We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Danville, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed January 29, 2006

Beautiful hotel, grounds, rooms. Impeccable service. Nice views from third floor and up. Great for business meetings, great restaurants. Only complaint, we were on the first floor near the pool and didn't have a view but couldn't change because the hotel was full.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mjc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,434
    293
    96
    44
    25
See reviews for
580
521
35
522
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2006

Once again, the Four Seasons delivered. The accommodations, grounds and exceptional service were all top notch. This resort is located on a hilltop overlooking a beautiful golfcourse and a lagoon which has been restored to a wildlife habitat. The gounds are loaded with wonderful art and landscaping. The lobby and rooms are understated and elegant. Our room was on a corner with a balcony affording fabulous views. The area was not as remote as I expected from the literature. The resort is actually in a more urban setting in a residential neighborhood with several major thoroughfares within view from the room. There are plenty of places to visit in the immediate area, including La Jolla, San Diego, Del Mar, Oceanside, the desert, and more. The Quail Botanical Gardens in Carlsbad are a must for lovely trails filled with plants and trees. The only surpise we had was the enormous number of families with small children. This was actually undertandable with the proximity to Legoland and the Wild Animal Park and the fact it was a holiday, but I was still surprised and it may not have been the best choice to celebrate an anniversary. It was virtually impossible to enjoy a quiet drink in the bar when so many children were actually eating dinner in the bar. And the fine restaurant was a lot more family oriented and casual than anticipated. It was not the best venue for an anniversary dinner. Add to that that they seated us at a sofa at a table in the dead center of the room, and they knew this was an anniversary dinner. We thought that was an odd choice, but I am sure they would have moved us had we asked. There are plenty of highly rated restaurants in the vicinity, so dining off property is an option. Overall, this is an outstanding resort, and a lovely area to visit.

Helpful?
11 Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 10, 2006

When I stayed at the Aviara I thought I was in a palace. The pools were great and everything was so grand. The rooms were very large and cozy, with lots of amenities. For the activities, at the bottom of the hill kids can play at a playground and adults can play golf. I thought that this hotel was a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 5, 2006

Beware of credit card fraud at FS aviara - actually not as serious as to be called fraud. But it may develop to a fraud if it goes further out of bound. For a reputable hotel, it should be strict in their use of customer's credit card.

It happened on Dec 31 2005 which is two days after I checked out. They secured $1,600 on 31st in addition to ~$2000 on 27th. So they secured ~$7000 including the amount I paid on 29th (~$3300). The $2000 should have been cancelled when I checked out having paid $3300, but FS didn't. I contacted FS aviara twice by e-mail (Jan 4 2006) but no response yet (Jan 6 2006). The ~$3600 is not, and will not be, paid, but my card is disabled temporarily because my credit limit of ~$10k was exceeded.

It may happen to you in another form, and it is ok if it is a pure mistake and if FS tries to solve it fast once it happens. FS do not seem to.

I expected at aviara the same grade of food I experienced a year ago at FS Newport beach (now extinct). The Aviara FS needs a new food and beverage manager. In any circumstances, decent dishes shouldn't be salty as served both in vivace and in cal bistro of FS aviara. Not a good experience.

The rooms are just fine, not gorgeous, but dark facing northwest.

The location of the hotel isn't great. Neither convenient and cute little town nor a great scenic area. You have to drive for miles to get anywhere.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2006

The residence club villas are about as good as it gets. Large, roomy, and incredible service. The pools, tennis courts and other facilities are five star. For people from Texas, the weather in August is amazing. No mosquitoes, no bugs, temperatures that compare to the south Texas climate in late fall and early spring. Great family activities and many close by activities.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LSUForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2005

My family of four(2 adults, 1 three year old and a 6 month old) just returned from a four day visit to the Four Seasons Aviara over the Christmas Holiday and we were deeply impressed as our stay was perfect in all respects. Upon arrival, our luggage was wisked away and within minutes we were checked into our room. We reserved an executive suite which was very large--about about 850 sq. feet--and contained a living room, a bedroom, a huge bathroom and a second guest bathroom (which was great when travelling with small children). The furniture was in good condition and was comfortable. The hotel is very child friendly (which was good since there were tons of children there over the holidays). Upon arriving in the room, cookies and milk were waiting for our children, the room was babyproofed, there was a crib with complementary amenity kit for the baby, a diaper genie, a pull-out sofa for our todler, their names spelled out in sponges in the bath and child-size robes for them as well. In addition, we had requeted a microwave and a refridgerator and both were sitting in the room and ready to go. The common areas of the hotel are very nice and the hotel did a nice job decoratoring for the holidays with christmas trees and other decorations--it was not over the top which was appreciated (they also left a small bag of goodies on each door on Christmas morning which was a nice touch). One of the nicest aspects of the hotel design is that the guest rooms are in a separate wing so there is no need to trapse through the lobby to head to the pool. The restaurants are very good as well. The California Bistro is casual and offers a very nice breakfast buffet. We also had Christmas Eve dinner and the Christmas buffet there as well. At each meal, they offered crayons, paper, children's cups, a child menu and a child-size buffet. My 3 year old loved being able to pick out his own pankcakes and fruit each morning. One evening my wife and I reserved a babysitter (who was from and outside service and was excellent) and had dinner at the hotel's signature restuarnt--Vivace. The room is beautiful and the food (Italian) and service was top notch. The hotel offers a kids program which we were able to take partial advantage of this while the baby napped (since our toddler is not old enough, one of us need to be there with him). The pool is a nice size (not huge and so it could become crowded during the summer) but the weather was a little too chilly to spend much time in the water. The hotel is perfectly located if Legoland is your primary destination. Legoland is no more than 10 minutes away. If your primary purpose for visiting the area is to go to the Zoo and the Sea World, you are about 35-45 minutes away (traffic back up through La Jolla on the way home can be very slow and on our first night it took us about 1 1/4 hours to get from the airport to the hotel (admittedly, it was the Thursday before Christmas and so a lot of people were heading our of town). Overall, I felt our stay at the FS Aviara was flawless. Service was, as usual for a FS, impeccable. The housekeeping was excellent and efficient, the valets were timely and quick to offer directions or a cold bottle of water and the restaurant staff could not have been more friendly to us and our children. Yes it is expensive but I felt we actually recevied a tremendous amout of value in exchange and, accordingly, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone thinking about staying in the area--especially if traveling with children.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Bowdoin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2005

We very much enjoyed a week with family at Aviara. The Residence villa was extremely spacious and luxourius. It was cleaned every day and we had lovely views over the golf course and a small lake. The pool was lovely and the waiters very attentive and offering free sample refreshments throughout the day. I'm glad I wasn't staying in the hotel on the hill which had many more guests around the pool and using the facilities. The Residence club really allowed us to get away from it. The Meadows is definately nice than the Summits, the pool area is much nicer, though I'm sure the apartments are the same.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Intrepidgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.3 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
5.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,323 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Property: Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4908
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing