We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had visited the Hyatt Aviara last summer and had a fun and relaxing stay. The property was spectacular, we spent a lot of our time outside on our private patio. The lounge was a fantastic place to sit down for a glass of wine before dinner. We did not have the opportunity to enjoy the pool which was directly in front of our room, but did however explore the grounds.
I did want to mention the staff was extremely friendly and courteous, but I think the Hotel really needs to update their polyester apparel.
Will be going back later this year

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We appreciate your kind compliments, Ren, and we are so thrilled that you had the opportunity to relax on your patio and in our lobby lounge. You will definitely have to experience our Tranquility Pool when you return, as it is the ultimate place to completely unwind. Thank you for your suggestions regarding our resort apparel and for your thoughtful comments about our staff members, too. Your feedback will certainly be shared with the team. We cannot wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,386
    284
    93
    42
    24
See reviews for
550
505
35
512
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked two room during summer of 2012. It was a pleasent experiance for my family.
It is like a resort with excellent services. I wished if it waslocated infront of the beach but it is not far away. We still needed to use our car to go the nearby beach.
They have more than one large out door swimming pools, excellent veiws, and very nice gym.
The parking though is not free.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sattoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Experience Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review regarding your previous stay. We would love to welcome you back this summer, and we can certainly arrange for our Beach Butler to provide you with complimentary transportation to the beach, a picnic lunch, and assistance with beach chairs, umbrella, and towel set up. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Food and room were great, and the staff just could not be more accommodating to our every need.
The view from our room was excellent. Even though i didn't play golf, from the way the course looked, I wish I had.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, Duane. We are so glad that you enjoyed your room, food and service! We absolutely agree that your next trip needs to include a round of golf at Aviara Golf Club. Let us know the next time you plan to visit, and we will be sure to book you a tee time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was a guest at the Aviara for 5 nights and in that period of time I had no complaints. The room and bathroom were very large, the views from the balcony amazing, and the service was terrific. I ate several meals in their Argyle Steak Restaurant, their Vivacci Italian Restaurant and their Bistro and found every morsel of food delicious. My husband played golf at The Aviara Golf Course and said it is a beautiful course. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for kind words. We are glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and all of your meals at Argyle, Vivace and CA Bistro. If you haven’t already, be sure to try to the Fettucine alla Bolognese at Vivace – it is fantastic. We look forward to your next visit at the Park Hyatt Aviara Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, GA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at the Hyatt Aviara. We loved our stay! We did request double beds, but none were available. We got a King Room and offered a roll-away bed for my son. It was not a problem , the room was large enough to accommodate the extra bed. For the inconvenience, we were given complimentary access to the spa--well worth it! The hotel was in great shape, looks like some renovations were completed recently. Elevators were lighting quick and waiting for one is practically non-existent. Definitely recommend the 5th floor if you stay. Service was excellent and the staff greeted you in passing. Valet parking is required...about $30/day so if you tack on resort fees, Wifi...about $75/day--really the only reason I couldn't give the hotel a higher rating. Played tennis on the stadium court--would suggest they resurface the court--other courts seemed better maintained. Checking out was a breeze, but check your credit card statement to ensure you were billed correctly. We had to connect them, for additional charges that had to had to be reversed. A little bit of a hassle, but customer service was very responsive and took care it with one call.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filviz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. Yes, the 5th floor does offer amazing views! We apologize for the billing error, however are relieved that our team was able to reverse the charge immediately. We are so glad that you were able to take advantage of the tennis courts, and we appreciate your insight regarding the Stadium Court. We will be sure to share your feedback with the team. We hope you will be able to join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We used to stay here when the property was run by Four Seasons. It is still a lovely hotel with a beautiful golf course but the rooms are not as pristine as they were under Four Seasons management. While new carpeting has been installed in the rooms, much of the furniture, we were told, is not changing. The dresser and desk and chairs in our room were chipped and in general, worn looking. We were told the sofa was going to be recovered and coffee table replaced. Perhaps when this is done, one won't notice the wear and tear on the remaining furniture. That said, the bed was comfortable and the bed linens beautifully pressed and of high quality. On the other hand, the towels, although extra large, were very thin. Park Hyatt has obviously chosen not to replace or upgrade them as of now. However, the Lobby and all the public areas on the main level have been kept up and are very gracious.

We ate dinner at Vivace and the food was really delicious and the room is still as pretty as before so we would recommend it highly.

The golf course is beautiful and with mounds of gorgeous flowers on practically every hole, real eye candy. We were lucky to be there when everything was in bloom and a riot of color. The starters are the best we've seen on any resort course. They were smart enough on both days that we played to let us start on an empty hole on the back nine rather then be bogged down by a crowded course and very slow play had we started at the first hole.

We looked at the swimming pools but did not use them as the weather was not that hot while we visited. There are 2 pools and both looked nice but not fabulous.

An upside is the cost of the room. The deluxe room here is considerably less expensive than the Grande Del Mar, its competition down the road, closer to La Jolla. For the money you will spend, the Park Hyatt Aviara is good value, but just not as Luxurious as the Grande Del Mar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discerningNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your detailed response. With the renovation we actually are replacing not only the carpets, but all chairs, sofas and drapery. Dressers, desks and night-stands will not be completely replaced, but each will be individually analyzed and an effort will be made to repair any imperfections. We appreciate your insights and we will definitely share your thoughts on the towels with the team. We are pleased you enjoyed both your meal and the ambiance at Vivace. If you haven’t already, be sure to try Argyle Steakhouse on your next visit. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
411 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Just starting a conference here. Flew into Carlsbad airport and a short taxi ride to the resort. Outstanding room and meeting areas. Great views of the ocean. I expect this will be a great venue for business meetings over the next three days.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry1778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your stay at the Park Hyatt Aviara Resort. We are pleased you were impressed with our recently renovated rooms, our great views of the Pacific and our meeting areas. It is wonderful to hear that you also had the opportunity to fly into Palomar Airport in Carlsbad. It is a hidden gem and only 10 minutes from the resort. We hope your conference went well and continued to exceed expectations. Please come again soon, Larry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.3 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
1.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,310 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Property: Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4908
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing