We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything is sweet”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Chin's Szechwan Cuisine - CLOSED

Chin's Szechwan Cuisine
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything is sweet”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Chinese food is not supposed to be sweet for the most part. Everything we got at Chin's was sweet and super Americanized. This is not Chinese food the way it is supposed to be cooked. We have not returned.

Helpful?
Thank kandmmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    1
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas CA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Chin's is rated "B" by the San Diego health dept”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We ate at Chin's two weeks ago and some of the dishes tasted a day old. Several of us got a headache the hour after eating.


we've been eating @ Chin's for years and over the past 3-5 visits the food quality has really dropped off.

Now the restaurant has a "B" rating in the window from the health Dept.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank erparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“always good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Even though Chin's is a chain the food tastes like the family run chinese restaurants I am used to in Vancouver. The seafood dishes have heaping amounts of seafood and they do a great job of moderating the spicyness to taste.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bushey_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hadn't been for years......will go more frequently”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

First thing we heard was George calling a genuine welcome as we arrived. The place looks and smells good. Waitress was very helpful and amusing. We're going back. I like it much better than the other Village Chinese restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank apandaoside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Off my list”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've eaten at Chin's Carlsbad many times over the years. It's never been any better than "ok". The food lacks flavor, texture and fresh quality. I will not go back there again, it just always leaves me wanting something else.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaybly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing