We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Family Vacation”
Review of Ocean Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlsbad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Villas
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Right on the sand in Carlsbad, CA. Well appointed with a full kitchen. New ownership seems committed to keep the property in tip top shape. We taxpayers brought in millions of yards of sand to enlarge the beach in 2012-2013. Great place for a family vacation. Been coming for ~30 years and hope to continue.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue95476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our family LOVES Carlsbad, and we will definetly return. The Ocean Villas are in THE best location, walking distance to restaurants, shopping and coffee shops - and of course it is RIGHT on an amazing beach.

We had unit H, a Catalina 1 bedroom unit, and it is fine for four of us including two teenagers. This is NOT a 5-star hotel, rather a home away from home with a very comfortable king sized bed, all the cooking supplies that you need, a nice living room/dining room, and a wonderful deck with a barbeque and gas fireplace. Our girls chose to sleep on the sofa instead of the matresses provided for extra beds, and they were happy and comfortable.

Everything is clean and nice. This is an oceanfront property, and the building in general takes a lot of abuse from the elements, but the upkeep is good. I am VERY picky about cleanliness, and have no issues here. If I had my choice I would prefer tile flooring instead of carpet in the living and bed rooms, but that is just my preference.

They have sun umbrellas, beach chairs, lots of boogie boards, and toys for little ones to play with at the beach. The beach is amazing. In late September we swam without wetsuits, and boogie boarded frequently. There were surfers in the water (in wetsuits mostly) before 11 a.m and after 5 pm.

We took the Coaster in to San Diego to watch a ball game one night - just a few blocks from the Ocean Villas to to the station (about 50 min), and I'm told that you can take the train to Disneyland too, but we chose to drive. They have garage parking that is a bit tricky to get into, but we had a full-sized car and were able to get in. Disneyland is about an hour drive from Carlsbad.

On this trip we chose to stay in Anaheim for several days, and returned for our final City Pass day by driving from Carlsbad...if we were to do it again I would just stay in Carlsbad the entire time. It is so much nicer to wake up near the ocean, and relax by the beach in the evening...it sounds like a lot of driving, but it really is worth the drive.

In general, we found Carlsbad to be the perfect location due to its central proximity to both San Diego and Disneyland...and we highly recommend the Ocean Villas.

Room Tip: We liked the North side of the building, where there wasn't any foot traffic going down to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank northwestfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here for two nights. The Penthouse was well laid out and well furnished as was the private balcony overlooking the ocean and the barbaque and fire ring.. We were able to walk to the local restaurants and shops.. the location allows you to be close to all with out being in the midst of the summer tourist noise... The suite was clean and well furnished... I would recommend this to anyone coming to Carlsbad and southern california for a beach get away.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful with views.. but if this is your yearly vacation.. go for a larger room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at Ocean Villas at Carlsbad twice in the last three years. The first year, we stayed in a one bedroom unit and had a wonderful time. Last year, we decided to splurge and stay in the penthouse and it could not have been more perfect.
This is our absolute favorite vacation spot. The entire staff is wonderful and will help you with anything you need. We love it so much, we are going back for our third time in September, staying in the penthouse again. We can't wait. If you need a beautiful place to stay that is RIGHT on the beach and has wonderful accommodations, look no further!
Jennifer (Surprise, AZ)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jarodswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.0 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Villas

Address: 2985 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Carlsbad
Price Range: $80 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful property is located right on the sand, just steps to the water. The only thing between you and the waves is the beach and the people frolicking on the sand and in the ocean. This lovely complex boasts 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites along with 2 small hotel rooms. From our luxury 1700 sq. ft. Penthouse to our two bedroom Sand Suite, you will enjoy the best of panoramic ocean views in the comforting home style atmosphere. Ocean Villas has been a favorite beach retreat for return vacationers for years and years.Each spacious suite has its own large ocean front patio with Granite Fire Pit and Gas BBQ that make your beach holiday one you will always remember. There is no better way to enjoy the spectacular sunsets than from the comfort of your own patio around a warm fire, while watching the pelicans surf the waves. Fully equipped kitchens, large living rooms and bedrooms with King beds and sectional sofas for added sleeping, make Ocean Villas great for long vacations or those quiet, last minute get-aways. Ideally located for your vacation needs, you can park your car in the enclosed garage and walk to the Village of Carlsbad to experience the variety of wonderful restaurants and unique shops. Enjoy leisurely strolls along Carlsbad’s famous Seaside Walkway. Come in the spring and fall for the fabulous Carlsbad Village Fair, participate in the Carlsbad 5K or the Carlsbad Triathlon. There is always something fun to do in our city. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing