We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than when it was a Four Seasons. Very dog friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Helena CA USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Even better than when it was a Four Seasons. Very dog friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Having stayed here when it was a Four Seasons I had high expectations. It is even better now in every way! The occasion of the trip was not festive since I was there with my dog for her to have radiation therapy for a tumor at the close by veterinary center that is unsurpassed in the nation. Everyone from the doormen to the front desk to the maids in the room were welcoming and sincerely pleasant. When our small suite was not ready for an early check in, they were apologetic and upgraded us to the Presidential Suite for immediate check in. The front desk person even went herself to the room to see if it was ready.

There are unlimited miles of trails available for walks and it is only a short drive to perfect beaches.

Room Tip: Any rooms facing the lagoon have a marvelous view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintHelenaCAUSAGhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,055
    223
    74
    37
    19
See reviews for
417
382
28
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We LOVED this resort. Didn't expect too much, just wanted a hotel near Legoland California. The property is wonderful, the staff is super-friendly. Kids were very welcome. Our suite was wonderful, one of the best hotel experiences ever. The pool was nice. We tried the breakfast buffet, which was very good, too. Unfortunately we were sooo spoiled when we had to leave after our 3-night-stay. This should have been the last hotel on our trip.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Three_Swords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My family (2 kids - 5&8) stayed here for 3 nights while visiting relatives in the San Diego and San Clemente area.

We really appreciated all of the space to store our clothes, luggage, and still have room to run around.

Though the weather was relatively cold for the area, we enjoyed a huge hot tub to ourselves - I used the hotel robe to get there, my kids bundled up in towels.

The place smelled wonderful because of the spa I believe- the spa was a bit too expensive for my budget (~ $90 for a 25 minute facial), but I'm sure it would have been amazing.

The hotel has a game room which we enjoyed. (x box, pool, ping pong, and about 5 video game centers). Unfortunately a couple of the games were out of order and the ping pong ball broken. It was a nice way to spend a couple hours when the weather was cold.

Fitness Center was great- lots of high end equipment, mint water , magazines.

Hotel Onl has valet parking and I felt a bit self conscious going in and out 3 times a day, but the staff was super friendly.

Lastly, I LOVED the Le Labo Bergamot toiletries.... Better than any other hotel ever!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMarisol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the Aviara and were very happy. Every aspect of this property is wonderful. Every employee that we came in contact with was happy and cheerful. The parking valets, front desk personnel and housekeeping all provided service with a smile. We didn't eat at the hotel so I cannot comment on the food and since it was Christmas Eve and Christmas Day only a few restaurants were open. The room was HUGE and newly decorated in a very tasteful way. The large balcony offered beautiful views of the lagoon and the ocean. The beds were super comfy and bathroom was also huge and well appointed. We had no use for internet access so it didn't bother us that it was not included. The gym can be accessed 24 hours a day and was large and clean. The free coffee and tea served in the lobby was a nice touch. In summary, I wouldn't change a thing at the Aviara.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fred j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Excellent! Excellent service, beautiful grounds, clean rooms, attentive staff, delicious food. The pool area is well laid out, private, with amazing views. The staff went above and beyond every day- always, without question or hesitation.
The only bad thing is the remotness of the resort. $25 one way cab fare to get anywhere away from the resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTravelsfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
309 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for business as part of conference and was very impressed with the resort and level of service. The place is immaculate. The rooms were very large and nicely decorated. Each has a patio. The service was excellent the staff was great. We were there for a conference and we used a lot of break out room. What impressed was how much meeting rooms and ball rooms they had. The Grand ball room was huge and when fully open can hold about 800 people. They had at least a dozen or so rooms of varying sizes. The layout was great with the guests rooms concentrated on one side near the pool area and the conference and business center at the other side. As part of the conference we had breakfast lunch and dinner served and the food was excellent. There was nothing that I did not like or hear anyone one else complain about. Since we were there for a business conference I did not have time to use the facilities like the pool but I walked around it and it pretty nice especially the pool overlooking the valley. Overall it was a great stay and I would recommend this hotel for both business and personal stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red-Barchetta2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had a company event here, and it was wonderful. They did a great job hosting.
They truly cater to your every desire. I wanted something not even on the menu, and they made it fresh. The food was incredible, but it was the excellent service that set them over the top! I was very please and I hope to attend events here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyndra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
1.2 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
3.7 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 865 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
5.7 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#4 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Property: Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing