We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be great when complete. Lacking in amenities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
usa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Will be great when complete. Lacking in amenities.”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

One of the reasons we became owners was the convenience factor...washer/dryer units in room. This makes it easy to save on baggage fees. There are w/d units in another building-and they are complimentary.
We also chose this location for the website photos depicting beautiful pools.these will be done next year, so with a teen and young adults no variety of promised pools was disheartening.
There is no store or restaurant on site either. You can get room service from neighboring Sheraton.
We did get great customer service. Lindsey in rec room was very informative, friendly and accommodating. The events for kids never met our schedule, but it sounds like she would do activities around your schedule, within reason.
I requested additional coffee and they responded rapidly. We borrowed beach gear with no formalities...they just handed it over and when we returned no hassles at all.
Views are wonderful...2 mile run to the beach....sidewalks...and under I5....of course a bit hilly. I recommend running south if you want to run on the beach. However, if you run to the next access you will likely hit 7 miles as I did.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryk1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi maryk1968,
We always enjoy hearing from our Owners, and appreciate your feedback greatly. With the opening of Phase II in January 2013 you will see a significant expansion of our amenities. Two elegant free form pools, three spas, well appointed private cabanas and a poolside bar & grill are some of the exciting additions our Owners and Guests will enjoy. We look forward to your next stay and welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    333
    170
    78
    50
See reviews for
768
354
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Nice apartment, friendly staff, lovely pool.
Parking can be a problem! The complaints people have made in previous posts about the noise from legoland did not bother us at all, you occasionally hear slight noise but nothing that would annoy you especially as the park is mainly only open at the weekends.
The only thing that we found lacking was there was no pool bar or place to buy snacks. Some HGVC's have small shops to buy essentials from which we felt was missing.
The maid service was not that great, we stayed for 2 weeks and was supposed to have a miad service twice however she only came once and we had to phone reception twice to get her to come the second time, which did not happen till our last day so was really a waste of time her coming.
The hotel is out of the way, you do have to drive if you want to go anywhere, nothing is within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harveysangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hi harveysangel,
We're glad you had a great time with us here at Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa. We apologize if there was any inconvenience as a result of the maid service. Keeping our guests' rooms clean and well stocked at all times is of the utmost importance. We hope to have you and your guests back again soon to show you an even better HGVC experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The view from balcony is amazing and the area is very quite. The grounds are beautiful. We love that everything you want to do is a short drive away but still convient.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gdhipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was our second visit to a HGV resort, having purchased at Waikaloa in Hawaii in March 2012. Our 2 bdr/2 bath unit was very well appointed, immaculately clean, & spacious. We'd requested to face away from Legoland, & ended up with a ground level unit. It had a slightly "basementish" feel, so we requested a different floor. Management moved us up a floor the following day, shifting all our luggage & groceries for us. Lots of kids at the pool, but that's to be expected with proximity to Legoland & other kid-centric attractions. It's a good central location; 30 minutes to LaJolla, inland wineries, & close to beach. Carlsbad is a cool town, lots of fun shops & restaurants. The Premium Outlet Mall is 5 minutes away, the Crossings country club is across the street.. When the construction is complete, this resort will be on a par with other HGV properties.

Room Tip: If you don't have young kids, request an upper floor away from Legoland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Hi LadyTraveller5,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay to Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time spent with us. Our central location allows our guests to venture on and off the resort grounds at their leisure. We look forward to having you back when construction is complete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was very impressed with the service. The manager Jorge, is amazing!. He is low keyed but right there when you need him. For example, when we wanted to go to the beach, as the location is quite a plus, and the resort did not have any beach chairs or beach umbrellas, Jorge made sure that two chairs were purchased and delivered to us and he personally picked up an umbrella from a sister property and had it delivered to our room as well. Certainly, beyond the call of duty:) The property is also in a perfect location for families with young children as it shares a private entrance to LEGOLAND with the Sheraton located next door. The property however, does lack activities for adults, as nothing was going on while we were there. The fitness center was very nice and I even brought my own DVD player and DVD to exercise to. DVD's can be taken to one's room on a complimentary basis to view and then returned for another selection. I must mention that the beds need feathered pillows. The only pillows available at the resort are foam. We saw the plans for the continuation of construction of this resort. It will have a magnificent lobby which is now very small, two beautiful pools, a sprawling site, etc. it has the potential to be truly magnificent. If one is looking for a timeshare and has a young family, this may be a good idea. Location-beach + legoland and potential of a future beautiful resort!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi Ronales,

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa. We're pleased to hear that Jorge was able to help you out throughout your trip and will certainly pass along your kind comments. Our location is perfect for families whom wish to visit Legoland as well as those who want to just relax and enjoy their vacations. We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to understand the needs of our guests. The new pools, spas and recreation area will be opening early next year for you and the family to enjoy. We thank you again and look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Despite some of the review I have read for this resort, this is an excellent vacation property. Accomadation was a good size and everything was clean and tidy on our arrival. Property is very well maintained and staff are freindly and attentive. No pushy sale pitch which was apleasent change. Would benifit from more on site facilities which are in the pipeline with the next phase but there is little fault to be found with the resort. With regard to a previous comment about noise from Legoland we stayed 12 day and there was never a problem there is the occasional background rumble but nothing obtrusive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IzzysDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi IzzysDad,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa. The quality of our guests' experiences is of the utmost importance and we are pleased to hear that you were happy with our accommodations and the cleanliness of our resort. We look forward to serving you the next time you and your family are in Carlsbad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towanda, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The staff was outstanding, very helpful and informative, no high pressure review requested, units were very clean, well stocked, area very quiet and grounds well kept. Nice stepping off resort. Visited Joshua Tree National Park - wonderful - and other local attractions. Old Town San Diego was a treat with both free parking and free exhibits including a wonderful blacksmith demo and talk. Carlsbad is neat. Wineries in Temecula were great too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingLady18848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi TravelingLady18848,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa with us. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as visiting Joshua Tree National Park, Old Town San Diego and the wineries in Temecula. We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
944 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
654 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.6 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort

Property: MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Address: 1594 MarBrisa Circle, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#23 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelPower, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Marbrisa Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing