We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marbrisa - a cut below”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
So Cal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Marbrisa - a cut below”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Recently spent 3 nights at Hilton's Marbrisa resort in Carlsbad, CA. The resort did not even measure up to the standards of an average Hampton Inn. I followed up on my reservation several days prior to arrival and specifically asked for accommodations that did not face the pool. I was told the resort was not too crowded so there would not be a problem. Wrong. Only one building faces the new double pool complex and that's where our room was. No others avaialble. Now the room - the first thing we saw as we opened the door was the bathroom toilet. Good start. Queen insted of the requested king. No eletrical outlet at the "desk" for plugging in the laptop (had to unplug a lamp). No outlets for charging the phones or iPad except the bathroom. Bed like a rock - woke up with sore hips it was so hard.
Carlsbad is a great getaway spot, but stay away from the Marbrisa Resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalFatzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi SoCalFatzo,
We are terribly sorry to learn of your most recent stay with us at Hilton Grand Vacations at MarBrisa. We apologize for not being able to accommodate you with a room of your liking and are also saddened to know about your disappointment regarding amenities. We certainly appreciate your feedback and hope to better serve you should you wish to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    343
    179
    81
    51
See reviews for
807
359
33
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at this property for about 10 days. It was pretty awesome. Although it was still "a resort in progress" , this resort had all the amenities you would need. The proximity to Legoland was also great, and from our room (Villa 53) you could not hear any noise. This is a pretty big resort and to walk from Villa to Villa would be quite a walk, however, if you call the front desk, they will be glad to shuttle you off anywhere on the resort, especially to the new phase II pool area which is a resort within itself. We also went to SeaLife Aquarium at Legoland, and since Legoland Park was closed, so to was the private entrance from our resort. Staff member Jose went out of his way, and dropped us off at the front doors of SeaLife Aquarium, and when we were done, he picked us up!! This was a major plus in my opinion, and great on the staff of the Marbrisa to provide us this great service. Manager Jorge was also very courteous, and knowlegable about the whole resort, as he shuttled us to the new pool on another day.

Pros:
This resort is located 30 mins from San Diego Airport (it's cheaper to fly to San Diego, than it is to LAX), SeaWorld, and the Fashion Mall San Diego. This mall is probably better than having to drive the 2 hrs to Rodeo. It has all the big name stores Rodeo would have, and it has free parking. Minutes to Carlsbad Premium Outlet Mall, and Flower Fields. Close by to grocery stores, and food restaurants in the area. 1 hour drive to Anaheim (Disneyland/Carsland/Downtown Disney). Staff is attentive as twice we asked for towels, and was at our door within 5 minutes.

Cons:
No Sundry on site, you have to go to the Sheraton. No restaurant or coffee shop on site, you have to go to Sheraton. There is no laundry in every room, you have to use the general one in your building.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 416EdD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Ed D,
We're thrilled Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa could be the first to welcome you to California! Our resort is close to Legoland and some of the other exciting parks within the area. The shuttle was designed to take our guests wherever they may need to visit on the resort. We're happy Jose was able to help you out as well. With all that there is to do we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place for those that want a Southern California vacation. Close enough to the San Diego scene for the attractions there and Disney is within reach if you plan around rush hours. Legoland next door. The property is still being developed so the usual site amenities are not yet there. Staff is responsive and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobfromWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi RobfromWL,
Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa is the perfect place for a quick visit to San Diego or a trip to Legoland. We're glad you enjoyed yourself and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I actually live not far from the resort but we had a couple complimentary nights to use there so we took our two young boys and made a staycation of it. It was so peaceful and beautiful. The food from room service was amazing!! I love the location cause its right next to the outlet mall, legoland, costco and the freeway. And we were definitely impressed by the friendly service by all of the staff. Loved it!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danidoza80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi danidoza80,
We're so happy we could welcome you and your husband for a few nights getaway to Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa. We're glad you both had an amazing time and enjoyed the great service we offer our guests. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This newer Hilton resort is right next door to Legoland. The area is still under development, and actually shows up as a field in Google Earth. The hotel is similar to the HGVC on Waikaloa on the big island of Hawaii, but just a notch less.

In my opinion Hilton's suites under the HGVC label (not their hotels though) is a leader, and if you like a nice clean modern suite. Free wifi. The kids love the pool area and the ping pong tables, the crafts (which you unfortunately have to pay extra for), and the games room.

As with any newer development there were small issues that should be resolved in short order, such as no bbq in the new pool area or lack of a few essentials in the suites. I presume this will be addressed in due course. I was frustrated that I had to drive to a different area of the resort to bbq, which was a big negative for me.

Overall, I'd stay there again with the expectation that minor improvement will continue to be made. Carlsbad is a pleasant area to visit and is close (30 mins) to San Diego.

Room Tip: Make sure you hit the 6800 block where the new pool area has been constructed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terceratops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Terceratops,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa. It's great that you enjoyed your stay and would like to reassure you that renovations are still occurring. Considering our property is fairly new, there is much turnover to be made. We hope to welcome you back again when it's all finished for an even better stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom suite which was great for me and 2 teenagers. Lots of room to spread out. The pool and hot tub were great. The new pool complex and work out facility is being built and a ways away, but it a great addition to the property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Bruce K. E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Bruce K.E,
We're thrilled you enjoyed your two bedroom suite and hanging out by the pool and hot tub. The renovations should be completed in a few months. You'll have to come back soon to check them out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Loved the resort. Spacious yet not so big that you get lost in the crowd. We stayed there for 10 nights and everyone we met was courteous and helpful. Parking was very close to the room. Full kitchen and 2 bedrooms, 2 baths with a soaking tub and separate shower were great. Once you stay here, you will not want to go back to a regular hotel room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Matthew Allan J... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hi Matthew Allan J… K,
It's so wonderful to hear how much you loved our resort. We're so glad you enjoyed your 10 nights stay and found the accommodations satisfactory to your liking. We look forward to having the chance to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
972 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.6 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort

Property: MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Address: 1594 MarBrisa Circle, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#23 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Marbrisa Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing