotel is very well-kept. Clean & bright. The lobby was spotless & inviting as well. I was greeted with a cookie & prompt & fast service (always appreciated after being on a plane for 3 hours & jet-lagged by 2 hours!) I was even given a coupon for a free breakfast from the "Bistro" located on the other side of the lobby. They have a BEAUTIFUL sitting area with a fireplace, large screen television & Satellite TV. Oh yeah....this is still in the LOBBY. My room was very clean overall & I was lucky enough to have a balcony room with a view & since it's Carlsbad, the sunset was gorgeous. Back to the room. If I HAD to nitpick, there was hair on my shower wall, my toilet seat & a long hair on my coffee table in the sitting area. I would advise making sure there wasn't any hair in the room, as it can make the guest wary of anymore hairs lurking in the room. But again....for me, it wasn't a deal-breaker. Also, I had to go back to the lobby & ask for menus for local food spots & the bistro. At the very least, I would suggest menus to the in-house restaurant available upon check-in. I will definitely recommend the Courtyard to my friends & family & I look forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room on a higher floor so you can see over the trees & soak in some sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
David D,

Thank you for the review. I hope the job interview went well and we will be seeing you back again soon for orientation! It is great that you found the hotel in great condition and we were prompt in getting you checked in with a fresh cookie! The balcony rooms definitely are a nice plus with our near perfect San Diego weather. They lobby is a great place to hang out with the Bistro, TVs, and fireplace.

Thank you for the feedback on housekeeping and the menus. We will definitely share this with our staff and make necessary adjustments.

Thank you for your recommendations to friends and family. It is one thing for you to enjoy your stay and another to share your experience with others. That is awesome!

Safe travels,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Flew in from Chicago and checked into the Courtyard. The next day, drive to a meeting when the Poinsettia Fire hits. Called the front desk and spoke to Crawford, who assured me not to worry - my belongings would be secure should the hotel was evacuated.

When the fire got too close, sure enough, the hotel staff packed me up and drove my possessions to a neighboring hotel. MacBook, iPad, checkbook, receipts - everything was accounted for... even my dress socks! Fantastic job by the Courtyard to take care of a customer during a strenuous situation.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Rafal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recognizing the Top Notch Customer Service exemplified by our team during the Poinsettia Fires. It is hard to find words to express how proud I am of our staff, like Crawford, for stepping up during this event. We pride ourselves in hospitality and during unique situations I am glad that our service stands out. I will definitely rely your message on to the team.

We look forward to your next stay in Carlsbad.

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I frequently travel for business and will typically stay at a Marriott property. Courtyards by Marriott are not typically in my top 3 within the Marriott organization (for a variety of reasons). This one caught me by surprise, though. The property was in very good shape, the employees were knowledgeable and polite and the rooms were clean. This has the be, by far, the best Courtyard I've ever stayed at. Reasonable prices, too!

Room Tip: Park near the closest exit to your room (there are several, all motel key operated).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
As a senior contributor I can tell you have a unique eye for detail. I am pleased you found our Courtyard in Carlsbad to be a pleasant surprise. Our team prides ourselves in providing exceptional customer service and we appreciate your recognition as the best by far. If you are planning to visit SeaWorld or Legoland our property is a convenient location for both and many other fine Southern California attractions. We look forward to your next stay in Carlsbad!

Thanks again!

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad. The hotel smells new and clean and the front desk staff are exceptionally nice and friendly. Very close to Legoland, if that is your thing, but pretty close to most things in North San Diego County, including the beach, shopping, restaurants and sightseeing. The rooms are nicely appointed; perhaps the only negative would be there is just on small countertop and sink, so if there is more than one person it's a pretty small area. The outdoor pool is nice and we saw plenty of people using the fitness equipment.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank laurenjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff W, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear laurenjo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I too enjoy the modern look of the Courtyard properties. As you mentioned we are close to Legoland, but Carlsbad has much more to offer than Legoland. i love to hear our guests compliment our staff, you guys are the reason we're here and we pride ourselves on our hospitality.

We hope the next time you are visiting Carlsbad you will come back and stay with us again.

Cheers,

Geoff Waddell
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I hadn't stayed at a courtyard before, but had assumed it to be a 3* lower end hotel. This was was very recently renovated, really nice, people were nice, rooms were nice and clean and relatively large, and price was good - great deal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff W, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear kcharlotte,

I am glad you were pleasantly surprised. I really like the Courtyard brand too. Marriott tries to have a brand for every traveler, and it sounds like you may have found yours. As a senior reviewer I'm sure you have an eye for detail, and you are correct we were recently renovated.

Next time you're heading down from LA please come visit us again.

Thank you,
Geoff Waddell
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
#24 of 36 in Carlsbad
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport

Property: Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport
Address: 5835 Owens Ave, Carlsbad, CA 92008-6562 (Formerly Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#19 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Carlsbad hotel is located just 3 miles from the Pacific Ocean and Carlsbad beach, blocks from LEGOLAND® California and Carlsbad Premium Outlets, near the Carlsbad and Vista business parks 15 minutes from Camp Pendleton and close to the McClellan-Palomar Airport. When travel takes you to Carlsbad for a California hotel room, the Marriott offers all the comforts and quality you have come to expect from a Courtyard by Marriott hotel. This hotel near LEGOLAND® California offers guests easy access to the sprawling park and nearby outlet malls and more. Business travelers attending meetings and conferences in the Carlsbad area enjoy a large work desk with an ergonomic chair, high speed Internet access and relaxing atmosphere to unwind at the end of the day. Nearby area Carlsbad businesses include McClellan-Palomar Airport (CLD), United States Marine Camp Pendleton Marine Base, Cal State San Marcos, Callaway Golf, Invitrogen, Western Flight and many more Carlsbad and Vista Business Park companies. Both leisure and business travelers will appreciate the warm welcome by our friendly north San Diego hotel staff as you join us in Carlsbad, California at our Marriott hotel.Attractions Near Our Carlsbad CA Marriott hotel Include:• Carlsbad Beaches• Carlsbad Premium Outlets• Carlsbad Village• Del Mar Race Track• Del Mar Fairgrounds• Flower Fields at Carlsbad Ranch• LEGOLAND® California Theme Park• LEGOLAND® California Waterpark• Leo Carrillo Ranch Historic Park• Museum of Making Music• Safari Park Other points of interest to our north San Diego Carlsbad area hotel include all the attractions of San Diego such as Sea World California, the San Diego Zoo, Downtown San Diego, Old Town and much more. Other nearby points of interest include the Sealife Aquarium, Gemological Institute of America, San Clemente and much more. The courteous friendly staff of the Courtyard by Marriott® Carlsbad Hotel guarantees your stay with us will exceed your expectations! Amenities of the Courtyard by Marriott Carlsbad Hotel include: • Ample & Complimentary Parking• Business Center with Media Pods• New Redesigned Courtyard Lobby• GoBoard Technology Center®• Boarding Pass Station• Carlsbad Area Meeting Rooms (1,200 square feet)• High Speed Internet Access (Complimentary)• Indoor Fitness Center• Outdoor Heated Pool & Deck Area• Luxury Marriott Bedding and Pillows• The Bistro featuring Starbucks Coffee (open breakfast and dinner)• Whirlpool Suites Available• The Market 24-Hour Café ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Courtyard Carlsbad
Carlsbad Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing