We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! My new favorite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic! My new favorite hotel”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have stayed in San Diego several times now. Mainly in the Mission Bay area and it's always been just so so (once at Paradise Point and twice at Hyatt Mission Bay). It's true that Carlsbad is a bit farther and traffic there can be painful, but the hotel was 100% worth the drive. Plus, there a beautiful beaches and hiking just minutes away. This is the first hotel in San Diego where we experienced top notch service on every level. The hotel grounds are beautiful and it feels like some of the nicest Hawaiian resorts when you enter the lobby. We had a spectacular meal at the hotel restaurant, Vivace. This time we traveled without our young kids, but we saw so many families here that we have already booked a return trip with our kids. Finally, you can tell the hotel was a former Four Seasons. The quality of the guests rooms was superb. I can't believe we even thought for a minute about staying at the new Legoland hotel, which is about five minutes away. It's just as expensive, if not not more, and I could get out of the lobby fast enough.

Room Tip: We did not choose a room with a view, but still had a nice view of tropical foliage from our spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRice68005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,386
    284
    93
    42
    25
See reviews for
550
505
35
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a great full week at the Hyatt Aviara. Wonderful staff from the top down. Smiles from the time the valet opened our doors on day one to the time they helped us to our car on our departure. The property was amazing and beautiful. They told us they were at 100% capacity but we never felt crowded, just a perfect stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Your kind comments are greatly appreciated, Steven. Thank you for your review. We are happy to learn the service was beyond your expectations, and that you enjoyed the relaxing retreat that you had imagined. Please let us know if we can assist with future reservations. We would love to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I haven't felt compelled to write a review before on trip advisor until now. My wife and I spent our anniversary at the Park Hyatt Aviara and had a wonderful experience. From the the time we checked in to the time we checked out, we were taken care of extremely well. Because we were on an anniversary, we didn't want to stay by the kids pool...No problem, the bellman stayed with us for half an hour as he and the front desk worked out a solution and gave us multiple room choices until we were satisfied.

The concierge service was extremely professional without being pretentious (sometimes concierge service rubs me the wrong way). Catherine was energetic and knows the area very well. She pointed us in the right direction several times during our stay.

This hotel is not inexpensive, but still a good value for the area. If you do not need to be on the beach and don't mind driving 5 minutes to the beach this is a great option. Personally, the views of Batiquitos Lagoon and the valley surrounding it are very beautiful.

The adult pool was tranquil, quiet, and just perfect. No kids, no loud guests. Everyone seemed to be on the same page...Relaxation! Service in pool area was very good.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the Batiquitos Lagoon or the Courtyard are quiet. Kids pool can be busy, noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are so happy that you and your wife found a tranquil retreat beyond what you had imagined for your anniversary celebrations. Your kind comments regarding our front desk team, bellman, and concierge are greatly appreciated. Please do not hesitate to reach out if we can be of any assistance with upcoming anniversary plans. Our Spa has amazing couple’s treatments that you would love, and it would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you both back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I absolutely loved the hotel. The staff was amazing. As a craft beer fan I was happy to use it as a base to explore all of the great breweries in northern San Diego County. Even though I may not have been dressed like the normal guest, or interested in the same things as them I was treated with respect and given amazing service. The doormen were great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you, John. It sounds like you had an amazing trip exploring all of the wonderful craft breweries that San Diego is home to. We are thrilled that we were able to be a part of this adventure and very grateful for your kind review. Your comments will certainly be shared with our team. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Park Hyatt Aviara will take your breath away from the minute you turn on the street. The landscaping is absolutely beautiful, the rooms are stunning and the property is incredible. The service was outstanding and they are truly a resort. I have never felt so important at a hotel. They will take care of all your needs and not for an outrageous fee. The staff actually remembers who you are and the reason for your stay. I could not of been happier with this resort and cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: The resort is amazing. Make sure you try the fruit waters. The breakfast is not worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oklahoma29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are thrilled that we exceeded your expectations, and so happy to learn that you made a genuine connection with members of our staff. Thank you. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and taken to heart. Please let us know if we can assist with any future reservations. We can’t wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

By far, the Hyatt Aviara is probably the best hotel resort I have ever stayed at! Everything about it is top-notch. We stayed there during July 4th and they put on a beautiful party that evening, with an incredible fireworks show.

Room Tip: You may want to choose a room facing away from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palofcyruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy to hear that the resort exceeded your expectations, and that you enjoyed our July 4th festivities this year. Please let us know if we can assist with future reservations. It would be wonderful to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a few days over the July 4th holiday. I've stayed at quite a few nice hotels and this one was definitely top-notch service and ambiance. The rooms are very nicely decorated, have a fridge, and we had a cute balcony to sit on with actual wood chairs. Beds and linens were comfy and they give you slippers and bathrobes. They put us on the 2nd floor which actually didn't give us any view so I'd suggest getting 3 or above.

There are several different restaurants and two breakfast locations on-site. We only ate at the lounge - once for late lounge snacks and once for the prix fixe holiday meal. They actually were awesome enough to ask the chef for other options since I am vegetarian for the holiday meal and it wasn't just slop they threw together it was real entrees! The lounge menu was also very good. We tried several of the small plates and a few of the bigger ones and everything was definitely Hyatt-worthy. The breakfast is very good - the favorite for me was their house-made vanilla bean yogurt. Bread items at all the restaurants were very good too - someone actually cares in the kitchen.

They thankfully have two types of pool experiences. There is a family pool with two hot tubs. Then there is the tranquility pool for 21 and over and a 16 and over hot tub. Unless you're there with kids you'll definitely want to go to the adult area as the other is noisy and kiddie-filled. At the tranquility pool the staff was super helpful. They put down our towels for us, brought us water, cleaned our sunglasses, came around to get drink or food orders. Best of all, the cabanas are first-come and don't cost extra.

We were happy with the fitness center. There are a few cross-ramps, ellipticals, bikes and treadmills. They also have some weight machines (mostly leg ones but also chest, biceps, shoulders) and a pulley-machine. There are also mats, Swiss ball, Bosu ball, and two benches. Best of all they have lots of free-weights up to pretty heavy amounts. Downside - there was a man there with two kids treating it like a jungle-gym.

I don't know if the July 4th holiday drew tons of families but I was astounded by how many kids were there. Strangely almost all the kids were under 7 years old and each couple seemed to have three so you can imagine how overwhelming it kinda was. When we were in the lounge at 10pm listening to a jazz band playing (very good!) there were issues with young children wailing. Nothing the hotel people can do about that but I wouldn't come for honeymoon or anniversary if it's like that regularly.

There was an issue with the fire alarm going off four times over two hours during the night. They were more than generous with their compensation to us for the annoyance.

July 4th night they had a full-length fireworks. Crazy! They even made sure almost no locals were there to preserve room. Easy to get standing room by the pool to watch it.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd or above if you're facing off-property. We have a view of the hedge on 2nd. If you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful review, Leana. We greatly appreciate your kind feedback, and are so happy to learn that you enjoyed our July 4th festivities. The holiday does tend to attract a lot of families, and it is great to learn that you relaxed and enjoyed the oasis of our adult-only Tranquility Pool. Our passionate culinary team will also be thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our restaurants. If you are planning a return visit to Carlsbad, please don’t hesitate to contact us. It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.3 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
1.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,310 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Property: Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4908
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Prestigia, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing