We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time at the Carslbad Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good time at the Carslbad Courtyard”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great place to stay in San Diego's North County. Easy access to all locations. Tucked away a little but the hotel is quiet, clean and the staff is excellent. They really do a good job to make your stay a pleasant and enjoyable one. Free shuttle to LEGOLAND doesn't hurt either.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have great sun exposure with outdoor balcony to enjoy coffee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tnoel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Tnoel2014,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us near LegoLand. Indeed our tucked away location isn't right in the middle of everything but that makes for some quiet enjoyment. Thank you for mentioning our staff. We know that hotels are similar these days. What sets us apart is our people and we appreciate the recognition.

We hope to see you on your next trip to LegoLand and our famous Carlsbad beaches!

Safe Travels,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    108
    47
    12
    6
See reviews for
130
31
14
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed here because I needed a break from my stressful life. It was comfortable, quiet, and perfect for what I needed. The customer service was excellent. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating, especially in the cafe. I would absolutely recommend my friends and family stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Heather N,

Thank you for the great review. It is great to hear that you were able to find a place to get away for a short time and relax with us! I am thrilled to hear that the service was excellent and accommodating. This is the level we expect of ourselves and it is great to hear that we delivered that for you. Thank you for specifically recognizing our Bistro staff. I will definitely share your comments with them.

Thank you for the recommendations to your family and friends. We value those referrals and look forward to serving them (and you) in the future.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I recently stayed here two nights on business. The hotel's attempt to be a boutique hotel simply did not work. The hotel room was laid out strangely. This is ilterally the first hotel room I have ever been in in which the foot of the bed faces the balcony. This meant that the TV was on the left of the bed, at an angle which made viewing difficult. Someone had attempted to angle the TV so that you could watch it, but it was just a bad setup and the room poorly laid out. The bathroom was large and had a separate sink area, however the bright red wallpaper in the bathroom was a bit much. The hot/cold control in my shower only went so far, meaning I had a lukewarm shower both days - not a good way to start off the day. The Bistro in the hotel serves meals throughout the day. I attempted to order breakfast one day, and after ordering toast and fruit, had to wait 15 minutes for the food. My colleagues were lined up halfway through the lobby waiting to order. The system in place did not seem efficient. We had a large group from my company staying here, and all agreed that we would not want to stay at this hotel again. There are other nearby hotels which offer a more comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCTE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
BCTE4,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide candid comments about your stay. We continually evolve your guest room designs to meet the changing needs of our travelers. We will definitely share your comments with our design team for future consideration. Our Bistro offers great, fresh options and is generally very efficient. That said, there are peak demand times like any food service operation and we should be able to adapt to that. I have shared your comments with our Bistro manager and our entire team to ensure we are doing all that we can to serve you well.

I have sent you a message as well as I would appreciate more information about your stay so I can specifically address the dates in question. We would love the opportunity to show you our signature Marriott service in the future.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I travel regularly to Carlsbad on business and have tried several hotels in this price category in the area. This Courtyard now is my first choice. It has been consistently reliable in comfort and convenience. The rooms are quiet. The staff has been exceptional. I recommend this Courtyard without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pyrenees1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
pyrenees1,

Thank you for the great review. We are so pleased that we are your first choice when travelling to Carlsbad on business. It is really great that we were able to earn your business after trying different hotels in the area. We aim to provide that consistent comfort, convenience, and quiet but most of all, we are pleased that the staff has been exceptional. They truly are our difference makers. Thank you for recommending our Courtyard.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Although it was nice looking, the room was very small and the TV was situated inconveniently if you wanted to watch from the bed. The small sofa was not comfortable.... And, this hotel is waging chemical warfare on their guests. Each night when we came back we were greeted by a strong chemical smell in our room. It was only slightly better after we asked them to stop cleaning our room at all! My eyes were blood shot after a few minutes. We never want to experience anything like this again. We moved to another hotel and had more room and no chemical burn.

Room Tip: Avoid this place, but if you must stay here, at least stay on the 1st floor where some of the smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleSuperS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
SeattleSuperS,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay. I am concerned that we did not meet your expectations. While we do use an air freshener in daily cleaning, the goal is to provide a fresh scent and not overpowering. We have shared your review with our staff and reviewed procedures to insure top quality rooms to Marriott standards.

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further and gather more information such as dates of stay and room number. Please message me through TripAdvisor or call me at the number below. Thank you.

Safe travels,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
760-331-0111 (direct)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugus, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I am a loyal Marriott customer and have attained Platinum Elite Plus status. I have been travelling for over 30 years and have always stayed at a Marriott property. I stayed at this property last week. I encountered some issues and alerted Jeff (asst G.M.) the same day but got no response. I called again two days later still no response. I then decided to call and ask for Trent the G. M. the next day....no response. Called again twice this week and you guessed it..no returned calls.
This behavior is so unlike Marriott and the brand that I have enjoyed all these years. I am very disappointed with the lead managment team and will steer my business elsewhere when I am travelling for business or pleasure in the Carlsbad area.
Too bad.
Allen

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Allen M,

Thank you for providing feedback. I apologize for the breakdown that caused us to not receive your messages. I understand that Geoff connected with you yesterday and the issues have been addressed.

We realize that you are a loyal guest and value that loyalty. From many previous reviews, hopefully you can see that we normally not only meet expectations but often exceed them. I generally respond to all guests within a few hours. Even 24 hours is unusual so this is certainly embarrassing.

I trust that Geoff has taken great care of you but please feel free to call me any time if I can be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
760-331-0111 (direct)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was a good hotel. Very clean. Good room. Seems as if it's been recently remodeled. The staff were all VERY friendly, and definitely geared towards customer service. Seems a little pricey for a hotel so far from San Diego, but I guess that's due to their being so near to LEGO Land. However, for my stay it was certainly worth the money, and the food is comparable to what one might get at any of the local chain restaurants.

Again, GREAT staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bainst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
bainst,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you found our newly remodeled hotel clean and comfortable. Pricing is based on many factors including being close to Legoland and other attractions in Carlsbad but I am pleased that you still found our value to be 4 of 5 stars and worth the money spent.

Most of all, thank you for recognizing our service. We are indeed geared toward service and pride ourselves in execution of that goal. We will definitely share your comments with the staff.

Our great staff looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
#22 of 36 in Carlsbad
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport

Property: Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport
Address: 5835 Owens Ave, Carlsbad, CA 92008-6562 (Formerly Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#19 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Carlsbad hotel is located just 3 miles from the Pacific Ocean and Carlsbad beach, blocks from LEGOLAND® California and Carlsbad Premium Outlets, near the Carlsbad and Vista business parks 15 minutes from Camp Pendleton and close to the McClellan-Palomar Airport. When travel takes you to Carlsbad for a California hotel room, the Marriott offers all the comforts and quality you have come to expect from a Courtyard by Marriott hotel. This hotel near LEGOLAND® California offers guests easy access to the sprawling park and nearby outlet malls and more. Business travelers attending meetings and conferences in the Carlsbad area enjoy a large work desk with an ergonomic chair, high speed Internet access and relaxing atmosphere to unwind at the end of the day. Nearby area Carlsbad businesses include McClellan-Palomar Airport (CLD), United States Marine Camp Pendleton Marine Base, Cal State San Marcos, Callaway Golf, Invitrogen, Western Flight and many more Carlsbad and Vista Business Park companies. Both leisure and business travelers will appreciate the warm welcome by our friendly north San Diego hotel staff as you join us in Carlsbad, California at our Marriott hotel.Attractions Near Our Carlsbad CA Marriott hotel Include:• Carlsbad Beaches• Carlsbad Premium Outlets• Carlsbad Village• Del Mar Race Track• Del Mar Fairgrounds• Flower Fields at Carlsbad Ranch• LEGOLAND® California Theme Park• LEGOLAND® California Waterpark• Leo Carrillo Ranch Historic Park• Museum of Making Music• Safari Park Other points of interest to our north San Diego Carlsbad area hotel include all the attractions of San Diego such as Sea World California, the San Diego Zoo, Downtown San Diego, Old Town and much more. Other nearby points of interest include the Sealife Aquarium, Gemological Institute of America, San Clemente and much more. The courteous friendly staff of the Courtyard by Marriott® Carlsbad Hotel guarantees your stay with us will exceed your expectations! Amenities of the Courtyard by Marriott Carlsbad Hotel include: • Ample & Complimentary Parking• Business Center with Media Pods• New Redesigned Courtyard Lobby• GoBoard Technology Center®• Boarding Pass Station• Carlsbad Area Meeting Rooms (1,200 square feet)• High Speed Internet Access (Complimentary)• Indoor Fitness Center• Outdoor Heated Pool & Deck Area• Luxury Marriott Bedding and Pillows• The Bistro featuring Starbucks Coffee (open breakfast and dinner)• Whirlpool Suites Available• The Market 24-Hour Café ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Courtyard Carlsbad
Carlsbad Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing