We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nightmare!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 10, 2014

If there were negative stars, I would give 5 negative stars.
We checked in for 3 nights and the front desk said we have to stay 2 nights in one room and 1 night in another. With kids this is a huge inconvenience to pack and unpack again during the stay. Anyways, we were checked into a handicap room and I wasn't informed about it. Usually when I travel, the reps ask me if it would be okay to use handicap room. But here, no they didn't ask. And in the morning I find trash bags full of soiled towels, luggage cart, roll away bed in front of our unit against the wall. Is this the way you treat handicap people? Treating their cornered unit like storage??? It was a very unpleasant experience but that was just the start. We had to move to a different room and here are the things we had to go through.
-Washer wasn't working.
-Door lock wasn't working.
-Phone was from another unit.
-Refrigerator wasn't working.
-Dryer wasn't working.
-Technicians showed up early in the morning to fix the dryer "for future guests."
-Elevator broke.

So all day on our 3rd day we were just stuck in the room reporting and waiting for the repairs to be done wasting our valuable vacation time. Techs showed up at 8AM that's 2 hours before our check out saying they need to fix the dryer for future guests. Hello!!! We paid to be in the room with privacy!!! My husband told them to leave and they didn't. They said they're almost done, completely ignoring us and left after they were done. When we were leaving, the elevator was broke and my husband was stuck in the elevator for 5 minutes with kids crying.
The attitude I got from many reps at the resort was "I do apologize and too bad I can't do anything for you." No one cared. Yes, they fixed the washer, door lock and etc but they wasted our time. I travel a lot and I have never experienced this kind of ridiculous service in my life.

The resort is nice but this place needs professional management system.
IT WAS NOTHING BUT A HORRIBLE NIGHTMARE ON ONE TRIP.

Room Tip: They put soiled towels, roll away bed, luggage cart in front of the handicap unit on building 50 tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mjh424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Hi mjh424,
Thank you for your review. We are also really sorry to hear about your experience and want to apologize that our staff was not able to provide you with the assistance needed to make your experience enjoyable. We encourage you to contact us jogarcia@gpresorts.com and a member of our team will be in touch with you as soon as possible. We look forward to hearing from you and helping you resolve your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

Every year our family takes a trip every summer. We had three different families and this resort was the best for all 13 of us. Last year we went to Hawaii and I can still say this was the best. The selection of restaurants and shopping was convenient. I would have liked the bar and grill hours to be a little longer in the evening and for a light to be over the pool table in the Cove.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vicandmikeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Hi vicandmikeg,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that all the members of your party had such a great time with us. We will definitely take into consideration your comments regarding our service hours and we hope to welcome you back for another stay with your family in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days/ 3 nights. Decent hotel, more for families for sure. We didn't take advantage of the amenities except for the hot tub (awesome) and their on site restaurant (awesome as well).

Beautiful view of the San Diego area, and is roughly 5 minutes from the beach. Bring your swim trunks and camera's for an amazing sunset.

Staff was 50/50 as far as service was concerned; majority of the staff were pretty young, which may have played a role in the level of assumed responsibility for a few things not working out around the place.

I recommend this place in two situations: 1) you're going to Lego Land or 2) you have children 5-16.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Hello Aaron S
Thank you for your review and your recommendation. We are happy to hear that you had the opportunity to check out the San Diego area. We hope you come back for another visit in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Although there is a lot of construction going on at the resort, it is still a beautiful resort nonetheless. Beautiful rooms with great amenities. We stayed in a studio unit, but it was spacious enough for 2 adults, 2 children. Very convenient to LegoLand and Outlets. Can't wait to go back soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in a basic studio on the first floor and still had a view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Hi Kimberly G,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully all the construction is done by your next visit. We can’t wait to have you back with us. Till next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Grand Pacific MarBrisa Resort is one of our Family's favorite 3 day weekend to go to. Very nice, clean and many amenities. Staffs are great! We love the location. Convenient to everything we want, the beach, the shopping and restaurants are all within a few miles.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
1  Thank Heman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Hello Heman C,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are honored to hear that this is one of your family’s favorite vacation spots. It is always wonderful to hear that our guests are finding their rooms very clean and enjoying the nearby attractions. We hope to have you back with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My family and I have stayed at this resort several times. We generally stay for a week or more, and really enjoy the proximity to Legoland and the beaches of Carlsbad. Our latest stay was in a 3 bedroom apartment, which gives us plenty of space to relax in the evenings. We also enjoy the pool facilities and the activities they provide for the kids.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
1  Thank William F. D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Hi William F. D,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are thrilled that you and your family found our location ideal for a family vacation and had the opportunity to enjoy the comfort of the 3 bedroom apartments. We hope you continue to stay with us during your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed in a 2 bedroom lock off in the newer buildings. The main unit had bedroom with king sized bed, door to the lanai, large bathroom with shower and tub with 2 sinks. Large living room and kitchen with dining room table between the kitchen and living room. Also a door from the living room to the lanai.

The lock off section had a queen sized bed, bathroom with a tub/shower combo, small refrigerator, and microwave and a lanai.

The pool area was so much closer than our stay last year. Our lanai overlooked the pool. Even though 5 more buildings are going up, it was not noisy. Probably because they were working on landscaping and inside the buildings.

This property is close to restaurants and shopping. It's right next to the Carlsbad outlets. There is room service from the Sheraton Hotel, but we did not use it.

The pool is very nice with sofas for groups to sit. This is especially nice at night. There was a fire pit for those cooler evenings. There are cabanas for those who wish to limit their time in the sun and lots of tables and chairs too. The bar is open on the weekends only - at least while we were there.

Only negatives was the wakeup call for 4:15 am that was not made (good that I also set my iPhone alarm).

Room Tip: Rooms on the top level are the quietest since no one walks above you, but our 2nd floor level was fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLC_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Hi JLC_57,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you were able to use several of the guest amenities provided throughout the facilities and that your unit this year was a lot closer to the pool area, that is always a great advantage . We hope that all construction is complete by your next visit. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.2 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
3.3 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort

Address: 1594 MarBrisa Circle, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#23 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $178 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Groupon, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Marbrisa Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing