We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Monument, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice but Disappointing”
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We are Hilton Grand Vacation owners. We have been to HI and Cabo so far. Each place was a huge wow!!!! This was our third Hilton Resort. I must say it was a huge disappointment. The impression in the marketing materials was that this place was very close to the ocean. In reality, one could see the ocean off in the distance, across the 5, but a set of binoculars are almost necessary. It is not within walking distance. The next door Crossing Golf course is a nice feature, but it is not for the faint of heart. I am a 6 handicap and this was a very challenging course. 18 handicappers should beware and bring a lot of balls; however, it is an excellent course. The rooms are extremely nice. We had our entire family (9 Adults and 2 kids) in two three bedrooms. The bedrooms have first rate beds and are spacious- no problems here. They have huge dining room tables which accommodated our family dinners and family games easily. Costco is only a mile or two away. Many many restaurants and shopping are a very short drive. But there was nothing at this place that said "resort". In fact, in its current state, the next door nearly Sheraton swallows it up. Ironically, they do share features with the Sheraton. My son and daughter in law got a wonderful couples massage at the Sheraton which was arranged by the Hilton staff. The staff was excellent. I have no complaints with them. The biggest problem I had with this place is that it absolutely had no wow factor once you opened the door to go outside. There are no amazing views. The pool and workout area are modest at best. They are nice, clean, but no pizazz! I recommend this place only for those who have no expectation of coming to a resort. It is a nice small hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msp4517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your recent experience at Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa. You visited MarBrisa in the early stages of development, while our team is working diligently to complete Phase I of the resort. Phase II of the resort will provide the “Wow” resort atmosphere you mention in your post, offering the main lobby, resort style pool, sports center and enhanced recreation amenities. The staff and I will continue our commitment to providing well maintained, spotless accommodations and excellent service creating unforgettable vacations for those who visit us at MarBrisa. On your future travels to Carlsbad I hope you stop by MarBrisa to see our progress. I am certain with the addition of Phase II you will experience the resort feel you are looking to enjoy.

Kind regards,

Ben Sjodin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    340
    175
    81
    50
See reviews for
794
356
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

The property was beautiful. However, we thought the property would be closer to the beach. We stayed in a studio which was on the ground floor. It was close to the pool and gym which was nice. However, we did not have a view of the ocean. We asked to be upgraded to a one bedroom but there were non available.

If you had kids, it would be a perfect location because it is right next to Legoland. The roller coaster went right in front of the property.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettieKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights recently, and we enjoyed it a lot.

Pro: The property is very nice, the units are practically brand new , very roomy, and beautifully decorated. Service was very good and friendly. The pool was so nice and warm, given the fact that the outside temperature was in the low 60s, it was much much appreciated. Room service (from the Sheraton) would actually deliver food to the pool which is great. The recreation staff was very sweet and friendly.

Con: No elevators. None. Zilch. Nada. If you have a lot of luggage, ask for the ground floor. It really surprised me.
It is a bit far from everything. No walking distance to anything other than the Sheraton nextdoors, and the golf course across the way. Some of the rooms are labeled "ocean view", bit unless you consider a thin blue line at the horizon a view, nothing else can be seen.
The lobby is a tiny office, so there's no place to hang out while you wait for friends, etc.
The resort is not fully developed yet, so there's only 1 pool and 1 jacuzzi. So, if you're looking for peace and quiet, this may not the place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WLAMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights at this fantastic new resort. As we are HGVC Owners, we tried for months to book a 2 bedroom condo and sooooo happy a unit eventualy became available. We think we were the 1st people to stay in our unit, so everything was perfect. The staff could not be enough, from check-in, water/towels at the pool, pool movie-night and providing information about SPA & Golf. FIRST CLASS!

Minor points to improve would be the seating on the balcany...could not understand why a unit that sleeps 6 people, only had 2 chairs and a very low drinks table. We had two balcanys, and we love having breakfast outside or an evening glass of wine....it would have been nice to enjoy the view of the Golf Course. More chairs and a proper table please.

Another minor point is that we witnessed one family who had atleast 2 adults and 10 children in a 2 bedroom unit. Not great when the kids played basketball inside the unit below us at 7am. Tighter control required on the number of people who stay in each unit. This volume of people has direct impact on the limited parking and also pool area.

This is a stupendous resort now......and is only 20% complete, it is close to Legoland, Outlet Mall, Restuarants and great surf on the beach. The facilities at the Sheraton Hotel can also be used (dining and SPA). Cant wait to all the units will be complete (visit the resorts webpage to see detailed construction plans). However for our family the highlight was the Crossroads Gold Club, which is only across the road for the resort. This is how golf should be played, great course and 1st class service.

We will be back to this resort on many, many occasions in the future.

During this vacation we also stayed at: Hilton Heathrow Airport T4, Hilton San Francisco, The Clement InterContinental Monterey, Treebones Resort Big Sur, Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo, Fess Parker's DoubleTree Resort, HGVC Grand Pacific Marbrisa Carlsbad, HGVC on the Las Vegas Strip, and Doubletree Times Square NYC.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhenAreWeThere!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanaway
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I know this is a timeshare in its early stages, and after reading some of the earlier reviews, I was a little worried. Oh, my, this resort is a GEM. The staff at Marbrisa are very customer oriented, from the activity coordinators, the housekeeping the front desk, the concierge, everyone. The manager came down by the pool one morning wanting feedback, so we chatted for awhile, he's very genuinely involved with the property and wants to please its guests. I told him I loved the resort. The only thing I didn't love was all the children in 1 pool when I was there for peace and quiet. He assured me that since the complex is in its early stages, no worries, there will be lots of adult pools. We stayed in a 3 bedroom one night, very nice, and then moved to the one bedroom premium for 3 nights --- full kitchens, nice deep bathtubs, granite countertops and modern kitchens, good internet desk area, awesome tv's and balconies, loved the property. Can't say enough good things about it. It's not as close to the beach as we hoped, but it's close to shopping at the premium outlets and tons of great places to eat. CHART HOUSE in Cardiff is a must - make reservations at sunset. Rubios good mexican.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

we own a weeks timeshare at this resort and this was our first visit. We were very impressed, the staff are amazing, they all go out of their way to be helpful and make you feel special. The apartment is lovely with good selection of equipment. The pool area is clean and tidy with free bottles of water which is a really nice touch. We ordered food from the 20/twenty grill to eat by the pool, the food was great but it did work out quite expensive, if planning a day by the pool I would buy food from the supermarket in advance. Can't wait to go back to this resort, just wish it wasn't an eleven hour flight away!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floridafun_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marina del rey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2010

The MarBrisa manager and his staff are one of the major reasons we keep coming back to this beautiful resort. The service is unmatched to any of the other properties in the area where we have stayed only when we could not get into MarBrisa. There is always a "hello" and a smile to share. The suites have a beautiful golf course or ocean view, some both. It is close to the beach and numerous restaurants. And, of course, it overlooks Legoland. What more can one ask for on vacation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njbsbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
1.3 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
656 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.6 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort

Property: MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Address: 1594 MarBrisa Circle, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#23 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Marbrisa Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing