We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not Prime Time Yet” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Prime Time Yet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a great lcation that is just being taken over by Hilton Grand Vacations Club. They are working on getting it up to a full srvice resort but it's not quite there yet. No place to eat, no lounge or pool bar, no food kiosk split pools and a new fitness center not where most people are now staying makes for inconvenice. The positive is there are many good restaurants and services withing 3-5 miles.

Room Tip: Skip the view stay in the new area where the new pools fitness center and pool lounge will be openin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi Charles P,
Thank you for reviewing Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and apologize for any inconveniences you experienced while our resort continues to be renovated. We hope to welcome you back in the future for a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    286
    143
    65
    45
See reviews for
657
300
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Marbrisa is located in Carlsbad, CA in the northern part of San Diego county. Carlsbad has beautiful beaches, access to LA and San Diego and is a convenient location for all of the areas of interest. Marbrisa itself affords great ammenities for relaxation and comfort... pools, saunas, an exercise facility, etc. It is conveniently located for shopping, dining, golfing locally and at the La Costa Resort or Torrey Pines courses, access of the San Diego and Los Angeles areas (Disneyland!), and, of course, the wonderful Carlsbad beaches! The staff is professional and helpful at any time of day or night. We previously lived in Carlsbad and purchased ownership at Marbrisa to make certain we visit yearly. What a wonderful way to spend a vacation!

Room Tip: Ask for a king bed if you are used to those sleeping accomodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Lots of fun activities for the family. Really nice rooms! We would stay here again!!! Really close to Legoland. Nice pools. Lots of parking. Friendly helpful staff and awesome hammocks. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phanny220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

What an awesome location if you have children. This Hilton is directly across the (quiet) street to LEGOLAND, the LEGOLAND Museum and the LEGOLAND Water Park. You could not be any closer.
There are two swimming pools on the property. One closest to the Lobby is for adults mostly. They do allow children in during daytime hours but in the evening it is strictly adults. The children's pool has a water feature and slide and is located next to the two and three bedroom condos with outdoor bbqs. The staff that work at this resort are top notch. They even have a Concierge that will help you book all attractions from Los Angeles to San Diego and everything in between. We stayed in a two bedroom suite which was nicely appointed with a fireplace, two full bathrooms and an ensuite, large dining room/living room and kitchen. The view we had was overlooking the Carlsbad Flower fields and unfortunately they were not in bloom when we were there in September but we are going back in March 2014 and will be on the look out for these magnificent flower fields. I couldn't ask for a better place to stay. We had a car and parked it underground in a secure parking space and we were not even charged to park there. The spa wasn't available for us when we were there so I went to the Spa in Oceanside which was amazing. The kids love being so close to LEGOLAND and it was easy to come back and swim in the afternoon and then walk back to LEGOLAND again, however, that didn't happen we ended up spending all day at LEGOLAND and after two full days there we could relax in the pool and eat at some fabulous restaurants in Carlsbad along the water. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I don't believe there are any bad rooms. Of course, corner suites are larger a bit. Depending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brownbebe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

All I can say is that the Marbrisa Hilton Grand Vacation Club resort was fantastic. We stayed in the 5400 Building right near the Lobby and I will tell you, we had two great views. One balcony overlooked the Golf Course and the other near the entry door overlooked the town and you could see the Ocean from this Hill Top palace.

The pool was always clean and the water temp comfortable. The hot tub was great for relaxing at night. Both the pool and the hot tub are handicap accessible with a lift chair to lift you right down and into the water. I thought this was an excellent feature!!

And William. William the Activities Coordinator is one of the best I have ever met. Not only does he have great activities planned around the resort, he is a great person to get to know and talk with. He made our experience a great one!

We had two small issues with a clogged toilet and I'll tell you this, maintenance was there in less than 5 minutes. That in my opinion was an AWESOME response time. We had two bathrooms and 3 bedrooms in our unit which was not a big deal.

The entire resort is very clean and well manicured and maintained. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelyorkiecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi Travelyorkiecom,
Thank you for reviewing Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa. We are so glad to hear of your recent stay with us. We're sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced while your toilet was clogged, but glad our maintenance team was there in a hurry. They do their best to fix any issues our guests come across immediately. We'll be sure to let William know you had a great time during his activities. Come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Contrary to many reviews with complaints about noise, construction, incomplete facilities-our family had a blast here. Every single customer service interaction was over the top helpful, friendly, and resulted in quick action.

The facility to date is in a building phase, and many of the amenities aren't ready but this resort was still fantastic in many regards. The resort-type pool area was great, and the hot tubs are nice. Everything is kept spotlessly clean, the employees are helpful and always have a smile on their face. We felt safe and secure. The rooms were perfect. Was a little surprised to find nice new looking flat panel TVs that did not have HD, but that was truly a minor concern. The couch beds are nice, but when in couch 'mode' the couches felt a little less comfy than a standard living room couch. Expected a little better furniture quality in a Hilton facility.

Location was great, easy to get anywhere-even LA, Hollywood, and Santa Monica Pier are an easy day trip. There are so many things to do out here. This being our second full week here in the SD area, I am still surprised to find there are still fun family activities that we haven't done yet. We have had two solid weeks, and jam-packed schedules-and yet there are still classic SD area things we haven't even experienced-e.g. SD Zoo, Balboa Park experience, Catalina Island, Temecula Wineries, etc etc.

I felt nervous the first time coming out to Carlsbad that we would miss San Diego quality dining or shopping experiences-but this is totally wrong. The coast is cram-packed with shopping, dining, beach town, boutiques that are unique to the area as well as the usual American staple type stores-eg Walmart, Best Buy, etc.

Coronado Beach is our favorite family beach. La Jolla Cove is amazing with the sea lions, views, caves, scenery. Santa Monica Pier area is a blast for everyone as well. Our kids are fanatical about Legoland, which has a private entrance on this property (e.g. no parking fees), and they had much more fun at Legoland than Disneyland. Pizza Port has amazing pizza and incredibly fun beach atmosphere.

Love this area, plan on returning year after year. We also expect this facility to continue to offer more and more amenities as it builds out. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: "plus" rooms have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very pleasant stay - convenient location. Staff is very helpful! Our 2 bedroom was nicely decorated and very clean. When you walked in, it felt very homelike. I would recommend this HGVC to anyone, especially adults. This site did not have as much pool space and activities as some other HGVC's I have been to for younger children.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twiggyrrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Hi twiggyrrt,
Thank you for reviewing Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa. We're so glad our staff was able to add to your pleasant experience and we greatly appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to your future return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
1.4 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.2 mi away
LEGOLAND California Hotel
0.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort

Property: MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Address: 1594 MarBrisa Circle, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#23 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Marbrisa Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing