We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Top Notch, all the way around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar

PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar
2975 Roosevelt St, Ste 102, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2335
(760) 729-7377
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 324 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Gluten Free, French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Carlsbad Village Dr.
Transit: Coaster Rail station 100 yards from the restaurant.
Description: Paon restaurant offers California cuisine with French influences. Beautiful patio dining, elegant Art Deco in intimate dining setting. Private dining available in handsome club environment. Paon chef features seasonal, locally grown organic produce for the palates of fine food lovers from all over the world. Spotlighting organic prime meats, game and fish prepared with traditional French sophistication. Beautiful lounge with old Hollywood feel and relaxing patio in a Downtown Carlsbad Village atmosphere. Paon's knowledgeable and attentive staff looks forward to creating an exceptional experience.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Top Notch, all the way around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A super spot worth a trip, especially for a nice occasion. From the bar where we were given full details on handcrafted cocktails to the table where the menu was flush with nice options, this spot was excellent. The service was stellar, they had a very extensive wine list (though we'd brought our own for the occasion.) The menu featured lots of variety and options that you don't often find, wild game and pheasant. Delicious. Would absolutely go back, they know what they're doing here and they do it well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fozzetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    53
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Definitely #1 in Carlsbad and we are foodies.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We spent a week in Carlsbad. Until we found Paon, we were suffering and wondering what people do in the area for exceptional restaurant experiences. Service, food, wine were all excellent. Patio is delightful European bistro experience. If you love excellent food and wine, don't miss this one. We learned Papn means peacock in French. And they indeed should strut their stuff.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank devilinthedetails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
“really good food, super stuffy service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The food is worth going, it's really excellent. First time I went I got the seared Ahi Tuna and the second time I went I got the Duck as well as the beet/goat cheese salad. Holy cow. I literally couldn't help but say 'mmmm' after almost every bite. Then we got this dessert that's like a super fancy apple pie, it's insane; hands down best dessert I've ever had in a restaurant. But, every time we go the waiters are the typical stuffy wine waiters. The service is certainly prompt, but they their personalities suck and make us feel like we know nothing and make us feel that we're not good enough to be in there.The wine menu is great though, some really good stuff, but the price mark up is insane. I suppose that's normal to inflate a bottle price by 300%?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abellerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
299 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Carlsbad Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Steve(owner/Partner) will greet you when arriving. The expansive bar area has excellent appetizers and short meals that are incredibly done and all very well prepared. Try the short ribs and veggies. They pour a good drink and glass of wine at very reasonable prices too. Nice wine bar attached to the restaurant for warming up or for a nice tasting in a cozy environment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jrodenhausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quality of Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have been frequenting the PAON Restaurant for three years now and find the food to be of excellent quality, especially the Bass and Braised Rib dishes. The lamb salad is excellent as well as the desserts.
The service is outstanding as the waiters are quite solicitous and the owners (husband and wife) have always been there to make sure you have a great eating experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to PAON Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing