We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar

PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 335 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Carlsbad Village Dr.
Transit: Coaster Rail station 100 yards from the restaurant.
Description: Paon restaurant offers California cuisine with French influences. Beautiful patio dining, elegant Art Deco in intimate dining setting. Private dining available in handsome club environment. Paon chef features seasonal, locally grown organic produce for the palates of fine food lovers from all over the world. Spotlighting organic prime meats, game and fish prepared with traditional French sophistication. Beautiful lounge with old Hollywood feel and relaxing patio in a Downtown Carlsbad Village atmosphere. Paon's knowledgeable and attentive staff looks forward to creating an exceptional experience.
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
116 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Had a wonderful meal at Paon. Excellent scallop fennel and apple salad with a nice wine selection. The owner and staff are super friendly and enjoy serving you. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucierochon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    61
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The Best Food, Setting and Service in Carlsbad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

So glad we decided to try this highly rated restaurant and wine bar. The Duck Confit and Sweet Breads, coupled with great wine, made amemorable feast. The bartender and the chef get an A++.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank foxieCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This restaurant was perfect for date night! We started with the gnocchi, which was light and fluffy and in a wonderful cream sauce with some diced veggies. I could have taken a bath in it, and enjoyed every bite. For dinner, my husband had the venison (something I don't cook at home) and enjoyed it very much, especially the puree that it came with. I had the scallop dish, which was lovely. It came with a lobster and vegetables- delish! My only complaint is that ratatouille wasn't on the menu as an a la carte side dish or an entree, only because I love it so much and can't find it at a lot of restaurants. Our waiter selected a wonderful Cabernet Sauvignon for us, and while we didn't order dessert they looked amazing. The outdoor patio was charming, too. I just wish we lived closer!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfectly suited for a dinner with business associates.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

With colleagues on business in Oceanside, this restaurant was a terrific choice just a few miles away. The food was outstanding and the server suggested a well-priced pinot to go with our meal, which was appreciated. We sat outside, on the comfortable patio with heat lamps, and had a lovely evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sandalfon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tops: wine by glass, Martinis, decor, service. MMM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Title says it. V friendly. Low key. Best wines. Indoors & outdoors both great. Yellow fin tuna Fri night: awesome!!! Monday night's filet: good if over-cooked and dry: chef's night out? Wife's dinners (cant recall) were tops both nights.

Helpful?
Thank Picky_in_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing