We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$194
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
$123
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$243
$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$179
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Beach Terrace Inn(Carlsbad)
$479
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
LEGOLAND California Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$459
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (794)
Filter reviews
794 results
Traveler rating
400
209
105
44
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
209
105
44
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmar brisahilton grand vacationshgvc ownerslego landsan diegopool areaprivate entrancebedroom unittime shareping pongfull kitchenwasher and dryereasy accessfire pitfamily vacationgolf coursela jolla
Filter
Updating list...
516 - 521 of 794 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Although there is a lot of construction going on at the resort, it is still a beautiful resort nonetheless. Beautiful rooms with great amenities. We stayed in a studio unit, but it was spacious enough for 2 adults, 2 children. Very convenient to LegoLand and Outlets. Can't wait to go back soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in a basic studio on the first floor and still had a view of the ocean!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Hi Kimberly G,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully all the construction is done by your next visit. We can’t wait to have you back with us. Till next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed in a 2 bedroom lock off in the newer buildings. The main unit had bedroom with king sized bed, door to the lanai, large bathroom with shower and tub with 2 sinks. Large living room and kitchen with dining room table between the kitchen and living room. Also a door from the living room to the lanai.

The lock off section had a queen sized bed, bathroom with a tub/shower combo, small refrigerator, and microwave and a lanai.

The pool area was so much closer than our stay last year. Our lanai overlooked the pool. Even though 5 more buildings are going up, it was not noisy. Probably because they were working on landscaping and inside the buildings.

This property is close to restaurants and shopping. It's right next to the Carlsbad outlets. There is room service from the Sheraton Hotel, but we did not use it.

The pool is very nice with sofas for groups to sit. This is especially nice at night. There was a fire pit for those cooler evenings. There are cabanas for those who wish to limit their time in the sun and lots of tables and chairs too. The bar is open on the weekends only - at least while we were there.

Only negatives was the wakeup call for 4:15 am that was not made (good that I also set my iPhone alarm).

Room Tip: Rooms on the top level are the quietest since no one walks above you, but our 2nd floor level was fine. Ask for a room near the pool. Otherwise it's a long walk downhill and back uphill to the pool.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLC_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Hi JLC_57,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you were able to use several of the guest amenities provided throughout the facilities and that your unit this year was a lot closer to the pool area, that is always a great advantage . We hope that all construction is complete by your next visit. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

No elevators so climbing stairs with luggage is difficult. Room did not have washer/dryer. They were in a different location. Poor sound proofing as you could hear all movement in the rooms above. Health club was inconvenient to get to, 15 minute walk. In room DVD player was not Blu-Ray compatible. The regular in house DVD selection was poor and not up to date. Our second room bath had very low water pressure and the exhaust fan was not operating. We notified maintenance and they corrected both items.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gb1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Hi gb1005,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're sorry to hear that your stay was filled with a lot of noise from the nearby rooms. However, we are glad to hear that our staff was able to rectify some of the problems encountered. We hope you did have fun checking out the surrounding area and hope that we can welcome you again in the future for a much better stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very nice Hilton - great amenities, beautifully appointed, friendly staff and great location. The suite was wonderful - nice balcony, but wasn't too fond of the view. I'm sure when the flowers in the nearby fields are in bloom it would be awesome. Our reservation included a time-share presentation (ugh - hate these!) and they were running late so had to wait close to 40 minutes. The up side to that was we were meeting friends for drinks/dinner so we told them we needed to leave at a certain time. Like all time-share presentations, they tell you it's low-key, no obligation, blah blah blah. Yet at the end (when you don't buy) they bring over their supervisor, and when you still don't buy, they bring over the next higher up. Then when you check out (to get the freebie gift they use as an enticement), they try to get you to buy another package. Arrrggghhh! What part of NO don't they understand??? But I digress. The hotel itself is super nice; lots for couples and families to do. Close to the outlet mall, LEGOLAND, the ocean, but great if you just want to soak up rays by any of the pools.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SmallWonderAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Hi SmallWonderAZ,
Thank you for your review. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be conveniently close to nearby attractions. We apologize that you did not have a pleasant experience at the timeshare presentation. However, we hope that you come back for another fun filled vacation in the nearby future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at the Hilton Grand vacations Club at MarBrisa as an exchange. First, this is an older (mid 90s) resort Hilton purchased a few years ago and is in the process of expanding and remolding. The new "2nd phase" looks to be much nicer although it is the same basic design. There are several building on the resort, if you stay avoid buildings 52-56. These are located about 25 yards from Lego Land and the noise is unbearable. If I opened my patio door all I could hear was the constant sound of the roller coaster. Noise between rooms is a problem. Every door or cabinet closing can be heard from next door. Also there are no elevators in these buildings which may seem OK since they are only 3 levels, however, because they are built on a hillside the lower level is below the parking lot so the only level you can walk to without stairs is level 2. What is absurd is that the resort has luggage carts which can only be used on the middle level! The units are OK, nothing special. I had a studio which is not worth the price. Basically a hotel room with a "mini-kitchen" which was really just a glorified wet bar with dishes provided. The one bedrooms have a full kitchen and are much better. My advice is to wait for phase 2 to be completed, it has a very large Vegas like pool area and the villa buildings have elevators. If you book a villa at this resort be sure to ask if it is in the old area or in the new phase 2. Also, phase 2 is about 200 yards away from the original resort with the Sheridan between.

Room Tip: Phase 2 or building far away from Lego Land
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank odessa712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Hello Odessa712,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We're sorry to learn of the disappointment you experienced during your recent stay with us. We also apologize for any inconvenience you were caused by the noise coming in from the surrounding areas. We hope you come back to stay with us once the 2nd Phase is completed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews