We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, even though it wasn't what we ordered.”

Tommy V's Urban Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Tommy V's Urban Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #115 of 337 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Palomar Airport Road
Description: Just opened in June, amazing neighborhood restaurant. Food is unique, fresh and delicious and the atmosphere is fun. Large, clean, bar area with tables and several flat screen tvs for watching sports misc. Also has a really nice outdoor dining area.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, even though it wasn't what we ordered.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Love the atmosphere. A really classy bar/bistro. We ordered martinis to start. My Appletini was delicious. We then ordered the filet mignonette bruschetta to start and split a caprese burger, medium rare. Both orders came out at once. Wierd. The bruschetta was fantastic, and so was the burger, but it wasn't the one we ordered. To their credit, they offered to replace it, but the burger we got looked great so we went with that. It was properly prepared and very good. My husband loved the thick French fries. We'll be back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marilee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
442 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Get the Urban Board”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Came in around 4pm and since that is such a random time we were pretty much the only ones here. We sat at the bar and were provided with excellent service from the bartender. They have a small amount of beer on tap but they make up for it with great cocktails. We ordered the Urban Board which had a ton of food, cheese, meats, flatbread, olives, all sorts of good things. We also had an order of the bruschetta with apple and brie which was good but not needed since the board was so large. The restaurant was clean as well as the bathrooms. They have an outdoor patio and the inside of the restaurant is large, open and airy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aprilp2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California, USA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Noisy, No service, Clip joint”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Loud... Kids aloud in bar. Saw a woman holding her baby while standing at a belly bar table drinking a Cosmo.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The place to go for Happy Hour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

My friends and I went to Happy Hour and enjoyed a very tasty selection of pick from their lounge list. We has calamari, crab cake sliders, fried artichokes, and apple and Brie bruschetta along with small side salads. Every thing was delicious and served promptly, even with a very busy crowd. We ended our meal with the chocolate and cheesecake layer cake, which we shared, due to it's large size. They house wines were also very good, a cabernet and a Chardonnay. All in all, a very good time was had by all!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“filet mignon bruschetta..wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Make sure to come to this place and order this magical treat. The setting at this restaurant is marvelous, in Bressi Ranch. They sometimes have live music on weekends, which makes the experience more enjoyable. The only downside is they have no beers on tap. Only bottles...well since the last time I was there..maybe that has changed. Good food, good service, and it can get a bit loud at times. Fun crowd, I believe this place is geared for 21-34.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Preston S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy V's Urban Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Tommy V's Urban Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing