We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of the line, Grade A, High Class Resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Top of the line, Grade A, High Class Resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Park Hyatt, Aviara Resort, Four Seasons. This place has like three names but one goal in mind, to give you a great experience.

The best part about this hotel is the price. You will "pay a lot less" here than you would a ritz carlton resort and get all the bells and whistles.

This place is located about 7 minutes from the Palomar Airport and about 10 minutes from Legoland. There are also four golf coursed within 5 minutes of the property, one of them located on the resort property. For the shoppers, you have Carlsbad Premium Outlets only 10 minutes away as well. And of course the beach which is 12 minutes away.

I loved this hotel. This place is very fancy and beautiful. You drive up a long narrow road surrounded by beautiful gardens to a modern/romantic hotel.You can't ask for much more in terms of style. You are welcomed by a large dimly lit lobby with a modern/romantic theme.
The rooms are huge. My unit had a long hallway with a very large bathroom to the right. My bathroom was complete with double sinks, a large bathtub, shower, private toilet and makeup area for the ladies. Further down the hall you will find a small beverage bar with fridge. The beds are very comfortable and cozy. I also had a living area beyond my bed for lounging, as well as a desk area. I had a small balcony that looked out onto a garden with a large fountain in the middle, very nice.

The hotel has an outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi that is really nice. Just make sure that you use it before 7pm because the coastal breeze will catch you off guard.
The Aviara is a pet friendly hotel. I wish I had my dog with me because there are lots of places on the property for your four legged friends. There is a long trail that winds all along the property and golf course.

For the kids, there is a play room on the property as well as play areas outside designated for children.

Staff here was excellent! They were very attentive and courteous. The property is well kept and the rooms are spotless.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maikolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    265
    90
    41
    24
See reviews for
503
474
33
488
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We loved the Park Hyatt Aviara. Yes, it was spendy but yes, it was worth it. The hotel staff were incredibly friendly. Our housekeeper was so nice to our two daughters, and she did an amazing job. The room always looked and smelled clean after she had been there. She did not cut any corners on cleaning. Also, the front desk gave our daughters a small token of appreciation upon check-in, which was a nice touch. The valet staff hustled and worked hard, although, if I had to come up with an area for improvement, this might be it. At $30/day to valet plus tips, you're expecting a lot. A self park option may not be a bad way to go, or honestly, just roll the valet charge into the cost of the hotel room so it doesn't feel like you are getting nickeled and dimed. The valet staff, though, was amazing, apologizing for long waits and even going so far as to send a handwritten note and cookies to our room after one extra long wait time. The food at the restaurants and pool was great, and the amenities were incredible. Beautiful golf course, fun recreation area with tennis courts, croquet and volleyball courts for everyone to enjoy. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gridirongirl1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at the Park Hyatt in May, 2011, as a family of 4 plus 2 grandparents and we paid a very good rate. First and foremost, this may not be the quintessential 4 Seasons, but boy, it comes really close to it!

Now the good part:
1. SERVICE: amazing service, always a smile, completely professional and helpful. Everything we asked for/about was answered or honored.

2. VALET service: I know people don't want to pay the extra $30/night plus tip, but if you are going to stay at a hotel this caliber, might as well live up to it. As a matter of fact, we love valet so much that we valet park a lot more now after staying at this hotel!

3. QUALITY of the grounds and views: what can I say, this is the only place I can think of where I just want to stay at the hotel! The pools are heated but I would recommend going there while the sun is shining because it gets cold when the sun goes down.

4. PLAY area for the kids with video games, computer games, board games, etc. Very nice place to hang out and relax with the kids.

Now the downside (not too much here):
1. TIPPING valet parking: I know I raved valet parking but I just didn't know the tipping etiquette and tipped every time we took out the car and returned. It didn't bankrupt us but it added a little extra.

2. NOT close to shopping/restaurants: not a deal breaker, you just have to drive 10 minutes to get to the area near Legoland and 15 minutes to downtown Carlsbad. I can't imagine being in Southern CA without a car so this "downside" was really not a big deal. But for folks who do not have access to a car, this could be a problem.

If you could afford it, I say go!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S2000momma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

So the dirty truth is: I booked this place because I was looking for something *really* special and high-end; and this hotel is most certainly NOT high-end or special.

It's a factory hotel with long waits to check in and check out. A hotel with poor sleep quality due to mattresses with indents from the 300lb person who slept there before you. A hotel where valet attendants don't know you or your car and constanty grind for "the ticket" to get your car. It's a hotel with cheap unhealthy food and grissly, corn-fed, high-fructose everything. It's a hotel with kids in diapers in over-chlorinated pools and hairy backed suburban middle-managers from LA pounding pina coladas full of pre-mix and crap and sugar. It's a hotel of florescent light-bulbs who's energy savings is only matched by it's Motel 6 feel and ice cold glare.

The resort is overlooking Interstate 5 with a horizon peekaboo view of the ocean and absolutely no site influence whatsoever, unless you're into its completely average golf course and garden variety views.

I don't have the heart to throw the staff under the bus here, but they just got everything wrong for us. We asked for some spoons for our coffee and they sent us a tray of coffee. We asked to buy six 1 litre bottles of still water and they sent a single bottle, incapable of comprehending why anyone would want so much more. All the service was slow. 45 minutes for poor and average tasting factory food.

I just felt like such an average schmo here, a complete number. We absolutely couldn't wait to leave and clearly won't be returning.

The ONLY redeeming feature of this place was it's proximity to Palomar Airport so we could punch-up and get out of there. If you're into average resorts which hold themselves out to be something special -and you don't know any better, then order a premix umbrella drink and lap it up baby. But if you know what a luxury hotel is.. turn around and go away. This is absolutely not the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank theLuckiestGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, General Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us. It is our goal to offer an unparalleled experience for every guest of the resort, and are sincerely disappointed when we don't meet our guests' expectation. We pride ourselves in providing healthful and innovative menus, using only the freshest produce from local sustainable growers, and it is disappointing that you did not experience this during your stay. All of your comments regarding the quality of food and service will be reviewed by our Director of Food & Beverage and Executive Chef. We sincerely wish we would have been made aware that you had encountered these issues while you were on property so that we may have had the opportunity to personally meet with you and understand how we could have made your visit more enjoyable.

Your feedback is appreciated, as we continually make strides to offer an unparalleled experience and exceptional service to our guests. We hope to have another chance to welcome you back to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort in the future and give us the opportunity to change your perception of us.

Sincerely,

Mark Stiebeling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

As a Park Hyatt this resort still delivers the quality and experience that were there when it was a Four Seasons. The suite was large, immaculately presented with a great balcony on which to have breakfast and just lounge. The hotel has all of facilities one would expect and the "adults only" pool is a godsend if one is not enamored with the high pitched yelps that accompany kids in a pool! That being said, the resort also looked great for kids with a games room and a really good sized pool. The poolside service was also terrific with no request being too difficult. The golf course is also fantastic for those who play and the people at the pro shop were incredibly helpful. One tip: if you are there for next year’s 4th of July, have dinner at The Argyle on July 3rd, wait until 9PM and you’ll have a great view of the fireworks from La Costa Resort!! Its also a fantastic place to watch the Aviara fireworks on July 4th!! Finally, for those people with celiac disease and who need gluten free food, this place is heaven! You can feast on gluten free bread, pancakes etc and never worry about what is in your meals. The chef and the hotel go out of their way to make sure they deliver the same quality of food for people needing gluten free as for anyone else ... and they don’t make it a big deal!! Congratulations to the Park Hyatt for carrying on where the Four Seasons left off!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_bald_gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

The Park Hyatt Aviara was a pleasant surprise for us after reading the mixed trip advisor reviews about the change from Four Season's Management. We have stayed regularly at this hotel for the past ten 12 years so we have seen management teams come and go. The current team is stellar. We disagree with some of the current reviews. We loved that we recognized many of the faces from the previous management team and it's clear that the hotel managment made a careful decision to keep many of the old staff on board. In fact, we recognized so many of the staff that our son was confused by the name change. Even at the reception area they remembered our preferences from previous trips. We arrived on a last minute trip to legoland (booked it the day of) expecting the hotel to be a notch below past visits and that was not the case. In fact, each staff member we came across from bell staff to house keeping went out of their way to make the trip magical for our children and adults. We had originally thought we would stay at one of the three hotels at legoland but the adults in our group decided that for the price we wanted to make sure we had the service to match. We were not disappointed. We traveled with several other families so we had more opportunity for something to go wrong - nothing did. We love this hotel for it's inland location but proximately to all things San Diego. This hotel is the insiders secret because Legoland is literally seven minutes but the resort feels so elegant and fun for us as adults. We also used the beach side service in Carlsbad and the onsite playground with the kids so that also added to the trip. The room size in this hotel for standard rooms is one of the largest around. It's double the space of a traditional room. Most standard rooms have sitting areas besides the sleeping space and many with pull out sofas for beds. In fact we fit a roll away in the standard room and had one child on the pull out sofa. One of our group splurged on a suite and it was big enough for all of us to gather in the evenings. Terraces and balconies are spacious and we had meals outside most evenings. As another example of the service, a quick urgent care visit was needed for one of the children traveling with us and the hotel bent backwards to help facilitate that from providing several options to keeping the car at the valet stand the entire evening in case of a return visit to quietly providing extra water inside the car etc... and following up the next day. Really again - just everything above and beyond what you would expect.

Pros: Great location. Excellent staff. Incredible service. Comfortable beds and all that you would expect from a top hotel. We had our son leave a toy in the hallway and magically it appeared at our door step the next hour without us even noticing it was gone. Incredible amenities for the children including welcome gifts and evening special turndown the first evening. Great food at all restaurants which was a welcome change from the legoland fast food. The rooms are some of the best in the area. Two pools - one for families and one for adults. Playground, golf, kids club, this is everything a resort should be.

Cons: You need a car for this location but we struggle to find a negative thing to say about this hotel. They do "tack on" some extras that seem a bit pricey like valet parking, mini bar is high but still for the price (which is not that much more than other hotels) it's well worth it for the great rooms and service. Decor is traditional and at some point needs to be a bit fresher but it's comfortable, clean, everything still looks newly furnished to our eyes.

Overall: If you want to experience legoland with the kids but need some adult quiet time after, this is the best place to be as it combines the best of San Diego with incredible service. We think the hotel is just as good as the Four Season's management and didn't experience anything but great, excellent service for several families at a last minute stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4familySanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starsparkles
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

The website and the fact that it was a Four Seasons made us think this was going to be more sedate than a typical Hyatt Resort, but it actually was a bit more boisterous due to the fact that there is no beach nearby-- all the activity centers around the pool. I would say do not even consider this property unless you're packing diapers and water wings -- at least that was our impression this summer..

It just does not have the allure that the Park Hyatt has at it city properties. We were surprised that there were so many families staying here and were a little disappointed in the atmosphere. It's possible to hide out in the spa or on the golf course, or even in the adult pool, but you are better off choosing another spot if you are thinking "adult escape."

The rooms were ok and reminded us of some Ritz Carltons from the late 90's in decor...kind of "homey" and old fashioned, as opposed to "W" type chic or anything more current. Also our carpet and drapes were very fussy. The bathroom was big but we had a very ugly orangy countertop which made it feel old also.

We also thought $30 parking per night was too high in a residential resort setting with acres of property all around. When we phoned and asked about self-park we were told it did not exist, yet I have since read that it does exist, so not sure why we had false information.

The staff was very friendly, but there is really nothing they can do about the noise, the kids, the chaos....so unless you are looking for that I would research a smaller property as the whole area is kind of kid-central due to the popular attractions in Carlsbad geared to little kids.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank starsparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, General Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We apologize for the particular experience that you encountered. Summer is indeed our busiest season, with its fair share of families enjoying summer vacation in San Diego. With this in mind, we are very proud of two amenities that take into account our guests wishing to experience a relaxing ambience - our adults only Tranquility Pool which has stunning views of the Pacific and adjacent nature preserve; and our Beach Butler service which provides complimentary transportation and all of the necessary accoutrements such as chairs, towels, umbrellas at our nearby beach - just three miles from the Resort. We sincerely apologize that these options did not provide the escape you were looking for.

Regarding our overnight parking at the resort, we indeed only provide valet parking.

We hope to have another chance to welcome you back to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort in the near future so that you may fully enjoy everything the resort has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.3 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
5.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Property: Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing