We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four star (not five star) luxury, beautiful golf course”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Four star (not five star) luxury, beautiful golf course”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We used to stay here when the property was run by Four Seasons. It is still a lovely hotel with a beautiful golf course but the rooms are not as pristine as they were under Four Seasons management. While new carpeting has been installed in the rooms, much of the furniture, we were told, is not changing. The dresser and desk and chairs in our room were chipped and in general, worn looking. We were told the sofa was going to be recovered and coffee table replaced. Perhaps when this is done, one won't notice the wear and tear on the remaining furniture. That said, the bed was comfortable and the bed linens beautifully pressed and of high quality. On the other hand, the towels, although extra large, were very thin. Park Hyatt has obviously chosen not to replace or upgrade them as of now. However, the Lobby and all the public areas on the main level have been kept up and are very gracious.

We ate dinner at Vivace and the food was really delicious and the room is still as pretty as before so we would recommend it highly.

The golf course is beautiful and with mounds of gorgeous flowers on practically every hole, real eye candy. We were lucky to be there when everything was in bloom and a riot of color. The starters are the best we've seen on any resort course. They were smart enough on both days that we played to let us start on an empty hole on the back nine rather then be bogged down by a crowded course and very slow play had we started at the first hole.

We looked at the swimming pools but did not use them as the weather was not that hot while we visited. There are 2 pools and both looked nice but not fabulous.

An upside is the cost of the room. The deluxe room here is considerably less expensive than the Grande Del Mar, its competition down the road, closer to La Jolla. For the money you will spend, the Park Hyatt Aviara is good value, but just not as Luxurious as the Grande Del Mar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discerningNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your detailed response. With the renovation we actually are replacing not only the carpets, but all chairs, sofas and drapery. Dressers, desks and night-stands will not be completely replaced, but each will be individually analyzed and an effort will be made to repair any imperfections. We appreciate your insights and we will definitely share your thoughts on the towels with the team. We are pleased you enjoyed both your meal and the ambiance at Vivace. If you haven’t already, be sure to try Argyle Steakhouse on your next visit. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,436
    293
    96
    44
    25
See reviews for
581
521
35
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Just starting a conference here. Flew into Carlsbad airport and a short taxi ride to the resort. Outstanding room and meeting areas. Great views of the ocean. I expect this will be a great venue for business meetings over the next three days.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry1778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your stay at the Park Hyatt Aviara Resort. We are pleased you were impressed with our recently renovated rooms, our great views of the Pacific and our meeting areas. It is wonderful to hear that you also had the opportunity to fly into Palomar Airport in Carlsbad. It is a hidden gem and only 10 minutes from the resort. We hope your conference went well and continued to exceed expectations. Please come again soon, Larry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My family and I just got back from a 4-night Spring Break stay at the Aviara. Prior to our arrival, I requested a room with 2 double beds. When we arrived late at night, there were no doubles available on the floor I wanted (5th floor at the recommendation of other Trip Advisor posts). So instead we got a King room with a nice balcony on the 5th floor. The front desk clerk (I don't remember his name) was kind enough to give us a room with a view and gave us complimentary access to the Spa area. He also suggested that we use one of their rollaway beds instead of the sofa bed in the room. The mattress on that rollaway bed was SO comfortable -- our teenager slept well each night! The room was large enough for it. Our room was one of the renovated ones -- new paint, new carpeting, nice bedding, new drapes. However, I was told though that all rooms have already been updated?

The staff at the hotel was very accommodating and friendly. Our stay was nice and quiet. Seemed like hardly anyone was there :-) The hotel was beautiful, not dated. The $25 per day resort fee (required) was worth it for in-room WiFi, use of tennis facility, nice Fitness Center, nice pool area with cabanas. The hotel is a short drive to great restaurants and breakfast places. It is a 30 minute drive from the airport and is close to other attractions and beaches. A word of warning and the only con: there is a $30 per night valet parking fee all guests are required to pay. Did not know this prior to arrival. There is no self-park, only valet.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 5th floor. #514 had a King bed with sitting area, nice patio and everything in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvToTravel2245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for comments. We are so glad you chose to stay with us during your Spring Break this year! Our room renovations are now complete, and all rooms have been updated with new paint, carpet, furniture, drapery and artwork – we are excited you were able to experience the updates! We apologize you were unaware of the $30 per night valet parking; we are working with the team to make sure all additional charges are fully disclosed upon booking. Thank you again for your kind words and for staying with us. We know family-time with teenagers is hard to come by, so we are glad you chose to stay at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort during this precious time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This property is superb! When you arrive there will be 3 doorman to open your door and get your luggage. It only gets better throughout your stay. Hyatt knows customer service and you are treated with perfection all the way.
Don't hesitate to book this property and you will come away with one of the best feelings at a US location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack2act
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We are glad our customer-service made such a positive impact on your vacation. We hope you will come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Pools ( a lot and just right) the views (varied and inspiring) the food ( comforting and offering a difference) the rooms ( comfortable with nice touches) the service ( with out even having to ask for it) the shops (always a little somthing unique) the landscaping ( everything in bloom) all to provide an evironment that was a delightful respit in the midst of a great part of the US of A.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I just checked out of the Park Hyatt Aviara after staying there for a week. I had stayed there before when it was a Four Seasons hotel and I think for the most part it still felt like that. The rooms are nice and quite big. The bed was awesome! My disappointment came at the end of my stay when an apparently more important group than ours took over the hotel....and I mean took over the hotel. Restaurants, room service, everything to do with food was closed.....on a weekend I might add! The hotel did nothing as far as making us aware of this ahead of time and then where quite rude and abrupt when we tried to ask for alternate plans. Firstly I think a Four Seasons hotel would have notified guests of the interruption to their stay and offered ahead of time to help with alternate plans. The other thing that the hotel fails to notify you about is that self parking is not an option, so be prepared to pay an extra $30/night just to have your car valeted. Overall I felt like the hotel was like the little brother trying to big time! Just can't pull it off!

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayrwaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, General Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Many thanks for your comments, Karrie. I am sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We did have a large group in during your stay and you are absolutely right, we should have communicated that to guests outside of that room block. I appreciate your insight in regards to parking at the resort; we acknowledge that it is not accurately communicated on our website. I assure you I am working with my team in fully disclosing additional guest charges on the website and upon booking. I am glad that you enjoyed our guest rooms and guest beds. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back. Please let me know if I can ever assist with a return visit.
With warm regards,
Mark Stiebeling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My most recent stay here was February 2013 while attending a conference; prior to this I had stayed here a couple of years ago while the place was still being operated by the Four Seasons.
Park Hyatt has done a commendable job of keeping their service up to par with its earlier incarnation. The staff were SUPER helpful, friendly, and professional. And the hotel has retained its laid-back but (somewhat) exclusive feel, but with a lower level of luxury than had been the case while it was a Four Seasons. Because it inherited the property from Four Seasons, it still had old-world decor and ambience which looked dated and a bit tired. I heard from the staff that Park Hyatt will be doing major renovations/upgrades to the property to modernize the place - which will be a good thing.

LOCATION - 3: this location is not at all convenient if you have business in San Diego, but was OK for us as all our conference activities were in the resort
FOOD - 3: This could be because we were eating conference food, so take my review with a grain of salt
GOLF - 4: This is probably the main reason why people stay here
ROOM - 4: HUGE rooms and bathrooms, although the decor could use some upgrading. Everything very clean
SERVICE - 5: Everyone super helpful and friendly

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have patios that open onto the well groomed grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houstonturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.3 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
5.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,323 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Property: Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4908
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing