We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bienvenido a Mexico, fun place to share a margarita with friends.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Bandini

Casa de Bandini
Ranked #12 of 323 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Gluten Free, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Indulge in authentic award-winning Mexican cuisine amidst lavish dining rooms and an enchanting outdoor patio at Casa de Bandini, located at The Forum in Carlsbad.
California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bienvenido a Mexico, fun place to share a margarita with friends.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have been a big fan of casa de bandini for many years. I just love the fun atmosphere of the bar. Expect the typical mexican restaurant: loud mariachis band, lots of colors, packed with families. Casa de bandini is a fun place to share a margarita with friends or to celebrate a birthday, now if you are looking for a romantic place........hmmm maybe this is not the right place for you. Food: huge portion / basic quality / fair price / big menu. Great for happy hours. Located in an outdoor mall so parking is easy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iamstarving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    96
    31
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vista
Level Contributor
121 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Food is good...however..if you are looking for something more quiet or intimate...not your place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Food was good, I tend to like smaller more intimate settings. This place is crowded. If you like the hang on the the beeper thing this is your place. The food was actually quite good but could not hear my guest at all and we had to yell. (also had my debit card number lifted there and sold to Nigeria...so well...)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PrincessWildhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“High blood pressure stay away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Possibly the saltiest food I have ever eaten anywhere in my life! However, if you don't mind that, and don't mind yelling to be heard at your own table, then the atmosphere, the music, the drinks and the service are stellar. Go for lunch or Happy Hour for good prices and good selections.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bobbiegailh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good, but loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Atmosphere is great--just so loud inside. And food is very salty.
We live near by and only go for happy hour as I don't like to go out for dinner and not be able to hear the person next to you.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank hopeithelps26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our family really enjoyed eating underneath the umbrellas in the outdoor patio. Coming from the 105 degree temps of Scottsdale made it seem like an oasis. I thought the food was a little over-priced but quite tasty. I tried the black bean burrito which was enormous and my wife had the chicken burrito bandini. Both excellent choices.
Quite intested in the comments from the locals in regard to the original restaurant in Old Town. The CARLSBAD location would compare favorably to many excellent Mexican restaurants in Phoenix. Our service was very prompt and our waitress was so nice in helping us with the menu.
Did not have the time to try any other places in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BRUCEfmMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa de Bandini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing