We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Underwhelmed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at this resort to be near Legoland and visit relatives in the area. This is a nice, basic hotel but it is not a luxury 5* hotel so adjust expectations accordingly (I think I had higher expectations because it used to be a FS). We were there with our 18 mo old son and were underwhelmed by the experience.

Our experience began with the check in ladies who were plentiful but slow, unprofessional and not very friendly. First the room was supposed to be ready in 20 min. Then it wasn't. Then one person went to check on it and never came back. We were passed from person to person while other people were being checked in and shown to their rooms- had our credit card swiped by 2 different people. Finally 45min later we got our keys, and were pointed in the direction of the elevators. No one to show you to your room or help with your bags.

The rooms were dark and large but not very well furnished (dated and cheap looking furniture). The bed and sheets were a real let down- the linens were rough. Cleaning staff left things behind (an old bottle of bubbles with hairs on it in the closet??) and lamps were unplugged. Towels were not plentiful. The toiletries were one plus. Doors were squeaky. It always took a long time to get our car- even if we called ahead for it. And the room service menu was very limited. We usually like to have room service a lot, especially while the baby is asleep, but ended up eating away from the hotel because the options were so limited. Also, they gave the baby a towel as a blanket (folded in the crib?).

The location of this hotel is in the most un-charming area, east of the 5 in the middle of housing developments in Carlsbad.

We will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravel702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,225
    250
    87
    41
    21
See reviews for
485
459
31
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Helena CA USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Having stayed here when it was a Four Seasons I had high expectations. It is even better now in every way! The occasion of the trip was not festive since I was there with my dog for her to have radiation therapy for a tumor at the close by veterinary center that is unsurpassed in the nation. Everyone from the doormen to the front desk to the maids in the room were welcoming and sincerely pleasant. When our small suite was not ready for an early check in, they were apologetic and upgraded us to the Presidential Suite for immediate check in. The front desk person even went herself to the room to see if it was ready.

There are unlimited miles of trails available for walks and it is only a short drive to perfect beaches.

Room Tip: Any rooms facing the lagoon have a marvelous view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintHelenaCAUSAGhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We LOVED this resort. Didn't expect too much, just wanted a hotel near Legoland California. The property is wonderful, the staff is super-friendly. Kids were very welcome. Our suite was wonderful, one of the best hotel experiences ever. The pool was nice. We tried the breakfast buffet, which was very good, too. Unfortunately we were sooo spoiled when we had to leave after our 3-night-stay. This should have been the last hotel on our trip.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Three_Swords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My family (2 kids - 5&8) stayed here for 3 nights while visiting relatives in the San Diego and San Clemente area.

We really appreciated all of the space to store our clothes, luggage, and still have room to run around.

Though the weather was relatively cold for the area, we enjoyed a huge hot tub to ourselves - I used the hotel robe to get there, my kids bundled up in towels.

The place smelled wonderful because of the spa I believe- the spa was a bit too expensive for my budget (~ $90 for a 25 minute facial), but I'm sure it would have been amazing.

The hotel has a game room which we enjoyed. (x box, pool, ping pong, and about 5 video game centers). Unfortunately a couple of the games were out of order and the ping pong ball broken. It was a nice way to spend a couple hours when the weather was cold.

Fitness Center was great- lots of high end equipment, mint water , magazines.

Hotel Onl has valet parking and I felt a bit self conscious going in and out 3 times a day, but the staff was super friendly.

Lastly, I LOVED the Le Labo Bergamot toiletries.... Better than any other hotel ever!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMarisol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the Aviara and were very happy. Every aspect of this property is wonderful. Every employee that we came in contact with was happy and cheerful. The parking valets, front desk personnel and housekeeping all provided service with a smile. We didn't eat at the hotel so I cannot comment on the food and since it was Christmas Eve and Christmas Day only a few restaurants were open. The room was HUGE and newly decorated in a very tasteful way. The large balcony offered beautiful views of the lagoon and the ocean. The beds were super comfy and bathroom was also huge and well appointed. We had no use for internet access so it didn't bother us that it was not included. The gym can be accessed 24 hours a day and was large and clean. The free coffee and tea served in the lobby was a nice touch. In summary, I wouldn't change a thing at the Aviara.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fred j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Excellent! Excellent service, beautiful grounds, clean rooms, attentive staff, delicious food. The pool area is well laid out, private, with amazing views. The staff went above and beyond every day- always, without question or hesitation.
The only bad thing is the remotness of the resort. $25 one way cab fare to get anywhere away from the resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTravelsfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
311 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for business as part of conference and was very impressed with the resort and level of service. The place is immaculate. The rooms were very large and nicely decorated. Each has a patio. The service was excellent the staff was great. We were there for a conference and we used a lot of break out room. What impressed was how much meeting rooms and ball rooms they had. The Grand ball room was huge and when fully open can hold about 800 people. They had at least a dozen or so rooms of varying sizes. The layout was great with the guests rooms concentrated on one side near the pool area and the conference and business center at the other side. As part of the conference we had breakfast lunch and dinner served and the food was excellent. There was nothing that I did not like or hear anyone one else complain about. Since we were there for a business conference I did not have time to use the facilities like the pool but I walked around it and it pretty nice especially the pool overlooking the valley. Overall it was a great stay and I would recommend this hotel for both business and personal stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red-Barchetta2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
1.2 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
3.7 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
5.7 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Property: Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing