We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”

Las Olas Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 341 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
219 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We always went to the beach location. This was our first time here. It was quiet and cute. Great food as always!
Our service was good but not great, he seemed busy.
Yes we will go back.

Helpful?
Thank clscorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    124
    45
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good Food & Fast Service”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our first supper in California after landing there that morning. We were looking for some decent Mexican food, versus the food court stuff we get at restaurants back home, and las olas did not disappoint. The extensive menu was also inexpensive - this was not Mexican fine dining, but it was tasty with generous portions.

The décor is a bit rustic, with lots of surf boards on the walls, and it looks like they get large crowds. We had an early supper, but were amazed by how fast the service was. There was no shortage of friendly staff, perhaps in anticipation of the larger crowd to follow, but even the turnaround of getting our meals was very quick. It was about 60% full when we left, but our waitress did not slow down one bit.

I`m not sure how our experience might have been had we eaten later in the evening, but we would definitely come back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric107_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly suburbs
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really?”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went for dinner wanted good Mexican food. So someone recommended this place. Why , I am not sure. Thought there would be better food here then back home...NOT! The menu is not what I consider Real Mexican food. Very disappointed to see nothing that was not cheesy and over cooked and slathered in some sauce. My husband ordered soup and they brought it out with the meal so we sent it back and they forgot to take it off the check. But that is not the problem, the menu you should check out before you go. If you want the traditional burritos, tacos and enchiladas this is for you but if you want fine Mexican food, steak, shrimp or chicken look elsewhere

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mindalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This is an excellent place to eat.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We visited on a Tuesday and the crowd was light. The food was fantastic. I gas the relent and enchilada plate. My wife has the char grilled chicken tacos. We had the appetizer of deep fried peppers. The appetizer was good, although it arrived after the main dishes. They should have told us it took a long time. We had 2 children with us and the staff was very accommodating. Tis is a family friendly place. I will go back and try another dish!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoKid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua Hi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a fan”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Just Nothing special. Cute atmosphere close to the beach. Too Tex-mex, much better Mexican food places in Carlsbad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brandolynw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Olas Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Las Olas Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing