We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Location is great, but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Altadena, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location is great, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel/Grand Vacations condo system is in a great location if you want to go to Legoland. There is even a private entrance with no waiting to the theme park! We were offered a discounted rate package in exchange for listening to a 90 minute timeshare offer (which we declined).

The reasons why I gave this hotel just 3 stars are:
-Our studio room was too small for the price. There is a kitchenette, but the room itself is much smaller than we are used to for what we paid.
-Our room is supposedly a "park view," but instead there are construction fences as far as the eye can see.
-There is some mold and rust by the bathroom door on the wall, even though this building is brand new.
-We had no maid service for some reason today. Could it be because we declined the timeshare?
-There is no restaurant of any kind on the property. The nearest restaurant is at the Sheraton, which is a bit of a walk away.

Other than these reasons, we were happy enough with the facilities. The pool is nice, and other than the mold, the room is very clean.

Room Tip: The rooms with a "park view" don't have a park nearby as of yet. Unless they mean Lego...
See more room tips
Green Features: Not bad, but nothing very different from the average hotel chain.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    306
    155
    68
    47
See reviews for
704
326
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Overall resort was good, but room cleanliness and maintenance needs attention. Bring your own BBQ as the ones provided don't work (2 yrs in a row). The carpets in the room looked like a cheap hotel and we had to request them to be cleaned in both units and then they did not clean and we had to call again. Then they only cleaned one unit. I gave up!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Marcus Shaun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi Marcus Shaun G ,
First and foremost we would like to thank you for providing us with all your feedback. We apologize that the BBQ did not work during your stay. We also apologize that our staff was not able to provide you with assistance throughout your stay. We encourage you to contact us at jogarcia@gpresorts.com and one of our team members will get back to you shortly. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

This timeshare is the worst that we have stayed in. There is no elevators - all stairs - which makes it difficult to unload a weeks worth of food, clothes and other items. It was right up against Lego Land and all we heard all day was the roller coaster gearing up - gearing down - gearing up - gearing down and kids screaming all day. No washer or dryer in the unit as was told when we bought the timeshare. No Jacuzzi tub in the unit either. The pool was a good walk to get to, not safe to send a kid by himself too, and the other one was really cold, no service at the food stands, the hot tubs both were broken and again a long walk from the unit. The restaurant was expensive and not even a type of place to take kids.

I have asked for answers on what we were sold and what we got and I to this day - a year later - have not heard from any one from this resort or the Grand Pacific Resorts.

Room Tip: Stay close to the pools and get away from Lego Land. Better yet pick a different resort.
See more room tips
Green Features: Friendly? Yes - Helpful? - NO Our room smelled like wet carpet when we got there and they said they would put a fan in and an ozone machine-BUT- we had to leave for a couple of hours - What?? We just drove 12 hours and you want us to leave for a couple of hours??
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi Kevin M,
We're truly sorry to hear about your experience and would love to look into these events further. Please contact us at jogarcia@gpresorts.com and one of our staff members will get back to you shortly. Please know that we value you as a guest and hope to hear from you soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelBug070707
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We just stayed at the Marbrisa and location is awesome- seconds from Legoland and minutes from the beach. We have a 3 year old and 1 year old and they both loved the pool areas at the resort on days we didn't go to Legoland. Plus, the hotel had other activities for kids and a Lego scavenger hunt. The rooms were clean and the staff was nice! We look forward to coming back and staying at the Marbrisa in the summers to come when our little one can go on more rides at Legoland.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBug070707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello TravelBug070707,
Thank you for providing us with your review. We're thrilled to hear that you will be returning to stay with us with your family. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

My family traveled here from Missouri and we loved everything about this resort! Kid friendly, with plenty to do for adults, as well. Seconds away from Legoland and the beach...great amenities included with the resort pool, as well. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyof4126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi Familyof4126,
It is great to hear that you will be coming back and that you found something for everyone in your family to enjoy while staying with us. As always, we would be more than happy to welcome you back. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We bought into MarBrisa about 4 years ago when they were just getting the first building built. Since then they have added much. They now have elevators for those of us in wheelchairs or are handicapped. The pools are enormous and the spas are great. Activities of the kids and adults. Right next door to LEGOLAND. The rooms are very nice. The new area has washers and dryers in each room. Lots to do in the area. Some great restaurants in the area Twenty 20 and down the road if you are a big eater there is a little place called Tip Top Market with a terrific restaurant in it. Drove down to La Jolly form there and there is a lot to see there as well.

Room Tip: Nice area, next door to a golf course and LEGOLAND. There is also a Costcos about 1/4 of a mile
See more room tips
Green Features: Everyone here is very helpful and very nice people.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmafromOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello GrandmafromOC,
Thank you for providing us with your review. It's great to hear from our owners and learn that they are enjoying all the renovations and changes being done. We hope to continue to provide you with a great experience. Till next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardena, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

As incentive to attend the timeshare tour at HGVC Marbrisa in Carlsbad, CA we received a discounted stay in a 1-bedroom suite, plus 2 adult Legoland tickets and $100 towards a future Hilton hotel stay. The accommodations we excellent, providing much comfort. We stayed on the bottom level of a 3-floor building and there was periodic foot traffic noise from the suite above typical of any hotel experience. Otherwise, the 1-bedroom suite itself was very nice, the soaking tub was a hit with the family, and the general experience was very well received. The proximity to Legoland and the private entryway was great. The pool facilities for both phase 1 and 2 were very nice, clean, and comfortable. The resort lobby was still under some construction and staff training but was coming along very nicely.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello James C,
Thank you for providing us with your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed some of the amenities available and that you had the opportunity to check out LegoLand. We hope to welcome you back for another stay, hopefully when all the renovations are completed. Till next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.4 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#6 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
2.1 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.2 mi away
LEGOLAND California Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort

Property: MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Address: 1594 MarBrisa Circle, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#23 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Marbrisa Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing