We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Setting”
Review of Casa de Bandini

Casa de Bandini
Ranked #9 of 393 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Indulge in authentic award-winning Mexican cuisine amidst lavish dining rooms and an enchanting outdoor patio at Casa de Bandini, located at The Forum in Carlsbad.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our family really enjoyed eating underneath the umbrellas in the outdoor patio. Coming from the 105 degree temps of Scottsdale made it seem like an oasis. I thought the food was a little over-priced but quite tasty. I tried the black bean burrito which was enormous and my wife had the chicken burrito bandini. Both excellent choices.
Quite intested in the comments from the locals in regard to the original restaurant in Old Town. The CARLSBAD location would compare favorably to many excellent Mexican restaurants in Phoenix. Our service was very prompt and our waitress was so nice in helping us with the menu.
Did not have the time to try any other places in the area.

Date of visit: August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BRUCEfmMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 445 of 506 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Building looks amazing inside and out. Food tasted okay, with not very much flavor, and a little greasy. Margaritas are okay but it seems like they are using wine instead of tequila, just the same way they made them in old town. Server seemed in a rush and not very friendly. The only thing that I liked was the fried ice cream. Drove 35 minutes and was not amazed.

Date of visit: August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

When Ms. Powers had this restaurant in Old Town San Diego, it was a huge hit. In Carlsbad, not at all. The food is very poor, service lacking in all points. Carlsbad has some wonderuful Mexican restaurants--Norte, even Miguel's--which have much better food.

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank floribel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Biggest and best margaritas!! The food is really good too. Traditional Mexican food with a California twist. Fresh flour tortillas!!!

Date of visit: October 2011
Thank AzaleaM_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I'll start by saying that we didn't actually eat here......and only stopped in for a margarita on a hot summer afternoon. We were seated immediately (around 3:30pm) on the patio. All of the tables had umbrellas which was a welcome escape from the sun. Good margaritas......lovely summer ambiance.....great service (Victor thank you!) I would definitely return for a relaxing afternoon cocktail on their patio!

Date of visit: August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sulphursister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa de Bandini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing