We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed April 29, 2012

LaQuinta Carlsbad; nothing special, but for the price, wholly adequate. Coffee leaves a lot of room for improvement, no real cream (only fake). Room was clean, mattress comfortable, bedding was adequate. Not the Hilton, but for $80 this is a decent value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sberhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

525 - 531 of 646 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

I have stayed in quite a number of these types of properties, and this was one of the worst. The property is old and the updating was poorly and cheaply done. There was obvious wear on the furniture and stains on the chairs. The bathroom was poorly done with the light cover missing and an obnoxious florescent bulb poking out. The bathroom fan was very loud and there was no option to turn it off. Paper thin wall s and noisy guests. Pool is tiny and is oddly situated in the front next to the parking lot. We stayed for two nights to go to legoland. The price was ok, but there are many other hotel/motels in this area for the same if not better price and i wish I had gone with one of those. Staff was friendly and the Breakfast bar was ok so that's why two stars. If your looking for cheap with no frills you might be ok otherwise don't bother.

Room Tip: Oh yeah its right on the freeway so request a room towards the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Husband's employer booked this hotel and it turned out better than expected. The room was a nice size with enough drawer space so we could unpack. The towels were thicker than I have experienced lately and enough for having a separate towel for drying hair. Complaint about the room was the shower was designed for short people. Also the room was made up at different time every day so I never knew when it was safe to be in the room to make phone calls.

We were on the second floor and there was no sound proofing between the ceiling and floor so were disturbed by the person above us getting up at 4.20 every morning.

This is the cleanest waffle area I have seen in a hotel. I have often wondered why hotels have the waffle machines as even at non-busy times they are messy, sticky etc.

Room Tip: Choose top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friendly_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I could not possibly be happier with our stay at La Quinta Inn San Diego Carlsbad! The staff was incredibly helpful, even considering we had a delayed flight and arrived in the wee hours of the morning. I received nothing but a friendly voice on the other end of the line when I had to call the hotel three times to change plans due to the delay. They even provided some toiletries when my luggage was lost! The staff was what sold me on this place - they are incredible!

The rooms were very accomodating, comfortable and kept spotless. We loved having the coffee maker, refrigerator and microwave in our room (very helpful for leftovers). We didn't use the pool or hot tub but the water felt warm and we sat by the pool one morning for breakfast. In addition, you can't beat the location - five minutes from Legoland, two minutes from the beach, three minutes from The Crossings golf course where a wedding we were in town for was held, and minutes from any kind of food you are craving.

The only problem we had was that the room keys deactivated if they touched a cell phone or credit card (which it is bound to do in a pocket or purse) but the staff was very friendly and helpful in reactivating. My boyfriend got frustrated around the seventh time I accidentally put it in the wrong pocket (oopsies!) and ultimately it was my own fault, but it might be worth the investment to get a system that works around cell phones.

It may have just been the spring break rush, but I would advise to get to breakfast early (around 8am). The first two mornings we woke up early and had a delicious and peaceful breakfast. We decided to sleep in on the third morning and encountered a packed breakfast room, complete with screaming children, spilled waffle mix, and out-of-stock items. The staff was doing their best to keep up but there was just too many people trying to eat at once. By 10 am (ironically the same time Legoland opens) the breakfast room was cleared out and calm again.

Overall, no complaints with La Quinta and I can guarantee it will be my hotel of choice when we return to Carlsbad!

Room Tip: We were on the west side of the hotel and did not have a problem with the noise but heard from famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Busy, Busy breakfast with all the families going to the park. Thank you to the housekeeping staff for noticing I needed the shower rod fixed. I came back from a busy day at work and the rod had been fixed. Well lets be honest, it isn't the courtyard but when the company requires LaQuinta it could be worse. I heard the EconoLodge is horrible, thanks boss.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johns T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

great for those going to Legoland! Everyone was very friendly which is hard to find at times in this type of property. Breakfast was good but not well attended during the spring break rush. Ran out of items we were looking forward to. All in all a good stay

Room Tip: If you need quiet to sleep this may not be your best choice as it is right on the freeway and you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Room was spotless, breakfast was plentiful and delicious, We really enjoyed our stay. The advice about staying on the upper floor on the west end was so helpful. The noise was negligible. Ideal location just off the interstate and it was a great value. We stayed 1 week and felt very comfortable there. The staff greeted us each morning with a pleasant smile. Located 1/2 block from the Coaster. Took us into Old Town San Diego in less than 45 minutes. Great Location.

Room Tip: Definitely as for the "quieter" side of the hotel which is the West end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briteyez526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
1.2 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#27 of 36 in Carlsbad
363 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad

Address: 760 Macadamia Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#22 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $94 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
La Quinta Hotel Carlsbad
La Quinta Carlsbad
Carlsbad La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing