We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-So Accomadations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
valencia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So-So Accomadations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed at MarBrisa As much as I would like to give them a 9 or 10 rating, I can not. I also voiced my opinion at the desk upon checkout. Below are some of the issues that occured in which I was less then pleased. * We had a family above us that had 3 children. The children DID NOT STOP running the entire 4 days of our stay. It sounded like our ceiling was going to cave in. It started early in the morning, in the late afternoons and even as late as midnight. I made over 4 phone calls to the front desk to please call that guest's room and ask them to please have them stop running. Im not sure if the room was called or not, because the kids never stopped running. We were constantly being woken up by the running. They would also run up and down the stairs, across the 2nd floor pathway and then back up stairs as well. After multiple phone calls to the front desk with nothing being down, I gave up. I was traveling with my 2 elderly parents in which this was supposed to be a relaxing getaway, instead we lost sleep and were annoyed. * Towels and trash. I had to call the front desk/guest services several times to have new towels brought to our room as well as have our trash throw out. When I called the second day of our stay, no one ever came to do that. I finally tracked down one of the housekeepers and asked that they come give us fresh towels and take away the trash. I had placed a call to the front desk as well as put the plaque requesting that service on my door. The 3rd day was the same thing. A call was made, no one came and then I finally got fresh towels from a housekeeper, but this time they did not take the dirty wet towels, they layed in a huge mound on the floors in both bathrooms and were still there when we checked out. We had 3 bags of trash sitting on the floor as well. Needless to say I was very displeased with the service at MarBrisa. As a Hilton Grand Vacation owner, this was not acceptable. I have had great stays in other facilities but MarBrisa was well under the standards Hilton provides.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank James J. E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi James J. E,
Thank you for reviewing your recent experience with us at Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa. We're sorry to learn of the disappointment you experienced during your stay. We apologize for the noise your upstairs neighbors were causing, having to keep calling for new towels, and the lack of housekeeping in your room. This is certainly not the way we want our guests to spend their vacations at our property. We will make note of these occurrences and invite you to contact us at gpmreservations@gpresorts.com should you wish to share any additional information regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    322
    164
    71
    49
See reviews for
745
337
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The facility seems fine. About 2 miles from the ocean. Helpful staff. Be aware that your stay at this facility will not accrue to your Hilton Honors account. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The proximity to the ocean is a real plus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi Paul M,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hilton Grand Vacations at MarBrisa. We're glad you enjoyed a great visit and hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

not worth the money for a time share resort; it is split in 2, 1/2mile apart. Lobby closes at 9PM. After that its hard to get a hold of any one. It is close to Lego Land. Half an hour from San Diego. We had a much better experience at the Grand Pacific Resort, it has an adult children side. much better amenities; just as close to Lego Land

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Peter D. Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi Peter D. Z,
We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Hilton Grand Vacations at MarBrisa. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your trip as you had hoped. Please feel free to reach out to us at gpmreservations@gpresorts.com should you wish to share any additional information regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our third visit. Last time we were here we brought the kids and grandkids and it was perfect to be so close to Legoland.
We continue to come here as a couple, as it is friendly and mostly quiet.I don't mind hearing the laughter from the kids at Legoland. We were not close to the construction so I can't speak to that. We feel at home here. I can't say enough about Mike the shuttle driver and Bennett and Michael at the front desk and of course the hands on approach of the General Manager, Ben.
It works for us because of the location. The Albertson's grocery and the French Bakery and the Veracruz Fish House(go at lunch, cheaper entres) are near. That's all I need.
The pool is heated and I really appreciate that. I do think that better monitoring of the hot tub area would be helpful as parents are using it as a swimming pool. Not only is it dangerous for young children to be in the hot tub for extended periods, it takes away the relaxing atmosphere it is supposed to provide.
Didn't notice any smokers and I was there at the same time as the other guest who complained about it.
I say thank you to Marbrisa staff for all you do to make us feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathywildwest11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi cathywildest11,
We're thrilled to welcome you back to our property for another wonderful third visit! We’re so glad your family and your grandchildren enjoyed being so close to Legoland. We hope they had fun visiting the park. There's plenty of amazing restaurants in the area to dine at and shops just in case you've forgotten anything on your trip. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff as well. They're always here to assist our guests in their endeavors. We hope to welcome the family back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

MarBrisa is a wonderful hotel within walking distance to Legoland in Carlsbad. The hotel has it's own private entrance to the park, which was great. The phase two pool area was really nice. I wish that the poolside restaurant/bar was open but I was told that it would be open during the summer months. There was a great gas fireplace near the pool. Also, while the TV's were HD, none of the channels were HD. Channel selection was also a bit limited for the kids. This was not a big deal, but a bit surprising. I would definitely recommend MarBrisa to others.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Michael R,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Hilton Grand Vacations at MarBrisa. We're so glad you and your family enjoyed a wonderful stay. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and your feedback. We hope to welcome you back again once the poolside restaurant and bar are open. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
122 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The photos are gorgeous and description sounds lovely, but in reality the accommodations are about what we've come to expect from Hilton's Hampton Inn. That's fine for a Hampton Inn but we expect more from something that classifies itself as a resort. The new pool area is very nice, we especially enjoyed the multiple hot tubs and the large fire pit, but even there towel service was stingy (at a resort?) and the bar service was spotty.

There were bird droppings in front of our door and the steps leading to our floor all week, even though we mentioned it twice. The bathroom in our unit was only about an average clean and our microwave didn't work. The lobby was crowded and noisy when we checked in, noisy not from excited guests but from a very loud phone ringing the entire time we were being checked in. I travel frequently, always stay at Hilton properties and always receive more professional, more personal and less hurried welcomes.

The location was easy on and off the highway and close to the charming Carlsbad, we didn't care about the Legoland and the noise didn't bother us. It would be convenient if that was your destination. The restaurant and grounds at the neighboring Sheraton resort were much more gracious and top notch.

The fitness center is average, on the small side, and one of the two televisions didn't work the entire time we were there.

There is a shuttle that runs between the buildings and the large, new pool, but we only found out about this from another guest, not during our hurried check-in.

There's nothing special here and a disappointment for regular Hilton guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi BGBeth,
We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. We understand there were several concerns regarding your stay, therefore leading to much disappointment surrounding your visit. We apologize if you felt hurried during check-in. While the resort may have been busy, it's never an excuse to rush our guests. We realize that your front door and steps were not cleaned during your visit with us, even after you had asked and that the microwave was out of order as well. We understand that this is unsatisfactory service and will be sure to work harder on making sure our guests are satisfied. We will be sharing your feedback with our management team. Should you wish to share any additional information regarding your stay, we invite you to contact us at gpmreservations@gpresorts.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Live nearby, but still a nice local getaway. Backdoor entrance to Legoland was great. Avoided crowds, lines, and parking at Main Entrance in the morning. Very friendly staff. Convenience of 2 bedroom suite and kitchen

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi john s,
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa. It's great to know that our convenient location to Legoland worked out in your favor and that you and your guests had a great time. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort

Property: MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Address: 1594 MarBrisa Circle, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#23 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Marbrisa Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing