We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean and New, but Not Impressive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean and New, but Not Impressive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

As owners of 2 Starwood Resorts, my husband and I have always been interested in learning more about being owners of HGVC Resorts. We just spent 3 days/2nights for a "deal" but we had to attend a sales presentation. The sales guy was very friendly and nice, but he bragged quite a bit and was a little obnoxious. He spent SO much time in the beginning doing useless chit chat with my husband (who partly encouraged it) and after 2 hours, when we said we had to think about such a huge purchase, he said it had to be either a yes or no. So we said "no" and he shook our hands immediately and literally "pushed" us out to the next lady who then tried to sell us something else. It was fine with me, but nevertheless - rude.

Note: Our Marbrisa Resort review is based on our experience with the other Resorts we have vacationed at (primarily Starwood and Marriott Resorts).

Pros:
1. Concierge was quick and efficient.
2. Nice location, beautiful facility.
3. Nice looking rooms with a beautiful view of the pool and partial view of ocean.
4. Easy access to Legoland.
5. Clean resort, nice new pool chairs.
6. Love the hammocks!
7. Elevators to 2nd and 3rd floor.


Cons:
1. Could not give us a refund for the second room we didn't need.
2. There were pieces of blue tape all over the kitchen, bathroom and dining area.
3. There were dried cement on kitchen tile, sticky tape marks all over entry and bathroom and kitchen floor was not clean.
4. After taking a shower, you will continue to hear an echoing drip sound coming from the shower drain for the next 5-15 mins? That was rather annoying.
5.. The gate entrance to the pool was always flooded due to poor drainage or design flaw. That was dreadful.
6. No pool service?
7. No fireplace in unit - no biggie, but nice to have.
8. No washer/dryer in unit.
9. No towel ring for the 2nd sink (no big deal, but strange I had to walk over to my husband's sink to dry my hands).
10. No patio chairs to sit or hang wet bathing suits (since no dryer...) railing was very dusty.
11. No fan in the bedroom. Either too hot at night, or have the cold air blasting in your face. If open the door on balcony, you can hear people chatting and laughing by the pool even past midnight.
11. Living room sofa is too firm, not comfy. Pretty though.
12. Not enough Kitchen counter space.
13. No wine opener. Had to make 2 requests (waited almost an hour) to get one. Then the very nice/helpful lady who finally showed up kept calling me a "sweetie" at least 6-7 times. Maybe Marbrisa/or Hilton should train their employees not to call owners or possible owners of the Resort "Sweetie". I know she was being nice, but seriously....I am not a child. It was a little demeaning.
14. Soundproofing needs improving.
15. Aside for the hammocks, my 3 kids (3-9yrs) were pretty bored there.
16. I'm spoiled, but no down pillows :-(

Honestly, the overall stay was not terrible. It was comfortable for 3 days as the resort was pretty empty. I hope the developers for Marbrisa/Hilton will consider making some changes on the new units based on this review. Several owners in the hot tub we met all agreed that this facility doesn't meet up to the quality you would expect with a Hilton built, a Marriott or a Westin resort quality. This place sort of have a higher end motel feel to it.

Room Tip: Pick a 3rd floor room far from the hot tub. It can stay noisy past midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jebrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Hi Jebrass,
Thank you for reviewing Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding your most recent visit. We will certainly pass along your comments to our respective teams to enhance the vacation experience of others staying at the resort. Your detailed feedback will be put to work. We look forward to welcoming you to MarBrisa on your next trip to Carlsbad and fully exceeding your xpectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    285
    142
    65
    45
See reviews for
652
300
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

MarBrisa is always a wonderful experience.I have stayed here many times as I am an owner and have always found it a great place! Service is great and all the extra amenities give it that five star feel. Moreover, many of my family members and friends have benefitted from my ownership and have stayed here also. We have always enjoyed our experiences here! Hats off to HGVC!!

Room Tip: ask for a room near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Hi Carolyn H,
We're always delighted to hear from our owners and are so glad you had a wonderful vacation. We look forward to serving you, your family, and friends again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We are owners in the Hilton Grand Vacation club and decided to visit the MarBrisa location for a little break from the cold in Kansas. We stayed in a one-bedroom plus and enjoyed every minute of it. We were only a short walk from the lobby, activities center and pool. The concierge was extremely helpful in aiding us in how to spend our time and great places to check out in the area. The room was very clean and we enjoyed the view of the ocean from our balcony. We will definitely be returning here in the future.

Room Tip: Definitely spend a little extra getting a "plus" ocean-view room! The view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hi Emily H,
We're so thrilled to hear you had an amazing time during your most recent stay with us. Our staff is always making sure our guests are having a great time, we're glad they were able to assist you. We look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverside, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stay here quite a bit. We love this resort. The rooms are always clean, pool is nice and warm, and the location is perfect. The staff is very attentive and the kids love the activity center.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prencesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, Vermont
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I'm fairly sure we were the first to stay in a villa that was just opened, although there's still a lot more ongoing construction on the property. Both the bed and the couches were hard as rocks, and the lovely tarp and bulldozer view took away from the resort feel. No restaurant on property had us hauling to McDs for breakfast. The time share presentation was notably lacking in high pressure. The staff were exceptionally nice and it was a good location for North of San Diego attractions. The first day we drove North to San Juan Capistrano, no swallows but we saw their cool nests. We returned to the San Diego Botanical Garden a few minutes from the resort. We loved it, but you'd have to be into botany and photography. The second day we went to La Jolla Cove, the underrated must-see attraction of the trip. There were sea lions and seals everywhere on the beach, and I could have watched them frolic all day. We hit the Birch aquarium which would have been an overpriced dud except for a terrific collection of seahorses. Where else can you buy seahorse socks? Then, off to Torrey Pines. Nice hiking and views but no whales seen from the cliffs and the wind nearly blew me to the bottom. So, lots of good nearby attractions and a practical home base, but little else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLUMBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hi PLUMBO,
Thank you for reviewing Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa. We're so grateful to learn of your most recent stay with us and are glad you had a wonderful time exploring many of the surrounding areas. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Check in was a little slow since the entire property was not finished but nothing too terrible. Our room was located on the top floor. There is no elevator on the building we were in. The laundry room was located 2 floors below us, so that was a little disappointing.
The 2bdrm 2 ba unit we had some nice amenities. The main bedroom had a really nice bed and bath set up. The second bedroom had a full size bed and twin bed. There is 2 balconies and enjoyed the sunrise every morning.
Parking can be a bit of a challenge as it is limited. However, they were accommodating and allowed for 2 cars to be parked there with no extra fees.
At the present time there is no restaurant service, one has to go next door to the Sheraton.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BudgetTraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hi BudgetTraveler81,
Thank you for reviewing Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa. We hope you had a wonderful time with us and are glad to know you enjoyed the amenities provided in your suite. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

What a great location and set-up for hosting an "extended family" - - kids and Grandparents all staying in comfort for once! Plenty of room and amenities in the 2-bedroom, 2-bath. So much better than the usual two-adjoining hotel rooms set-up! Very nice pool, outdoor areas, and we walked right over to LegoLand. We will be returning as many years as we can.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMCtravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
1.4 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.2 mi away
LEGOLAND California Hotel
0.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort

Property: MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Address: 1594 MarBrisa Circle, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#23 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Marbrisa Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing