We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel/Grand Vacations condo system is in a great location if you want to go to Legoland. There is even a private entrance with no waiting to the theme park! We were offered a discounted rate package in exchange for listening to a 90 minute timeshare offer (which we declined).

The reasons why I gave this hotel just 3 stars are:
-Our studio room was too small for the price. There is a kitchenette, but the room itself is much smaller than we are used to for what we paid.
-Our room is supposedly a "park view," but instead there are construction fences as far as the eye can see.
-There is some mold and rust by the bathroom door on the wall, even though this building is brand new.
-We had no maid service for some reason today. Could it be because we declined the timeshare?
-There is no restaurant of any kind on the property. The nearest restaurant is at the Sheraton, which is a bit of a walk away.

Other than these reasons, we were happy enough with the facilities. The pool is nice, and other than the mold, the room is very clean.

Room Tip: The rooms with a "park view" don't have a park nearby as of yet. Unless they mean Lego...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank greenrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Overall resort was good, but room cleanliness and maintenance needs attention. Bring your own BBQ as the ones provided don't work (2 yrs in a row). The carpets in the room looked like a cheap hotel and we had to request them to be cleaned in both units and then they did not clean and we had to call again. Then they only cleaned one unit. I gave up!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Marcus Shaun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hi Marcus Shaun G ,
First and foremost we would like to thank you for providing us with all your feedback. We apologize that the BBQ did not work during your stay. We also apologize that our staff was not able to provide you with assistance throughout your stay. We encourage you to contact us at jogarcia@gpresorts.com and one of our team members will get back to you shortly. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This timeshare is the worst that we have stayed in. There is no elevators - all stairs - which makes it difficult to unload a weeks worth of food, clothes and other items. It was right up against Lego Land and all we heard all day was the roller coaster gearing up - gearing down - gearing up - gearing down and kids screaming all day. No washer or dryer in the unit as was told when we bought the timeshare. No Jacuzzi tub in the unit either. The pool was a good walk to get to, not safe to send a kid by himself too, and the other one was really cold, no service at the food stands, the hot tubs both were broken and again a long walk from the unit. The restaurant was expensive and not even a type of place to take kids.

I have asked for answers on what we were sold and what we got and I to this day - a year later - have not heard from any one from this resort or the Grand Pacific Resorts.

Room Tip: Stay close to the pools and get away from Lego Land. Better yet pick a different resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hi Kevin M,
We're truly sorry to hear about your experience and would love to look into these events further. Please contact us at jogarcia@gpresorts.com and one of our staff members will get back to you shortly. Please know that we value you as a guest and hope to hear from you soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We just stayed at the Marbrisa and location is awesome- seconds from Legoland and minutes from the beach. We have a 3 year old and 1 year old and they both loved the pool areas at the resort on days we didn't go to Legoland. Plus, the hotel had other activities for kids and a Lego scavenger hunt. The rooms were clean and the staff was nice! We look forward to coming back and staying at the Marbrisa in the summers to come when our little one can go on more rides at Legoland.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBug070707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hello TravelBug070707,
Thank you for providing us with your review. We're thrilled to hear that you will be returning to stay with us with your family. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My family traveled here from Missouri and we loved everything about this resort! Kid friendly, with plenty to do for adults, as well. Seconds away from Legoland and the beach...great amenities included with the resort pool, as well. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familyof4126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hi Familyof4126,
It is great to hear that you will be coming back and that you found something for everyone in your family to enjoy while staying with us. As always, we would be more than happy to welcome you back. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We bought into MarBrisa about 4 years ago when they were just getting the first building built. Since then they have added much. They now have elevators for those of us in wheelchairs or are handicapped. The pools are enormous and the spas are great. Activities of the kids and adults. Right next door to LEGOLAND. The rooms are very nice. The new area has washers and dryers in each room. Lots to do in the area. Some great restaurants in the area Twenty 20 and down the road if you are a big eater there is a little place called Tip Top Market with a terrific restaurant in it. Drove down to La Jolly form there and there is a lot to see there as well.

Room Tip: Nice area, next door to a golf course and LEGOLAND. There is also a Costcos about 1/4 of a mile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GrandmafromOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hello GrandmafromOC,
Thank you for providing us with your review. It's great to hear from our owners and learn that they are enjoying all the renovations and changes being done. We hope to continue to provide you with a great experience. Till next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

As incentive to attend the timeshare tour at HGVC Marbrisa in Carlsbad, CA we received a discounted stay in a 1-bedroom suite, plus 2 adult Legoland tickets and $100 towards a future Hilton hotel stay. The accommodations we excellent, providing much comfort. We stayed on the bottom level of a 3-floor building and there was periodic foot traffic noise from the suite above typical of any hotel experience. Otherwise, the 1-bedroom suite itself was very nice, the soaking tub was a hit with the family, and the general experience was very well received. The proximity to Legoland and the private entryway was great. The pool facilities for both phase 1 and 2 were very nice, clean, and comfortable. The resort lobby was still under some construction and staff training but was coming along very nicely.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hello James C,
Thank you for providing us with your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed some of the amenities available and that you had the opportunity to check out LegoLand. We hope to welcome you back for another stay, hopefully when all the renovations are completed. Till next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
2.2 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
0.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
672 reviews
3.6 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort

Address: 1594 MarBrisa Circle, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#23 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $146 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Marbrisa Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing