We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Although the resort staff was friendly and tried to be helpful, they couldn't do anything about the 2 main issues with this property - Location and Construction. The property is located next to Legoland and they get started at 6:30AM, very noisy. Also, you can hear everything that happens in the rooms above and beside you!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    283
    142
    65
    45
See reviews for
651
299
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

It's a great place to stay. An elevator would really help instead having to climb stairs with heavy luggage. Everything is spread out. It is trek for some if the guest to get to the newer areas. I don't think you should have to walk do far or have to drive. Maybe offer complimentary shuttle service to certain places.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We just got back from a week's vacation at this property. We had a 3 bedroom/2 bath in building 54. We aren't owners in this timeshare property but did rent through another owner. Our condo worked out perfectly for our family of five. My parents took the Master Bedroom that had a nice King size bed. My husband and I had the 2nd bedroom which also had a nice king size bed and then our 7 year old had the 3rd bedroom that had a double and a twin so really could have slept 3 children. He loved having his own room with his own TV. I will say that each room had a TV which was fantastic but they were all different TV's and worked differently with remotes so we had to have one of the techs come show us how to make them work. Once we got that figured out, we were okay. We had free Wi-Fi but it didn't always work well. After about 10 minutes of use, it would disconnect and then you would have to go back in and reconnect. Not a huge deal but if you were working on something important then you could lose your work.

The beds were all very comfortable with really soft sheets and fluffy comforters. The condo had great A/C except in the back bedroom (2nd bedroom). It would get warm at night when the rest of the unit was very nice and cool. Having a kitchen worked out great and the BBQs were right outside our building which made cooking easy. The condos don't have washer and dryers in the units which was the only downfall we can list. The washer and dryer room was in building 53 which wasn't too far away, however one dryer was broken and the other dryer wasn't working properly so I had to go up and down the stairs and walk over to bld 53 five different times over a 3 hour period to get the clothes to finally finish drying. We only did laundry once because of this problem. I felt sorry for families who had 4+ kids (and there were several) who were trying to do loads of laundry and it just wasn't working out for them....not to mention it was taking valuable time away from their vacation. I learned that the newest buildings have W/D in each unit so that is really nice but I think the majority of the condos don't have them.

There are several pools at the complex. One smaller pool was right by our building. It was heated, had a hot tub, a fun water feater for kids to play in plus a full game room. We really liked the convenience if we didn't want to walk all the way down to the other bigger pool. We used this pool several times. Then we walked down to the bigger pool which was even more heated, had a full bar and food menu plus music playing. There were a lot of families traveling with kids so my son made all kinds of friends. We enjoyed having lunch by poolside and enjoyed the music when we could hear it. The resort is constructing two more buildings right behind the pool so the noise of the construction definitely was loud and could cause some annoyance if you let it bother you. We just tuned it out but did realize they are just starting on this project, so the construction will probably take at least a year to get the next two buildings built.

We never were approached to do a timeshare presentation, and I think it's because we didn't go to the "sales desk" to pick up our discounts to local restaurants. That's when they get ya!

The staff was always very friendly. We would request towels and that would take quite a while and we did need to remind them of our mid week cleaning, but once they came to clean, they did a great job.

The location is fantastic! We didn't visit Legoland on this trip, but the resort has it's own entrance which from what we heard from other families, was a huge bonus. The resort is close to the I-5 which makes getting around easy. It only took 30 minutes to get to SeaWorld and 35 minutes to the USS Midway. Lots of wonderful restaurants near by and the weather was perfect!

All in all this was a terrific vacation and if given the chance we would rent again from this property.

Room Tip: Ask to be in one of the newest buildings that just opened. Washer and Dryers in each room, close to...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel was very environmentally friendly. Lots of recycle stations and conserving water when needed.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellensMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel/Grand Vacations condo system is in a great location if you want to go to Legoland. There is even a private entrance with no waiting to the theme park! We were offered a discounted rate package in exchange for listening to a 90 minute timeshare offer (which we declined).

The reasons why I gave this hotel just 3 stars are:
-Our studio room was too small for the price. There is a kitchenette, but the room itself is much smaller than we are used to for what we paid.
-Our room is supposedly a "park view," but instead there are construction fences as far as the eye can see.
-There is some mold and rust by the bathroom door on the wall, even though this building is brand new.
-We had no maid service for some reason today. Could it be because we declined the timeshare?
-There is no restaurant of any kind on the property. The nearest restaurant is at the Sheraton, which is a bit of a walk away.

Other than these reasons, we were happy enough with the facilities. The pool is nice, and other than the mold, the room is very clean.

Room Tip: The rooms with a "park view" don't have a park nearby as of yet. Unless they mean Lego...
See more room tips
Green Features: Not bad, but nothing very different from the average hotel chain.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Overall resort was good, but room cleanliness and maintenance needs attention. Bring your own BBQ as the ones provided don't work (2 yrs in a row). The carpets in the room looked like a cheap hotel and we had to request them to be cleaned in both units and then they did not clean and we had to call again. Then they only cleaned one unit. I gave up!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Marcus Shaun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi Marcus Shaun G ,
First and foremost we would like to thank you for providing us with all your feedback. We apologize that the BBQ did not work during your stay. We also apologize that our staff was not able to provide you with assistance throughout your stay. We encourage you to contact us at jogarcia@gpresorts.com and one of our team members will get back to you shortly. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

This timeshare is the worst that we have stayed in. There is no elevators - all stairs - which makes it difficult to unload a weeks worth of food, clothes and other items. It was right up against Lego Land and all we heard all day was the roller coaster gearing up - gearing down - gearing up - gearing down and kids screaming all day. No washer or dryer in the unit as was told when we bought the timeshare. No Jacuzzi tub in the unit either. The pool was a good walk to get to, not safe to send a kid by himself too, and the other one was really cold, no service at the food stands, the hot tubs both were broken and again a long walk from the unit. The restaurant was expensive and not even a type of place to take kids.

I have asked for answers on what we were sold and what we got and I to this day - a year later - have not heard from any one from this resort or the Grand Pacific Resorts.

Room Tip: Stay close to the pools and get away from Lego Land. Better yet pick a different resort.
See more room tips
Green Features: Friendly? Yes - Helpful? - NO Our room smelled like wet carpet when we got there and they said they would put a fan in and an ozone machine-BUT- we had to leave for a couple of hours - What?? We just drove 12 hours and you want us to leave for a couple of hours??
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi Kevin M,
We're truly sorry to hear about your experience and would love to look into these events further. Please contact us at jogarcia@gpresorts.com and one of our staff members will get back to you shortly. Please know that we value you as a guest and hope to hear from you soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelBug070707
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We just stayed at the Marbrisa and location is awesome- seconds from Legoland and minutes from the beach. We have a 3 year old and 1 year old and they both loved the pool areas at the resort on days we didn't go to Legoland. Plus, the hotel had other activities for kids and a Lego scavenger hunt. The rooms were clean and the staff was nice! We look forward to coming back and staying at the Marbrisa in the summers to come when our little one can go on more rides at Legoland.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBug070707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello TravelBug070707,
Thank you for providing us with your review. We're thrilled to hear that you will be returning to stay with us with your family. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
1.4 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.2 mi away
LEGOLAND California Hotel
0.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort

Property: MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Address: 1594 MarBrisa Circle, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#23 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Marbrisa Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing