We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$222
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ocean Palms Beach Resort(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$150
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)
$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$176
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$249
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
LEGOLAND California Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$399
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Terrace Inn(Carlsbad)
$579
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,127)
Filter reviews
2,127 results
Traveler rating
1,631
319
104
45
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,631
319
104
45
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour seasonsgolf coursecalifornia bistrolobby loungetranquility poolbatiquitos lagoonadult poolfamily poolturn down servicebeautiful hotelvideo gamespool stafftennis courtsplay golfair hockeybreakfast buffet isrooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
1,850 - 1,855 of 2,127 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Perhaps I have lived a charmed life, but the insolent and incompetent service at last night's Christmas dinner at Vivace in the Aviara resort was our worst in memory. Don't get me wrong the food was delicious, but the service made the experience very unpleasant. Let me count the ways. First, the server Emily was dismissive of only spending $75 for a bottle of wine and the bus boy refused to bring olive oil to the table telling us to "get to like" the drippy ricotta based sauce for the outstanding bread. The first course of the 4 course fixed price menu arrived promptly, but, after and hour and 15 minutes of being completely ignored by the wait staff, Emily returned to the table to ask if we had received the second. No, we had not. Blaming the kitchen staff, Emily said she would get right on it. The final 3 courses then arrived one right after the other, with no time in between. At the end of the evening, after we questioned the $14 dollar charge for 2 bottles of water we had not ordered, Emily launched into a nearly incoherent diatribe. The manager, who was charming, salvaged the evening by apologizing for her behavior and taking $57 off the cost of the $450 dinner for 3. We left an $80 tip to show that it was not the money, but the terrible service. The bottom line: Vivace's food deserves its 4 diamond rating, but the resort needs to find and train better staff.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HiltonHeadrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

What a memorable stay at this luxury hotel. This is one of the most elegant hotels we have ever stayed in. The Christmas decorations made it even more magical. The service is what I would expect from a 5 star hotel, from the restaurants and spa to the golf course. The restaurant staff could not have been more friendly or accommodating. I would highly recommend this hotel to families and couples.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy1655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

My husband and I have been going to the Four Seasons Aviara for twelve years. This was our first trip since the takeover and it was a major disappointment. We went to the Argyle Steakhouse for our first night. This has always been our favourite, but it was mediocre at best. The following night we went to the lounge at the hotel, and it was beyond sad! There were 6 people in the lounge, there was no music, and there was only one Christmas tree in the lobby. We are residence club owners, but were shocked to learn that for the people staying in the hotel, there was only one restaurant open on that Sunday night, and it was off the grounds. You had to take a shuttle to the Argyle Steakhouse at the golf club. There was also a limited menu available at the lounge. What has happened here? This is not a luxury hotel! How can your restaurants be closed? If you have never been here before, you may like it. If you are Four Seasons people- it is time to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank abdott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2010

We apologize for any dissatisfaction, as this is not representative of how we strive to maintain our AAA five-diamond status. Park Hyatt Aviara is continuing many of the past holiday traditions, such as the 11 beautifully decorated Christmas trees throughout the hotel lobby that create the annual Festival of Trees, with proceeds going to the worthy Semper Fi Injured Marine Fund. It’s a stunning site that is enjoyed by guests year after year, throughout the month of December. The resort’s Gingerbread Mountain is back, delighting our younger guests, while the roasted chestnuts and hot apple cider keep the young-at-heart warm. We continue to provide live entertainment in the Lobby Lounge Wednesday through Saturday and engaging background music the remainder of the week. Since the Four Seasons Residence Club does not offer dinner options, the resort’s concierge is happy to offer dining ideas at either the resort or nearby restaurants.

When Park Hyatt acquired the resort in June, the California Bistro was closed for dinner six nights a week, however it is our desire to re-open the California Bistro, therefore, creating multiple dinner choices throughout the week. On Fridays and Saturdays, however, we have four great choices for dinner: a tapa-style menu in the Lobby Lounge; upscale Italian cuisine in Vivace restaurant; the very popular seafood buffet in California Bistro, and hearty, mouthwatering choices at The Argyle Steakhouse. A guest has three choices for dinner on the other nights of the week, providing ample dining opportunities.

While, Park Hyatt continues to transition into it’s new home, we welcome comments and suggestions as to how we’re doing and if we’re living up to your expectations. Our goal is to create a guest’s total satisfaction, while maintaining impeccable service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We just got married and had our reception at the Park Hyatt Aviara and it was truly our dream wedding. The hotel and surrounding grounds are just breath taking. We felt like we were on vacation in a resort the moment we stepped foot into the grand entrance in the lobby. We had a 200 person wedding on site. The hotel employees were incredibly accomodating and kind to us and all of our guests during our stay. The ballrooms where we held our ceremony (due to a last minute weather change) and reception were stunning. The decor, house tables, chairs, linens, silver and glassware were all beautiful and in excellent condition. The food and drinks were delicious. It was wonderful having most of our guests stay at the hotel during our wedding weekend becuase we were able to spend so much time with them this way. There are so many activities to do at the Park Hyatt Aviara from swimming in the beautiful pools, golfing, surf lessons, tennis, an amazing spa or just relaxing in one of their beautiful bars with a cocktail or enjoying a fantastic meal in one of the restaurants. There are so many choices for restaurants and activities that our guests were able to spend days there without ever having to leave the property. We highly recommned staying at this hotel any chance you get!

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank kcurtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2010

First off, congratulations! Secondly, thank you for the gracious comments! We are so happy we could make all your dreams come true for this special occasion. We are truly touched that you not only mentioned the beautiful surroundings, amenities, activities, restaurants, but that you acknowledged the one thing that makes us proud, and that’s our staff. We continue to maintain our AAA five-diamond status largely in part because of our exemplary staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We spent 3 nights here after 6 nights in downtown San Diego. My husband and I travelled with our 2.75 year old son. The staff was amazingly friendly and effective. We have stayed at a number of excellent properties around the world and this was some of the best service I've seen. The proximity to Legoland was great for our family as was the fact they opened the pool in subpar weather.

Fabulous - would highly recommend

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAN0N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews