We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood Combo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse

BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse
Ranked #31 of 335 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Seafood Combo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Tried going lower calorie than normal. Mahi Mahi and Scallops turned out to be a winner. wife had the Moroccan salmon which she really enjoyed. The rolls were much better than average.
We both liked our salads (I'm partial to the wedge). Service is good. Only negative is the noise level (we minimized this by eating early).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob7779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    118
    37
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
116 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Oh ya!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place to eat after Legoland. We were still hit and sat outside. We relaxed and enjoyed our food. My favorite was the Pazookie. I got my mom hooked.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank infogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasteless meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We order burgers and the pasta dishes and the burger just wasn't seasoned and the sauce on the pasta were all so bland.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Excellent from the start!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

For some reason, probably because it's across from an outlet mall, I didn't expect much from BJ's but had a wonderful experience tasting their beers and having dinner there. They were busy, but it was a Saturday night so anticipated a 30 minute wait. We were seated before the estimated wait and had attentive service all evening. We shared one of their deep dish pizzas - they have both hand-tossed and deep dish - yummmm! The menu has many other choices besides pizza so check out their menu if pizza's not your thing, but it went well with a flight of 12 4-ounce tastings of their own brews on tap. The style of the restaurant's rather grand exterior slightly reminded me of PF Chang's - (It could have been the tall ceilings. The only negative was that it was a little on the noisy side. There was a high level of white noise that seemed to carry from all over the restaurant, but I think that is supposed to be part of its personality, so you have to decide if it's important to you. I would definitely go back and invite friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LokiMiloStranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always good food and plenty of it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Right across from the outlets, this is a great place to start your shopping day. The food is phenomenal. So many options--including tasty gluten-free options. Lots of TV screens for sports fans. The chopped salad is a personal favorite. Plenty to eat and take home for lunch the next day. They also have Take-Out. The gluten-free pizza is quite tasty. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise92011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse also viewed

 

Been to BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing