We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, all the way around. Exceptional service distinguishes!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Was there for a conference and an extra day. I stay at hotels all over, and I know the San Diego area intimately. This resort exceeds most I have stayed at, Including La Costa. Each and every staff member was genuine, and they smiled and took time to insure that the stay was top notch. From the friendly valets, to the front desk and room service to maintenance and housekeeping when you passed in the hall.

I felt welcome.

The beds were deep, the linens plush and the room quiet (my personal barometer). The food was great, the venue professional and grounds were wonderful.

I will come back for a personal trip soon. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mabollinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

We are thrilled that the resort exceeded your expectations, and that you were able to make a genuine connection with our staff members during your recent stay. As someone with knowledge of luxury travel in San Diego, your kind comments are much appreciated and will be shared with the team. Please let us know when you are planning your return visit. It would be our pleasure to assist with travel arrangements, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,495 - 1,501 of 2,043 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

It's clear that this is not the same quality as the past. Signs of wear are apparent and maintence is needed. One elevator was broken the entire stay. The rooms are spacious but mine smelled of mildew much of the time. Also for a "luxury" property to not have televisions with HD is unacceptable. Upon check in (at 2:00 pm) I was told that my room was not ready and would be ready in about an hour. The further explanation was that the room was serviced but they needed to wait for a manager to inspect the room. Huh? You will make a guest wait an hour for a manager to inspect a room? How can that take more than a minute for a guest waiting? That wouldn't have happened during the Four Seasons time. That said, the property is very well located and the food quality was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Popovova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, General Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your compliments about our dining outlets, and we understand that your check-in process did not go smoothly. Although we inspect every guestroom prior to arrival, we completely agree with your perspective. A guest should not be left waiting at the expense of this procedure. We are reviewing this process to prevent similar incidents from occurring in the future, and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and understandable frustration that this caused. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your visit further to see what we can do to make up for your experience.
With Warm Regards,
Mark Stiebeling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Excellent & relaxing experience. Rooms are very comfortable, food is excellent and staff treats you like a first class experience. The workout facilities are great. Nice location with a short drive to ocean & shopping.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IKE48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

We are so happy to hear that you had a lovely, relaxing visit. Thank you for your kind compliments regarding our service, rooms, and 24 hour fitness center. It would be our pleasure to assist with future travel plans, and we would love to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Everything about the hotel was outstanding. The hotel staff are incredibly
courteous and welcoming; the lobby and public rooms are beautifully
furnished; the room was quite large and the linens were exceptional.
We loved that there was a Tranquility pool so that families could enjoy
their stay at one pool while we could read and relax at the other. There
was no loud music at the pool which I find annoying at other hotels. The
grounds are lovely for strolling around.

Room Tip: If you prefer quiet, avoid booking a room overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mangosbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your getaway, and that you found an oasis among our gardens and at the Tranquility Pool. Your kind compliments about our resort and staff are much appreciated and will be shared. If we can be of any assistance with future travel plans, please let us know. It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

5 of us stayed there for 4 nights. Believe me, it's amazing. We have stayed at very nice resorts in Mexico and this one is very good as well. We drove a brand new Ford and it was probably the cheapest vehicle there. Everyone was very good. We had a little bit of a problem at check out with our bill. They messed something up but was able to fix pretty quickly. You do have to drive a ways for additional dining, but it's worth it. You can't do wrong with this place, but exact to pay for it. We would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, Vicki. Thank you for your kind review. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist with future travel plans, as we would love to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have stayed in San Diego several times now. Mainly in the Mission Bay area and it's always been just so so (once at Paradise Point and twice at Hyatt Mission Bay). It's true that Carlsbad is a bit farther and traffic there can be painful, but the hotel was 100% worth the drive. Plus, there a beautiful beaches and hiking just minutes away. This is the first hotel in San Diego where we experienced top notch service on every level. The hotel grounds are beautiful and it feels like some of the nicest Hawaiian resorts when you enter the lobby. We had a spectacular meal at the hotel restaurant, Vivace. This time we traveled without our young kids, but we saw so many families here that we have already booked a return trip with our kids. Finally, you can tell the hotel was a former Four Seasons. The quality of the guests rooms was superb. I can't believe we even thought for a minute about staying at the new Legoland hotel, which is about five minutes away. It's just as expensive, if not not more, and I could get out of the lobby fast enough.

Room Tip: We did not choose a room with a view, but still had a nice view of tropical foliage from our spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRice68005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a great full week at the Hyatt Aviara. Wonderful staff from the top down. Smiles from the time the valet opened our doors on day one to the time they helped us to our car on our departure. The property was amazing and beautiful. They told us they were at 100% capacity but we never felt crowded, just a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated, Steven. Thank you for your review. We are happy to learn the service was beyond your expectations, and that you enjoyed the relaxing retreat that you had imagined. Please let us know if we can assist with future reservations. We would love to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.
1.3 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,349 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4908
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $270 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Otel, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing