We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful hotel, great place to stay in Carlsbad area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 16, 2011

I was here for about 9 days on a conference, and this was when the hotel had first switched over from being a four seasons. The hotel was very very nice, amazing views, clean rooms, accommodating staff and overall a very pleasant experience. They had rental cars on site which help greatly for last second rentals, and if you were going to Lego land or wanted to be in Carlsbad it's a great place to stay. It is a bit of a trek from San diego Airport, but then again if you are staying here you probably know that. The Banquet staff here was friendly and helpful, and overall I highly recommend this hotel. I stayed a few days after the event here just to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clyde_Betts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,924)
There are newer reviews for Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,647 - 1,653 of 1,924 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2011

Outstanding in every way! The service is so far above what I have experienced in a lifetime of traveling (I am Hyatt's top tier 'diamond' and have been for many years).

The management at this property has definitely mastered the customer experience. From the moment you arrive and the Valets greet you and take your bags, through the check in with superbly polished and awesome front desk staff, to Juan the very nice and helpful and professional valet who helped us with our luggage, to tuck-in when the room staff placing a towel and slippers by the bed. Every possible attention to detail is made - down to the bottle of water the valet offered us as we departed.

The breakfast buffet is the first one ever that i found $25 per person to be worth it. High quality and a real nice touch with the fresh omelet station.

The game room is a great touch for the kids and adults alike. Very classy and lots of variety.

I brought my two kids and wife on this trip and fortunately or unfortunately, as it may be, they think all the hotels I stay at are like the Hyatt Aviara so their standard has been set too! It's going to be tough to repeat elsewhere.

These guys get a 6 on a 5 point scale.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falconsIrving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We were thrilled by the luxury around every corner at this former Four Seasons, now Park Hyatt property. The staff were all of the highest caliber. There is attention to detail in every area of the hotel which oozes class and sophistication. I would stay here again in a second.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natjaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We've been coming to the Four Seasons Aviara a couple of times a year for the last four years.

Now that it's a Hyatt, you can really tell the difference in service and quality of product, but the prices are the same. The coffee in the room is poor and our last name was hardly used at all during our 3 day visit. It was not Four Seasons quality anymore.

Were going to try another resort nearby bedtime and I would suggest you do too.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 242traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattAviara, General Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2011

We appreciate our guests’ feedback and value their observations and suggestions. We strive to maintain our AAA five-diamond status, and we will continue to adhere to our high standards of guest recognition, including the use of our guests’ names. We apologize that this may not have occurred throughout your stay, however, rest assured we will continue to focus on this in the future. To address the quality of coffee offered in the guest rooms, again, in an effort to maintain the high level of service our guests have come to expect, we continue to use the same brand and quality of coffee offered prior to Park Hyatt’s arrival to the resort.

The resort management and staff will continue to stay committed to offering a luxurious experience to each and every guest who we welcome to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, Golf Club & Spa. Thank you again for taking the time to remind us what is important to our valued guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We went to the Park Hyatt Aviara for a lovely Thanksgiving weekend mixed with Legoland as a little trip. The Hotel grounds were gorgeous and very well kept. The front desk and all staff were very professional and courteous. The room was very classic. Furniture was a little old but very clean. The bathrooms were polished and modern. The resort was quite luxurious and peaceful after a day at Legoland. The pools were pretty - nothing spectacular and the water was very cold. They had water jets from the ground for toddlers by the toddler pool. Again freezing water. The one amenity which we really appreciated was the game room for kids which had a air hockey table, billiards table, huge double dance arcade game, huge arcade style surfing game and 4 screens set up with Playstation games- all complimentary!
They have a beautiful tea time set up near the lobby, and complimentary tea or hot chocolate sometimes cider in the afternoons. We had a wonderful time. This resort is suitable for business, families with young children, and for those who just want to relax in their serene gardens with beautiful sculptures overlooking the lagoon.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LetsPack!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Spent two nights 12/30-1/1 in a 2-room suite overlooking the pool. Everything was great from the room to the spa to the service. The employees here are very well trained and some of the most professional I've seen (as good as at any Park Hyatt I've stayed at).

The hotel lobby, hallways, and grounds were immaculate and looked new. The living room of the suite had a desk, couch, coffee table, big TV with a dvd player, mini bar, balcony and half-bathroom. The bedroom had a good bed, chair, big TV with DVD player, and another balcony with a small table and 2 chairs. The bathroom had a great shower and had a separate deep tub.

The pools were very clean, nice, and heated to a comfortable level (we were the only nuts in the water). The underwater music was pretty cool, and having a 'no-kids' pool will definitely be nice when the hotel is more crowded. The hot tubs were also good.

The breakfast had an above average buffet and a good menu to order from. The prices were average for a nice hotel.

The spa is small but very good with a jacuzzi, sauna, and steam room in each locker room. There is also a sort-of lounge area where people wait for a massage, but it is also open to all spa clients and has coffee, tea, lemonade, water, and a small variety of appetizers (like vegis, nuts, and pastries) that change thru the day. For only $20 to access the spa and everything mentioned, it is a great way to spend a few hours.

We had dinner at the steakhouse and while pretty good, it was over-priced and not the best I've had. The 2nd night we drove out to PF Changs instead.

The parking also is over-priced at $30/day, but I've heard that you can park a half mile away for free at the tennis courts and catch the hotel shuttle that goes by every 5-10 minutes. We'll try that next time.

All-in-all it was a great stay and an exceptional hotel. I'd say definitely as good if not slightly better than Hyatt at Huntington Beach, but of course not near the ocean.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Perhaps I have lived a charmed life, but the insolent and incompetent service at last night's Christmas dinner at Vivace in the Aviara resort was our worst in memory. Don't get me wrong the food was delicious, but the service made the experience very unpleasant. Let me count the ways. First, the server Emily was dismissive of only spending $75 for a bottle of wine and the bus boy refused to bring olive oil to the table telling us to "get to like" the drippy ricotta based sauce for the outstanding bread. The first course of the 4 course fixed price menu arrived promptly, but, after and hour and 15 minutes of being completely ignored by the wait staff, Emily returned to the table to ask if we had received the second. No, we had not. Blaming the kitchen staff, Emily said she would get right on it. The final 3 courses then arrived one right after the other, with no time in between. At the end of the evening, after we questioned the $14 dollar charge for 2 bottles of water we had not ordered, Emily launched into a nearly incoherent diatribe. The manager, who was charming, salvaged the evening by apologizing for her behavior and taking $57 off the cost of the $450 dinner for 3. We left an $80 tip to show that it was not the money, but the terrible service. The bottom line: Vivace's food deserves its 4 diamond rating, but the resort needs to find and train better staff.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HiltonHeadrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.3 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
5.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,330 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4908
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $331 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Prestigia, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing