We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at this resort for a quick overnight, although I wish it had been longer! Don't think I have ever stayed at a hotel this nice. The amenities were wonderful, grounds vast and spacious, room clean and open. Free croquet, running trail maps around the grounds. Tennis courts cost a fee but worth it. The views from everywhere on the property were gorgeous. Separated family/adult pool areas as well. Valet is the only option for parking, but the staff was very accommodating. Will definitely recommend this place and hope to return one day!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay, Megan. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our rooms, tennis facilities, pools, and valet staff. It would be an absolute pleasure to have you back, so please let us know when we can be of any assistance with future travel arrangements. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,454 - 1,460 of 2,020 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Park Hyatt resort (formally a Four Seasons) is located in Carlsbad CA. approx. 30 miles north of Sandiego.
It is convenienlly situated near a number of beaches. Located near Rt 5, this offers easy access to a number of other attractions including Del Mar Racing. Adjacent to a plush wooded reserve, a number of walking and jogging paths and a prestine golf course were available. A number of varied dining options are available at the resort. In room expresso and chocolate samples was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Before booking, check American Express and AAA to mitigate costs at this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Your thoughtful review is much appreciated, Terry. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and many of our resort’s amenities. Please don’t hesitate to contact us if we can be of any future assistance. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a great hotel; good service, great location. The hotel has all the amenities with a pool, golf, tennis and a gorgeous gym and spa. There are lots of things to do in the Carlsbad. There is a nice downtown area as well as the Carlsbad outlet mall. The beach is close and the hotel will take you to and from the beach. I highly recommend it for even one night.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for one that isn't over the pool, otherwise they're all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SherryReckas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

It was great having you, Sherry! Thank you for your recommendation. It sounds like you had the chance to enjoy Carlsbad’s luxury shopping and many other attractions. We are happy that we had the opportunity to be a part of this experience, and we will certainly share your kind comments with the team. Feel free to contact us if we can be of any future assistance. We would love to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great Hotel !!!!!. This is some of the best service I have ever had at any hotel in any country. Everyone had a smile. I was greeted by name all over the resort ( when does this ever happen ? ). I had the privilege to be a guest on vacation for the week with my wife and daughter. Food was amazing ( a breakfast buffet that would make a cruise ship dinning look small ) Rooms were very nice. Property is beautiful and very clean, quiet . You can get to all of San Diego and La Jolla in under 30 Minutes. Try Vivace restaurant it was amazing. Do the tasting menu. I will be back to this resort

Room Tip: Get a room with a view ( you can always look at a swimming pool )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveler21nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

We are excited to welcome you back! Thank you for your kind review. It sounds like you had an amazing getaway with your wife and your daughter, and we are thrilled that we had the opportunity to be a part of your experience. Your compliments about our staff and Vivace will also certainly be shared with the team. When you are planning your next visit, please let us know. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed recently for a work retreat. Beautiful resort. Room was spacious and well decorated. Slept well, comfortable bed :) Pools were a little small, there were not that many people at adult pool but they didn't have enough umbrellas to go around, so had to wait awhile to get one, although the service there was good. Beautiful views. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind compliments. We are glad to hear that you had the opportunity to relax in between work, and that your room and your bed exceeded your expectations. If we can be of any assistance with future travel plans, please do not hesitate to reach out. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Aviara Resort last weekend and had an excellent time. The staff were outstanding- friendly, attentive, and accommodating. Our room was spacious and luxurious. The hotel is wonderful for children. Our 4 year olds loved the children's pools, the Saturday night family movie by the pool and the healthy children's buffets at dinner and breakfast. I am very particular about food and I was very impressed by the number of fresh, organic dining options, as well as good vegan options (like almond milk lattes!). We will definitely return to this hotel with our kids!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyS9287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, Kelly. We are so happy to hear that your family enjoyed the pools, and that our menu options exceeded your expectations. Your compliments will certainly be shared with our culinary team. Please let us know when we can assist with a return visit. We look forward to welcoming you and your kids back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in June when the resort was offering a three nights for the price of two and despite a few minor niggles would happily return there. Simply one of the best Hyatts we have ever stayed at. Infinity pool was beautiful and very tranquil. Italian restaurant was very impressive and the hotel grounds and room and common areas were immaculate. Only negatives were the resort fee and $30 daily charge to park the car plus the fact that the in room safe had been removed so we had to use safe box at reception for the first night. In fairness this was sorted the next morning when a new safe was installed with minimum fuss. Staff were very professional and friendly. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rchrdpattison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

It was a pleasure having you this June, Mr. Pattison. Thank you for your kind review. Your compliments about our Tranquility Pool and Vivace are much appreciated, and we are thrilled to hear that your requests were accommodated quickly. We also apologize for any inconvenience with your in-room safe, as we were in the process of updating our safes to newer models during your stay. If we can be of any assistance with a future visit, please feel free to contact us. We would love to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.
1.3 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,347 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4908
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $306 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Prestigia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Otel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing