We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tops: wine by glass, Martinis, decor, service. MMM!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar

PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 333 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Carlsbad Village Dr.
Transit: Coaster Rail station 100 yards from the restaurant.
Description: Paon restaurant offers California cuisine with French influences. Beautiful patio dining, elegant Art Deco in intimate dining setting. Private dining available in handsome club environment. Paon chef features seasonal, locally grown organic produce for the palates of fine food lovers from all over the world. Spotlighting organic prime meats, game and fish prepared with traditional French sophistication. Beautiful lounge with old Hollywood feel and relaxing patio in a Downtown Carlsbad Village atmosphere. Paon's knowledgeable and attentive staff looks forward to creating an exceptional experience.
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tops: wine by glass, Martinis, decor, service. MMM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Title says it. V friendly. Low key. Best wines. Indoors & outdoors both great. Yellow fin tuna Fri night: awesome!!! Monday night's filet: good if over-cooked and dry: chef's night out? Wife's dinners (cant recall) were tops both nights.

Helpful?
Thank Picky_in_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    59
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rancho santa fe
1 review
“OUTSTANDING ! ! !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Fantastic Cuisine & Great Service!

What else is there to say?

My entire family truly enjoyed our dinner!

Too bad a dress code is not enforced, as some
patrons wore shorts and baseball caps while
dining? What a shame that some have an
absolute void of any sort of class.

Overall a great experience!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank p r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Scallops and Seared Ahi in Town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I met with some friends for dinner at Paon Restaurant and we had a great time! They have the best service, a large selection of good wine, and the food is to die for. The scallops and seared ahi dishes are a must try! The restaurant is also a good place for a date. It has a very cozy and romantic decor.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful owners! Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We choose to eat here at the Bar in the late afternoon. Food was fantastic and huge servings. My GF and I split the hamburger with smoked cheddar rather than blue cheese. Separate plates were given with out asking and the tower of fries on each plate were delicious and filling even thought there were so few per person. Hand cut and seasoned just right. The desserts are to die for....we split the Creme Brûlée which had actual vanilla seeds on the bottom. I also recommend the strawberries in Balsamic reduction...I finished off my son's, the ice cream also had pure vanilla beans in it. Delicious! The reduction was so very very good. The hamburger was cooked to perfection. My son had the mushroom risotto and it too was good....lots of cheese. The owners were very kind and friendly. Both of whom know my son from previous dining. I've had salads on previous visits and those too were very tasteful and perfectly seasoned. They plan to open another restaurant across the street..38 (degrees) unable to make the symbol...which is the perfect temperature for storing beer and lots of beer is what he'll have with spigots directly connected to the barrels. The decor in the dining room is more formal than the bar or patio. It was too cold for us on the patio so we chose the bar. Great selection of wines with a wine cellar behind the restaurant which holds tastings.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank iTGrrl210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

It was a tall order, driving from Orange County to Carlsbad just to go to a restaurant for lunch. But how we were so rewarded for the effort. Hands down - the best duck confit cassoulet I have ever had. My wife is still raving about her angus burger...yes raving about a hamburger no less. I will tell you how hooked we were.....we came home and tried to see if there was an Amtrak stop nearby because the next time we visit, this superb food deserves a superb wine with no thought of driving 60 miles home. This restaurant deserves every accolade that you see written here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveldennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing