We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a date”
Review of Carlsbad Lagoon

Carlsbad Lagoon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great place for a date”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The lagoon is a peaceful place for a date. You can go kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, to name a few ideas. It's easy access, right off the 5 freeway, and close to town to go grab lunch after hitting the lagoon in the morning. I've heard that many boy scouts and girls scouts go there for field trips as well. If you're in soCal, you should check it out at least once!

Helpful?
1 Thank SurfCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    44
    10
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Semi private beach day.”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

If you don't like crowds and just want a place to take the kids to play in the sand, this is a good place. The logoon is merky with green water but it is calm and you don't have to worry about a wave or currents whisking your child away.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Al247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to keep the whole family happy!!”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

My family and I were vacationing in the San Diego area and spent a day at the Carlsbad lagoon. We rented a wave runner which my husband was the most pleased with and took turns with the kids and we rented some SUPs to switch off on while the others were on the wave runner. The employees at the business on the Carlsbad lagoon were all very friendly and helpful and were very clear on safety and rules, as a mother i was very happy for this. Even my youngest was occupied the whole time with the black wonder dog playing fetch for hours. With everyone well taken care of and distracted I was able to relax on the beach in the sun.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A piece of tranquility”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

A nature trail along the lagoon/estuary that is picturesque, lots of birds, trees and local vegetation. On weekends, a favorite outing for locals and the path is like a 2 lane highway! Other times it's a retreat from the crowds and traffic

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank physiomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Local place to Kayak”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

One of the few places you can "put in" your Kayak in North County. Kayakers do have to compete with the motorized vehicles but there are places for passive vessels only. Lots of paddle boarders. The Southern end has very cool lagoon trails that only kayaks can reach but be sure to go at high tide so you don't get stuck in the mud!

Helpful?
2 Thank copejenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlsbad Lagoon also viewed

 

Been to Carlsbad Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing